We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
93
147
50
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
147
50
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator old world charm hotel built great location lovely old hotel antique furniture little rough around the edges separate sitting area ice machine early check main plaza rooms are air conditioned historical hotel couple of nights seen better days light sleeper checking in
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hotel is very good, the rooms are ample and clean, the furniture and decor is antique, but functional. We stayed in a room with air conditioner and the location was great, right in downtown Merida.

The hotel has a deal with a public parking nearby, you get free parking from 8:00pm to 8:00am, however the parking closes at 9:00pm and then opens at some time between 7-8 (can't remember the exact time), so if you park in there you can't take your car out at nigth.

The hotel has its own restaurant and bar. There is a park right outside and a lovely church in front of it. A block away is the cathedral and a place where you can rent a ride on a horse drawn carriage, there are also several places to eat local food very close by.

On sundays the street that is right off the hotel is closed to make space for a small market where they sell typical handycrafts.

Room tip: If your room faces directly to the street it can get noisy at times, specially with all the traffic.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starfoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

You can tell this hotel is old, but in a good way. Lot's of antique furniture all over. Our room was very big and spacious. There's a refrigerator but no safe. It's located right by a park that seems to be happening with live music and people that have set up their tables to sell local art. Our balcony looks over the street but the windows don't open. Overall this is a nice hotel. Really enjoying it.

Room tip: If you don't want to hear any noise, as for a room that is not facing the street or park.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Positive:
- Very, very unique hotel and amazing exterior!
- Perfect location;
- good price;
- good restaurant on first floor
Negative:
- dont have an online reservation
- dont have own parking place, so you need to use public parking 2 blocks outside

Tips:
1. If you have lack of time to go around of Merida on CityTour Bus, just take any taxi on street and ask a driver to show you special places around city. It will be much more cheaper and saves time.
2. Ask for shrimps in tequilla in restaurant on 1st floor, BUT ask it to cook ONLY OUTSIDE.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this lovely colonial hotel, built in the early 1900s, and tastefully remodeled. It was a perfect location for enjoying downtown colonial Merida....highly recommend and reasonably priced too!

1

Room tip: There is some street noise on some nights. Ask. They have quieter rooms.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Gran Hotel is visually stunning: marble, sweeping staircase with ornate wrought-iron ballustrade and wood handrails, crystal chandeliers, statues, light-filled, three-story atrium....(the shape is basically a square with a hole in the middle topped by a glass greenhouse top) absolutely beautiful. You enter your room and see the soaring ceilings, walls resplendent with century-old moudlings and intricate touches, and antique furniture abounds. Sounds great, right?

Err....sort of.

I've stayed here three years running for Carnaval, as it is immediately on the parade route. This review is for this time, but my comments on the internet and staff go for all years!!

The normal room price is about $65 US a night, but the only room available was a "suite" this year, at $150US a night. Now, if we had gotten a suite, it would have been fine, but what we got was two adjoining rooms with three double beds in them, one bathroom to share. And it was outdoor-windowless on both rooms (just a large window that faced the hall), with a funky odor (seemingly from all of the antique wood furniture) that necessitated the air freshener on the nightstand.

The beds have nice sheets but the dreaded heavily-patterned (dirt-hiding) polyester bedspread and were not rock-hard, but sloped to one side (probably as the two beds in the main room each had a side against a wall), and the main room had brown indoor/outdoor carpeting. The other room had the original pasta tile floors and the bathroom, which offered lovely, thick, embroidered towels--fabulous towels actually--and a terrific assortment of higher-end toiletries. Unfortunately as far as the visual goes, I've seen posher bathrooms at a Motel 6....or the Comfort Inn Cancun Aeropuerto, which I have also reviewed. Chintzy, plastic doored basic shower stall, a nothing sink, and an average toilet on a platform. This goes for all of the rooms that I've stayed in.

The internet is infuriatingly unreliable here, and you cannot get it at all in your room (you have to go out into the halls/atrium) unless you are at the east side of the building....when it's working, which it is often not. The staff could not possibly care less about this....or anything else. They do not match the ambiance of the hotel. I emailed them though their website twice for a reservation, and no one bothered to answer. I ended up getting a friend in Merida to make my reservation for me! We put up the "No Moleste" sign on our door as we had loads of electronics in there, but the maid came in anyways. On the upside, nothing was stolen.

They don't take credit cards here, so cash only. The restaurant downstairs is unrelated so there is no charging anything to your room. Parking is 4 blocks away, (and changed lots this year, accessed either from Calle 57 and 59, between Calle 52 and 54, labeled "Patio" off Calle 57)and the parking attendants in the wrong lots will tell you where you need to park, as it is a guessing game!

So if you have no car, don't need stable internet, have a room with a balcony, are bringing plenty of cash pesos, like an opulent antique aesthetic, and want to be right downtown and don't mind noise, you will love it here. If not...then not so much.

Room tip: You need to be on the north or west side to get an outdoor window and balcony
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleMy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews