We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ole hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel de Merida
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Despite the age of the hotel, it was worth the stay. The atmosphere is fantastic in its high ceilings and antiques scattered throughout, There is ample space and a time passed by elegance. It would have been nice to be able to open the doors to the outside. The noise is apparently a problem for most. I have stayed in far louder places, try a festival night in Pedasi, Panama! linens are dated and stained but everything was clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hotel is very good, the rooms are ample and clean, the furniture and decor is antique, but functional. We stayed in a room with air conditioner and the location was great, right in downtown Merida.

The hotel has a deal with a public parking nearby, you get free parking from 8:00pm to 8:00am, however the parking closes at 9:00pm and then opens at some time between 7-8 (can't remember the exact time), so if you park in there you can't take your car out at nigth.

The hotel has its own restaurant and bar. There is a park right outside and a lovely church in front of it. A block away is the cathedral and a place where you can rent a ride on a horse drawn carriage, there are also several places to eat local food very close by.

On sundays the street that is right off the hotel is closed to make space for a small market where they sell typical handycrafts.

Room Tip: If your room faces directly to the street it can get noisy at times, specially with all the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starfoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

You can tell this hotel is old, but in a good way. Lot's of antique furniture all over. Our room was very big and spacious. There's a refrigerator but no safe. It's located right by a park that seems to be happening with live music and people that have set up their tables to sell local art. Our balcony looks over the street but the windows don't open. Overall this is a nice hotel. Really enjoying it.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear any noise, as for a room that is not facing the street or park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Positive:
- Very, very unique hotel and amazing exterior!
- Perfect location;
- good price;
- good restaurant on first floor
Negative:
- dont have an online reservation
- dont have own parking place, so you need to use public parking 2 blocks outside

Tips:
1. If you have lack of time to go around of Merida on CityTour Bus, just take any taxi on street and ask a driver to show you special places around city. It will be much more cheaper and saves time.
2. Ask for shrimps in tequilla in restaurant on 1st floor, BUT ask it to cook ONLY OUTSIDE.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this lovely colonial hotel, built in the early 1900s, and tastefully remodeled. It was a perfect location for enjoying downtown colonial Merida....highly recommend and reasonably priced too!









1

Room Tip: There is some street noise on some nights. Ask. They have quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Gran Hotel is visually stunning: marble, sweeping staircase with ornate wrought-iron ballustrade and wood handrails, crystal chandeliers, statues, light-filled, three-story atrium....(the shape is basically a square with a hole in the middle topped by a glass greenhouse top) absolutely beautiful. You enter your room and see the soaring ceilings, walls resplendent with century-old moudlings and intricate touches, and antique furniture abounds. Sounds great, right?

Err....sort of.

I've stayed here three years running for Carnaval, as it is immediately on the parade route. This review is for this time, but my comments on the internet and staff go for all years!!

The normal room price is about $65 US a night, but the only room available was a "suite" this year, at $150US a night. Now, if we had gotten a suite, it would have been fine, but what we got was two adjoining rooms with three double beds in them, one bathroom to share. And it was outdoor-windowless on both rooms (just a large window that faced the hall), with a funky odor (seemingly from all of the antique wood furniture) that necessitated the air freshener on the nightstand.

The beds have nice sheets but the dreaded heavily-patterned (dirt-hiding) polyester bedspread and were not rock-hard, but sloped to one side (probably as the two beds in the main room each had a side against a wall), and the main room had brown indoor/outdoor carpeting. The other room had the original pasta tile floors and the bathroom, which offered lovely, thick, embroidered towels--fabulous towels actually--and a terrific assortment of higher-end toiletries. Unfortunately as far as the visual goes, I've seen posher bathrooms at a Motel 6....or the Comfort Inn Cancun Aeropuerto, which I have also reviewed. Chintzy, plastic doored basic shower stall, a nothing sink, and an average toilet on a platform. This goes for all of the rooms that I've stayed in.

The internet is infuriatingly unreliable here, and you cannot get it at all in your room (you have to go out into the halls/atrium) unless you are at the east side of the building....when it's working, which it is often not. The staff could not possibly care less about this....or anything else. They do not match the ambiance of the hotel. I emailed them though their website twice for a reservation, and no one bothered to answer. I ended up getting a friend in Merida to make my reservation for me! We put up the "No Moleste" sign on our door as we had loads of electronics in there, but the maid came in anyways. On the upside, nothing was stolen.

They don't take credit cards here, so cash only. The restaurant downstairs is unrelated so there is no charging anything to your room. Parking is 4 blocks away, (and changed lots this year, accessed either from Calle 57 and 59, between Calle 52 and 54, labeled "Patio" off Calle 57)and the parking attendants in the wrong lots will tell you where you need to park, as it is a guessing game!

So if you have no car, don't need stable internet, have a room with a balcony, are bringing plenty of cash pesos, like an opulent antique aesthetic, and want to be right downtown and don't mind noise, you will love it here. If not...then not so much.

Room Tip: You need to be on the north or west side to get an outdoor window and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleMy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We moved here having spent our first night in Merida in Maison Lafitte. The Gran hotel is a magnificent building located in the centre of town constructed in 1901 and retaining a wealth of original features. The building has been restored beautifully and the owners have incorporated contemporary design in many rooms while retaining lots of original features including the louvered doors for each of the rooms. Everywhere there is high quality period furniture which would not look out of place in a palace. The building is built in courtyard style and comprises 25 rooms. There are no separate dining or lounge facilities which at some stage have been let out to other shops and restaurants so all you get is a bed for the night in true period surroundings.
Each of the rooms are individual. Some rooms are completely refurbished, others still need work on bathrooms but none would completely disappoint. We stayed in 101 located in a corner of the hotel so the room consisted of king size bed and off this in an L shape is a separate sitting area leading to a patio door and small balcony overlooking the street. Off this, there is a toilet/shower room. The room has very high ceilings and provides a lovely feeling of space. Good quality furniture in the rooms and some eclectic art on the walls. Beds are super comfortable and for us, room noise from the street wasn’t a problem as the bedroom was set back from the outside wall where the seating area was located.
Other facilities include free wifi, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, refrigerator (but no mini bar) hair dryer and nice quality toiletries for the bathroom. Valet parking also normally available but because of some road improvements in the centre, this was not available for the duration of our stay.
The price is very good. We paid under £30 although some of the larger rooms housing 2 beds are £40+; hardly a fortune for the privilege of staying in a period mansion. For us it was an experience not to be missed and a real change from the host of bland featureless rooms which are a feature of the majority of hotels.
A word of praise also for the reception staff who were very helpful when it came to restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Had a good look around during our stay! Every room is individual. Suites have been converted to larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#20 of 104 in Merida
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#13 of 104 in Merida
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#56 of 104 in Merida
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#51 of 104 in Merida
105 reviews
0 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#41 of 104 in Merida
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel de Merida

Address: Calle 60 No 496 | Frente al parque Hidalgo, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel de Merida 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering international and local food at the restaurant, and free Wi-Fi throughout, El Gran Hotel is located in a Colonial-style building, 100 metres from Merida Main Square. The rooms offer Colonial decor, cable TV, air conditioning and wardrobe. Featuring a shower, private bathrooms also come with a hairdryer and a bathrobe. Extras include a safety deposit box. A wide range of restaurants can be reached within 30 metres. At El Gran Hotel you will find a 24-hour front desk and a terrace. Other facilities offered include a tour desk. The hotel is 100 metres from Merida Cathedral and 600 metres from La Mejorada Park. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel de Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Gran Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing