We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Conquistador
Ranked #40 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had stayed at another hotel which we found unfriendly and decided to move to the Hotel El Conquistador. It was well located and the staff was welcoming and friendly. The beds were comfortable and the room was spotless as was the entire hotel. There was a buffet breakfast that was delicious and very affordable. There is a travel agent in the hotel where tours can be booked. We liked being able to walk everywhere and there were restaurants nearby. You could even walk to El Centro and buses and cabs were plentiful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8sassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

From the outside the hotel doesn't look like much. Even the corridors look dark and seem like a rabbit warren. But wait....the rooms are a lot better!

Room is very clean with modern furnishings and is quiet. The bathroom also clean. Wifi and cable TV coverage very good.

The buffet breakfast was very impressive in terms of selection and quality. The egg chef knows how to cook eggs :)

Staff are professional friendly and helpful.

The only downside for me is the location. Its around 20-30min walk to the zocolo (town centre). However, it is located amongst the grand old mansions on Paseo de Montego.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stopped for a night in this hotel on our way to chichen itza. The hotel is in a good location and the check in was fairly easy. The rooms and the toilets were neat and clean. The staff was courteous. The breakfast was thrown in with the room and it was ok. The wifi was free and good connection. The city centre was fairly close and the place had a nice feel. The staff was nice, but like most places in Mexico, don't speak English, but that was manageable. We did not use the restaurant except for breakfast, so can't comment. Though it was on a busy road, sleep quality was good!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have stayed at Conquistador several times. They have an extremely nice and attentive staff. This place is beautiful from the moment you arrive. I love the architecture outside and in. The pool on the roof is quite nice but not so deep at 4.5ft. Stiil a nice way to cool off and look around the city from above. We have taken a lot of pictures from here. The breakfast buffet is wonderful with the yucatecan food we love. The atmosphere here is so relaxing also. We like to set in the lobby and enjoy the music from the
dinning area as we contemplate our next outing. The rooms are spacious and clean. The maid staff is very friendly and thorough. When we need a ride, the staff is very efficient at getting us exactly the transportation we need. This is also a good location to start your walking trips and see the Paseo Mantejo. We will continue to go back, again and again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front on the upper levels give you the best view of city and street life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexsouriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here in 2006, and the memories of this hotel still last. The rooftop pool is great for all ages. The view from our balcony revealed the beauty of Merida, Mexico. Restaurants are in walking distance. I'd love to visit this place again someday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyProjektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stay here on business once every year. The Saturday and Sunday brunch is unsurpassed for the variety and flavor of Yucatecan cooking. Besides the buffet, a chef grills for you fresh fish fillets, steaks, pork chops, fried eggs for breakfast, and omelets. A piano player adds to the atmosphere. The lobby is spacious with seating areas. The front "porch" is also a pleasant place to sit and watch the horse carriages and bike riders along the Paseo Montejo with its old, gleaming white restored mansions of former hennequin producers. The archaeological museum is across the street, and the old town center is a ten-block walk away. The business center is open till 5. The rooms are all the same--spaceous, nicely decorated with a nice bathroom. The marble halls are cool and dark, lighted with a window at each end. I'm always glad to go to El Conquistador and get a sopa de lima to start the rest of the day.

Room Tip: Take any room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

where did that come from TA? Merida is fantastic and offers way better places to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIGBENITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#45 of 105 in Merida
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#14 of 105 in Merida
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#26 of 105 in Merida
477 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Conquistador

Address: Paseo de Montejo Ave #458 X 35 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Conquistador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel El Conquistador we have everything you may wish. located in the heart of Merida, Yucatan's state capital, we have 159 confrortable rooms with satellite color tv, air conditioning, servibar,electronic keys and safety boxes. Our VIP business center offers comfort and quality;try our famnous buffet breakfast, served everyday at our Los Virreyes cafeteria and finally, enjoy our swiming pool whith the best panoramic view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing