We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, not great accomodations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location, not great accomodations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The room seemed clean, but the furnishings were in poor condition. The location is good, right near the centro.

The toilet and shower area was so small you could barely use the toilet AND close the door.
The bed was hard and uncomfortable.
The hallway echos and every other person staying there apparently came in and slammed their door all night long.

If I went back to Merida i would likely stay elsewhere.

to be fair the Bellman spoke excellent English and made recommendations for local dining, the front desk agent arranged a taxi for us and the agent who checked us out called the cab driver to let him know we were ready to go early. So good service overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Google Translation
Buenos días

Gracias por sus comentarios nos complace saber que nuestro personal fue muy amable con usted y le pudo ayudar en sus actividades.

Lamentamos mucho su observación de habitaciones pero le comento que trabajamos en mejorarlas y le sugiero solicitar habitaciones en torre B, las cuales son mas amplias y mas cómodas en todos los sentidos.

Esperamos que nos de la oportunidad de poder servirle en un futuro próximo.

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    214
    112
    27
    24
See reviews for
152
145
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour.
Good clean rooms and bathroom. No mould which is a recurring theme in Mexican hotels.
We had a room that gave on the street but was quiet still.
Easy walking distance to city square and facilities.
Would recommend for a nice and cost effective stay

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank melbourne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Upon booking our reservation we thought we were getting a steal on a beautiful hotel in the center of the city. That was not the case. The exteriror of the hotel shown in the photos looks nothing like the actual hotel itself.
We requested early check in beacuse of an early arrival, unfortunetly due to bus scheduling we arrived 2hrs early arriving at 5am after a night of busses crossing the border from Belize to Mexico and being 5 months pregnant. As we entered the lobby doors it smelled of stale urine and and was rudley greeted by the night watch man who said we were not able to check unless we paid for an extra night (the fact that he said that was no the problem it was the tone on how he said it). So we waited in the dark lobby until the alloted time.
After being at the hotel for 5 days the staff were all very pleasant and helpful except when running into the night watchman in the am who always managed to give a snarl.
Our rooms were standard and clean but very noisy making it so that you can hear everything outside especially in the am when cooks are preparing for the morning buffet. If your planning on spending a romantic weekend in Merida and much of your time in the room this is not the place for you.
All in all, the hotel was just ok making us rethink booking multiple days online without a personal refferal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Pros: The location of this hotel can't be beat. The staff was helpful and kind and very professional. We got a killer rate on our room too. We paid about $500 pesos for a room for 2 on the third floor. The room was clean and very spacious compared to other places we stayed in the Yucatan. The bathroom was very modern. There was a well appointed rooftop patio where we ate our breakfast. The bed was comfortable. The pool was really pretty in it's grotto on the first floor.

The cons: the air conditioning unit made loud clicking noises and dripped copious water onto our bed at night. The temperature can't be controlled from the room, you can only turn the AC on or off. If you want to turn the temperature up or down, you have to call the front desk and have them send someone to do it for you. There were small ants in the room as well, but they went away when we got rid of the food we had in the room. The pool was really cold.

All in all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had two rooms, the first one (316) had no balcony, big enough for me, it wasnt noisy. The other room (301) with the balcony where my parents stayed, it was noisy, you can hear the people talking outside on the street at 3am. People at the front desk wasn't too friendly, bellman was nice and very helpful. The hotel is like two blocks from the main plaza, the cathedral etc, Location is great

Room Tip: i think the rooms with no balcony are nicer than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I have been going to Merida during the winter for several years now to get away from our cold weather in NY. We tried out the Colonial along with two other hotels. While we liked all three of the hotels we fell in love with the Colonial. It is only two blocks from the main town square, has many good places to eat nearby, as well as the best breakfast buffet in town, has a manager who speaks good English, but most of all the staff there is so warm and welcoming. While the accommodations are not fancy they are very comfortable and the people we've met there are the main reason we keep returning to Hotel Colonial.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Colonial for your stay in Mérida! We do our best to make sure everyone's stay at the Colonial is a pleasant one and we appreciate your comments because we want to do an even better job in the future. Mérida is a wonderful place to visit and our hotel is in the perfect place to enjoy the best of the White City. We hope that you will honor us us with another visit the next time you are in our city.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I recommend this hotel very highly. The manager speaks English and is so helpful. The staff make you feel at home. We spend 3+ months at this hotel. It is truly a home away from home. Breakfast at the hotel is good everyday. Many fine restaurants in walking distance, just two blocks from the main plaza and night life. It's just a perfect location and affordable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Darlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#37 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: 476 Calle 62 | Entre 57 y 59, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Merida
#16 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing