We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #25 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a great location; it is walking distance to the main plaza. It also has a very attractive small pool. We had a room with three doubles, (doubles on the smaller side, but my husband and I could still share one bed), which was nice for our family of 4. The staff were very helpful. The one big downside, is that we were there over the weekend and it was quite noisy in the hallways of the hotel late into both nights. The sound carries a good way, in the way of having a bit of a open middle to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArletteS219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Rather you are staying a few days or a few months, the Hotel Colonial is the perfect place for your stay in Merida. It is just two blocks from the main plaza, close to other parks, the main market, restaurants, and night life. The rooms are not only comfortable but spotless. The rooftop deck is perfect to sun in the morning and to relax in the evening with a drink. The manager, Jorge, and the bellboy, Jose, are both bilingual and go out of their way to see that your stay is all your could want.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here while we did some business at the US consulate. The hotel was great, clean with all the amenities, and each room great individual unit air conditioning, which was important since Merida is so hot. Free wi-fi in the room, albeit not super fast, was very helpful. Parking was included, even though it was two blocks away, it felt secure to leave our rental there with a very nice older gentlemen who watched the lot for the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet not included by reasonable price. Pool was small and not a lot of places to hang out, but it was everything we needed. Price was very reasonable (we actually walked around the plaza by the cathedral and inquired about prices and looked at rooms and it was the best we found) and location was centrally located, on the same street with local artisan cooperatives and a block away from the main plaza.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Nice quiet place,good location.Rooms were clean,beds were decent.Service was great.wi-fi come with the room.There was a buffet downstairs.Staff was friendly and helpful.The pool was small but nice.We went to the store one day and got some beer and sat at the pool and had a few and no one said anything about us doing that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you son again in Merida Yucatán.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Pros: Excellent location near zocalo and restaurants. Comfortable room which is well lit and nicely decorated. Good A/C, although you need to fight with front desk to give you a remote controller for the A/C. Free shampoo and free drinking water. Bathroom contains towels, bath mat and hand towel. Beds comfortable. Interior rooms quiet.
Cons: pool too small to swim in and mosquito infested in afternoon. No breakfast. No internet at hotel but internet cafes located 2 blocks away. Rooms on street could be noisy due to truck and bus traffic.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelholChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Our experience was during our winter trip that is continuing now. We really liked Jorge, the bilingual manager. He is just one of the many smiling, friendly people we met! The rooms are spotless, and my favorite thing is the rooftop deck. Full of beautiful plants, with a few tables & chairs to use. You can bring your own drinks and snacks there, and have friends visit. What a beautiful place to see the lights of Merida!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meridachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We just completed our Christmas/New Years annual vacation staying at Hotel Colonial for a month. We enjoyed every single minute of it, not to mention the comfortable beds, the wide screen tv, the small but cozy swimming pool with its nice paintings frescoes on the wall, the delicious and inexpensive buffet at the only restaurant in the hotel ($84.00Pesos).Not to mention the downtown location for good is a plus.I have to mention the bell boy Jose Juan is always there for you as he goes the extra mile for you.Overall our experience is always good and rewarding and we are looking forward for our next trip.Ohh! did I mention Wi Fi connection is free? ?.

Room Tip: We always request a room facing the street, it coul be a bit noisy(but is okay for us) So I recomen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramiro54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#32 of 106 in Merida
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 106 in Merida
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#22 of 106 in Merida
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#38 of 106 in Merida
706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#48 of 106 in Merida
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: 476 Calle 62 | Entre 57 y 59, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Merida
#9 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#16 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £32 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colonial is located in the heart of Merida, just a couple of blocks away from the zocalo, surrounded by beautiful colonial mansions, theaters, parks, restaurants and cultural centers. Our mission is to make you feel like home, with our friendly staff who will be glad to help you at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing