We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Quiet and Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maria del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Walking distance to the Ado CAME station. We walked about 4 or 5 blocks to get to the hotel. Only 5 blocks from the Gran Plaza and lots of great restaurants.
The rooms are modest and very clean and quit. Beds are very firm. We paid for our room in advance so got a free breakfast each morning. Coffee, juice or fruit plate and either eggs or hot cakes.
The pool was very cool and refreshing in the afternoon.
Definitly a great value only about $50 a night for 3 of us in a room. All of the staff was very friendly and the front desk staff speaks some English.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    163
    88
    41
    43
See reviews for
149
140
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

We stayed three nights here and would happily recommend this to others. The pool was great, the restaurant food delicious and reasonably priced, and the location only 5 - 10 minutes walk from the Grand Plaza and the ADO bus station.

The area of town that it is in is not as flash as that north of the Grand Plaza, but was interesting and felt "real". There was a good bakery and sorbeteria close by.

We had helpful service from the staff.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hrpmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

We just returned from Merida. Our stay at Maria del Carmen turned out to be much more than expected. The rooms are extremely clean along with the rest of the hotel. The staff in general is very courteous and helpful. We want to especially thank the Manager, who helped us out in a tricky situation. Gerado Miranda stands above all with his demeanor and extensive help he provided us. The dining room staff is very helpful, albeit the language barrier proved to be a challenge. We resorted to picture drawings and after that all was well. We are extremely satisfied with our selection and the price point is very good, especially because the hotel is centrally located to all that Merida has to offer.
We will return and thank you again to all of our new friends in Merida.

Christel Haupt
Boston, Massachusetts

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christel10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

To give an idea of context for this review, we were a group of 3 girls (aged 20, 31 & 32)spending 5 weeks travelling through Central America. We didn't fancy roughing it in hostels, but at the same time we were on a budget and couldnt afford to splurge.
We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on Sat 31st July 2010.

Location: We travelled to Merida from Cancun via ADO bus and the hotel was a 5 min walk from the bus station. Its also a 5 min walk right to the main square, so overall a great location.

Room: The room was lovely: 2 double beds, TV, modern furniture, big bathroom with good shower, complimentary smellies and lovely clean bedding. There was also a/c (much needed as merida was boiling), hairdryer and coffee maker.

Breakfast: We didnt include this with our booking, but once we saw the buffet we had to eat there! It cost us 100 pesos each for the buffet (£5) so it might be cheaper including breakfast in your booking if possible.

Services: There was a pool at the hotel but we didnt use this and I have to admit- thats the only thing about the place that wasnt perfect- it didnt look particularly clean water in the pool.
There is wi-fi and also a computer/internet in the lobby that is free to use.

Price: We booked via the hotel website and paid 707 pesos total (US$ 55).

Overall a lovely hotel and very cheap for what it is. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

my husband and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary and his birthday. We arrived early, check in is at 3 pm but the bell boy took our luggage and we were able to change and use the pool while we were waiting. Within 10 min of getting to the pool a waiter showed up with menu. We ate and had a beer than checked into the room. The beds were very comfortable not too hard which is a problem I find in a lot of hotels in Mexico. We had a small coffee pot in the room, with daily coffee and bottled water. The room was spotlessly clean. The service was excellent front desk staff, bell boys, maid service (we received every day) as well as the waiters in the rest. The rest served very good food and the prices were shockingly low! They had a nice breakfast buffet with both regional foods as well as American hotcakes and french toast. The hotel was located 3 blocks from the main square and we were able to enjoy Sunday in Merida. The staff is very helpful, friendly. We had problems with our car and the security offered to call a machanic to come out and take a look. I can't think of anything negative. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

I am mexican, and as a local tourist went to this hotel, because it was not that expensive and the location was good,,,,I was nicely surprised of the service, the location, and the food,,,,had a great time, service was great, like a 5 star hotel, but without the price. I hope I can go back next year and enjoy the place again,,,and the food,,,,in the hotel and out side ,,,,so close to good places,,,,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

First of all really easy to get there, when you arrive to the hotel the attention you get its really good everybody is very polite and treats you in a very calid way, the rooms really confortable and quite, the food in the restaurant delicious and with very low rates, the staff is always aware of our needs excellent place to have a very relaxing week.

P.S. There are no taxis in the streets so be sure to ask in fornt desk to call for one,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Mirador
Hotel Plaza Mirador
#59 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#35 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#48 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#29 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria del Carmen

Property: Hotel Maria del Carmen
Address: Calle 63 No. 550 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#17 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Maria del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Del Carmen Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing