We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Ranked #53 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The accommodations, service, location, etc. of this hotel proved to last the four weeks of our stay.
The personnel went out of their way to help us, they were there to adjust the A/C,
furnish towels, make trip arrangements, and answer questions. The rooms were spotless and
hot water every day. We were on the first floor of rooms and there were adequate closets. The pool was clean. Within walking distance of the Square and many fine restaurants. The hotel restaurant was excellent and moderately priced.
WiFi was always available on the ground floor, sometimes in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    169
    91
    42
    43
See reviews for
158
142
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I first stayed at this hotel by myself for 3 nights. Then I went back a couple of months later with a friend for 2 more nights. The location is excellent and just a few blocks away from the very nice Zócalo(plaza). Merida is a very nice city to visit. The hotel was clean both times, the price was very good, reserving on the internet usually gives you a better price. The breakfast is OK.

Room Tip: It is hard to ask for more considering the location and good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boursay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmopan, Belize
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a really good hotel consider of its cost. The staffs are friendly, and close parking space is available with security guard. The room is clean and comfortable. We spend 2 nights here, which is not bad. However, since we are near to the swimming pool, we can hear clearly the noise made by the people by the swimming pool. There were a group of children playing and screaming all their way into 11:30pm if not later. I wish that the staff would alert the parents sitting at the side chatting that their noisy children are disturbing others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyLSCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Do not stay here if you want to get some sleep.I had booked and prepaid this hotel for 4 nights.My room was on the 3rd floor facing the pool.Upon checkin the room was quiet,but in the early evening all hell broke loose.Screaming,yelling kids and their inconsiderate parents.I complained at the reception and asked to be given another room.No other room was available and at this time I was also told that there would be a party at the pool lasting until 1am.I ended up going to another hotel for the night so I could get some sleep, essentially paying for 2 hotel rooms for the same night.No manager on the premises to discuss the situation with and the reception personnel refused to give me a refund for the following nights since it was a special rate.The following day I was picked up at 9am for a tour at the hotel.Still no manager to talk to before or after my tour and I was stuck with the same room.The day thereafter I finally managed to speak to a manager and they were going to change my room.The new room also faced the pool and I immediately complained.I was then given another room further away from the pool.The room (as the one before) was very impractical,no chest of drawers to put your clothes or anywhere to hang them up.You basically have to live out of your suitcase.I attended the New Year's buffet and dance which was way overprized for the food offered. I had much better buffets on all the tours I took.At no point was I ever offered an apology for all that happened.The concept that someone would go to a hotel to get a good night's sleep is apparently alien to them.They could not understand that I wasn't delighted to be surrounded by screaming and yelling kids.Needless to say, I would not send my worst enemy there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likestotraveltheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Xalapa, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights with our 10 month old baby. The location is great. We could walk anywhere in the downtown. The service was great. We had lots of bags as we were looking for a long term rental, and the bellhop was great at helping us with all the bags. The staff was great in recommending areas of town to look for rentals and the breakfast at the restaurant was good. The beds aren't the most comfortable, but for a couple nights were fine. It is not a new hotel. The pool area and lobby is nice. This is a basic hotel and met all our needs. Don't expect much English, which was not a problem for us. They do have a staff member of two that understands English as we found out from observing some guests that knew no Spanish. Beware, if you book through Expedia or an online site and get a really good rate ( I think we paid about 30.00 per night) , as with most hotels, you will get the smallest room they have, but we didn't mind, as price was the biggest attraction for us and we expected this. Overall I would recommend this hotel as a safe, clean, very cost effective option with a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dream4meashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This place serves it's purpose. Close to the central plaza, about 5 minutes easy walk. Air con works, beds comfortable. The rooms could do with some work. Shower has hot water but trying to turn off the water is an effort. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanto, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I was very confortable when I was stay in this hotel on Dec, 2012. It was nice tariff if consider the location and facility. And I like "Happy hour" in the bar which is a price of beer for doble from 6pm to 9pm. Also staff were very kindly for me though I am Japanese.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Mirador
Hotel Plaza Mirador
#63 of 104 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#35 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#28 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#49 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#59 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria del Carmen

Property: Hotel Maria del Carmen
Address: Calle 63 No. 550 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#17 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Del Carmen Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing