We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfy!”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This hotel is in the right spot! Right smack dab in the center of downtown. There are so many shops and resteraunts in walking distance. The rooms are air conditioned with ceramic tile and a flat screen television. Only thing I would've preferred is carpeted floors, but that's minor really.
Very comfortable for a basic hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor has a great night view out on the deck/roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por sus comentarios,

Es importante saber que nuestra inmejorable ubicación cerca de todas las áreas comerciales y de esparcimientos se combinaron con nuestras instalaciones para hacer su estancia mas placentera.

Estamos seguros que en su próxima visita nos dará nuevamente la oportunidad de poder servirle nuevamente.

Saluods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

The main advantage of this hotel is location, two blocks away from main plaza and some other interesting places. The hotel y basic , but perfect if you want to explore merida and surrounding places.la chaya is a very recommendable restaurant across.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabrielGuiaCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014
Google Translation

Buenos días,

Gracias por sus comentarios , efectivamente nuestra magnifica ubicación hacen posible el tener todo al alcance de unas cuantas calles.

Estamos seguros que disfruto su estancia y nuestros servicios en su visita a esta Ciudad.

Esperamos tener nuevamente la oportunidad de poder servirle próximamente,

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a 2 night stay 6th May 2014, as part of our tour on Yucatan Peninsula, in room 214
The room was full of ants, the shower room had all fixtures covered in mould/ lime scale.
The wall & window were also covered in mould / grime.
The shampoo we were given were sachets from a supermarket - buy one / get one free. The soap was equally cheap and nasty.
There is no fridge in the room, neither do they provide you with bottled water. If you want a remote control for your TV you have to sign a deposit slip for $200 as apparently they get stolen (REALLY???), and although there is an air conditioning unit in the room, you can only have it on or off - if you want to adjust the temperature on it, or even the speed, you have to call reception and they have to send someone to do it for you .... because they don't have enough control units for all the rooms!! Apparently people steal these too!!
We were stuck at this place for 2 nights, in temperatures of around 37C - horrible experience!

Room Tip: There are many other hotels to choose from in the historic centre of Merida - do your research &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MH2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014
Google Translation

Buenos días,

Gracias por todos sus comentarios, lamentamos mucho los incidentes en su estancia sobre todo por el tipo de habitación en la que se hospedo. Es importante mencionarle que por el tipo de instalaciones que tenemos y la ubicación en donde estamos que es la zona centro tenemos algunos servicios y amenidades de acuerdo a nuestra categoría de Hotel lo cual todas ellas cumplen con nuestros estándares de calidad.

Esperamos pueda considerar esta situación ya que es importante para nosotros su opinión.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed for few nights there and everything was absolutely fine. The room was clean, the staff was helpful and there was a parking available. Hotel is located in the city centre so it is close everywhere. We did not take the breakfast option there so I cannot say anything about the food quality.

There is a nice, sunny terrace on the upper level, perfect to read a book or to have an evening drink. The only drawback was that the parking is located 4-5 blocks away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014
Google Translation

Buenos días,

Gracias por todos sus comentarios nos complace saber que disfruto de nuestra terraza con vista a la catedral y algunas partes de la Ciudad. Lamentamos mucho que no haya tenido la oportunidad de probar nuestro desayuno bufete pero esperamos que lo pueda hacer en su próxima visita,

Le hacemos mención que nuestro estacionamiento esta solamente a dos cuadras del Hotel aunque pareciera que esta mas lejos. por las condiciones de calor que tenemos en el mes de Mayo.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our stay at the Colonial began when we deposited our bags in the room and went out for a look around. The room seemed acceptable, if not fancy, but when we returned, we found that the a/c until had sprung a leak and run water all over our luggage. The desk clerk spoke almost no English and only looked blank when I told him it needed to be fixed. He finally called someone else who asked if we'd like to be moved to another room. Well, YES, we would. They seemed a bit surprised about that. I was afraid our laptops and camera gear would be ruined but we lucked out on that. It all survived.
The hotel is on the corner of the main street of Merida, and is centrally located, so it's easy to walk to other places. Since driving in Merida can be challenging at best, walking is a good idea. The parking was in a garage across the street. The rooms were clean and of average size with comfortable beds, but I was disappointed to find that a breakfast was NOT included. I was under the impression it was complimentary, and it was not. Some areas of the hotel are quite old. I think the elevator might be in that category. The pool is microscopic and was ice cold. A plus was the water cooler in the hall outside our room. For dinner we were directed to the restaurant across the street, which ended up being extremely busy, crowded, and the dinner was so-so. The next day we found a tiny place down the street and got a terrific meal.
All in all it was interesting and educational for a first trip, but I don't think I'd stay there again. I'm sure there must be other places that are prettier and with more amenities for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014
Google Translation

Buenas Tardes,

Gracias por sus comentarios, lamentamos mucho el incidente con su Habitación, afortunadamente se pudo realizar el cambio ya que nadie esta exento a alguna falla de ultimo momento.
Por el momento no estamos incluyendo los desayunos en los precios de la Habitación para no encarecer las Habitaciones.

Es importante comentarle que en Hoteles de Centro Histórico no se tienen piscinas reguladas ya que los Hoteles carecen de cierta infraestructura por estar en el centro.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here since our first hotel was fully booked. The price was not expensive but far from the cheapest options in town. We guess the price is for the location, which is very good. The hotel is in an old condition, extremely small bathroom(you can hardly close the door while sitting on the toilet). The pool is in a dark hole and I guess no one feels tempted to use it. We were handed a room on the second floor with a window against the building next door. A generator or Air-con(Big box) were right outside and made A LOT of noise during the night. You don't expect to wear earplugs in a hotel, so this room should be the last they offer to their guests.
The personell hardly raised their eyebrows when you walked thorugh the lobby, even though they were helpfull of booking us a taxi.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, and get one on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carinavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014
Google Translation

Buenas Tardes,

Gracias por todos su comentarios, lamentamos mucho sus comentarios pero si teníamos Hotel Lleno y esto pudo ser motivo de que le diéramos este tipo de Habitación a su llegada..

Estamos trabajando en una remodelación para hacer nuestras habitaciones mas confortables para todos los huéspedes.. Esperamos poder servirle en un futuro próximo.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was by far the worst room throughout our 3 weeks in Mexico, Guatemala and Belize. The only plus points were the location (two blocks from the Zocalo/main square), the buffet breakfast and the roof top terrace. The room (on second floor) opened into an internal corridor so there was no natural light, the window (which did not lock) overlooked the corridor so the choice was have the curtains open and be seen by everyone walking past or closing the curtains and have the light on day and night. The room was so small that the gap between the bed and the wall with the door to the bathroom was just 6 ins (I measured it!) meaning we had to shuffle sideways to get to the bathroom. The a/c was either off (too hot and stuffy) or on (too cold and noisy) there was no temperature control. The bathroom had no window and needed a complete revamp - there were broken tiles, missing tiles and a cracked basin with no plug. How the hotel can claim 4 stars is beyond me, the rooms were more like a back street 1 star hostel!

Room Tip: Don't stay hereM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014
Google Translation

Buenos días,

Gracias por sus comentarios lamentamos mucho que la habitación que le asignaron fuera del tipo que comenta, muy seguramente no teníamos habitaciones mas amplias y con vista a la calle o con mas ventanas como usted hubiera deseado,.

Estamos seguros que tenemos una muy buena propiedad y por eso tenemos mucha gente que regresa siempre y nos recomienda ampliamente.

Le recomendamos reservar habitaciones en la torre B en la cual encontrara muy seguramente las habitaciones a su medida.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#33 of 106 in Merida
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 106 in Merida
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#20 of 106 in Merida
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#39 of 106 in Merida
706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#47 of 106 in Merida
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: 476 Calle 62 | Entre 57 y 59, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Merida
#9 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#16 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £32 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colonial is located in the heart of Merida, just a couple of blocks away from the zocalo, surrounded by beautiful colonial mansions, theaters, parks, restaurants and cultural centers. Our mission is to make you feel like home, with our friendly staff who will be glad to help you at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing