We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel de Merida
Ranked #30 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This kind of hotels are usually either closed (because too old and shabby) or five star and really expensive. But in Merida everything is different, time seems to have come to a stop in the 1960s (1960s rugs and furniture in the rooms) and in the lobby you feel propelled back to 1901 when the hotel was built: beautiful furniture, but horrible "feliz navidad"-decoration, hope they won't repeat that sin for Xmas in 2011! The rooms without windows are a little smelly, but quiet and the price is ok.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank Millevoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2010

The Gran Hotel looks like you want a Gran Hotel to look like, which has been build up over 100 years ago! The moment you walk into the inner courtyard you feel like jumping into a old picture. The hotel offers rooms with windows to the street or rooms which have only a window to the inner courtyard and the open corridor. One might think it is an easy decision between those two types of rooms, but the location right in the center of town also provides a very lively streetscene and traffic as well as music at weekend evenings. So we choose to have no street window and we were happy with this decision. The room was really huge and clean. But the carpets and furnitures have seen better times. You either love it or hate it. Try it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LangkawiBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed our first night in Merida at the hotel next door, which was a few dollars cheaper. Big mistake. We moved the following morning to this charming and elegant 100 year old plus beauty.
The entry courtyard reaches up three stories, accessed by white Carrera marble stairs and ballustrades, surrounded by columned interior hallways that all open out into the center airspace. The lighting in the courtyard and hallways changes hourly and is captivating. The tile work, the furniture, the atmosphere is all part of the historic experience.
The rooms are huge (get one with two beds). #4 was preferable looking out over the street. The ceilings are high, the carved wood trim and tall windows are romantic. The rooms are all refitted with mini-split Air Conditioning. The bathrooms are large and clean. The beds are perfectly soft enough. get a pitcher of cold water at the front desk. parking is difficult downtown but they have a lot a couple blocks away.
Stay here. It beats all we saw in the historic district. Walk one block to the old cathedral (symphony played there Saturday night) and to main city park with vendors, food and folkloric dancers.
Would and will stay here again. Imagined Zapata or Madero staying in my room and his horse tied up out front while they planned the revolution. in 1910. Awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DooglasPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

When we walked into the lobby of this gorgeous retro relic, my husband and I just smiled and decided we had to stay there. It's just beautiful, clean, and fresh. We had spent the previous few nights in a budget hotel called The Trinidad which had a lovely lobby, but the room was pretty bad...especially the bed, linens, and towels. For that dump we paid $35/night. So I was shocked that the Gran Hotel...an elegant masterpiece was only $54.

The room did not disappoint. Great bed, etc. We had the lovliest view of the plaza and church. Of course, we paid the price for our lovely view by being subjected to some fairly bad music during the night...but it didn't go too late.

The location couldn't be better. Stay here if you can. It's totally worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalGypsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The hotel is lovely, well-renovated but still with a historic feel. The room tiles are original, so some are chipped. If you are looking for a spanking new place, this is not it. We loved the slightly antiquated decor reminiscent of the early 1900s. High ceilings, good-quality linens. All was well until the music started in the square below. Two competing bands played until 1 am. After awhile we gave up trying to sleep, went down and enjoyed the night life. If you can't beat them, join them! The hotel advertises parking, but there are several days in the year when parking is NOT available. We came on one of these days and safe parking was not easy to find. Check ahead if you need parking.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

I stayed at El Gran Hotel for one week in July 2007. I loved this hotel for its location and its turn-of-the-century building and decor.

The hotel is perfectly located less than a block from the main zocalo in the historic center of Merida. If you have a car, there is no parking at the hotel but there are several pay lots a block or two away.

The hotel is in a beautiful 1900 building and is decorated with turn of the century furniture and antiques. Our room was quite large with two large wooden French doors opening up to two separate balconies. The room had one king bed, high ceilings, nice woodwork, beautiful old tile floors, and was furnished with antiques. The bathroom was small and functional with the sink/mirror area outside of the bathroom.

The hotel was clean and well cared for and the staff were friendly.

The only negative I can think of is that in the extreme July heat the air conditioner in our room wasn't powerful enough to cool the room as much as I'd have liked, probably due to the very high ceilings.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I am in Merida.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CancunGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

We found this hotel a bit by accident looking for accomodation after arriving very late in town. The hotel staff were very helpful assisting us with parking (which can be a bit of an issue down town) and speeding our registration so we could catch some dinner and rest. The place is an amazing and well preserved in a turn of the century style - truly magnificent.
It benefits from a great location nearby all local attractions and night life.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#58 of 105 in Merida
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#25 of 105 in Merida
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#15 of 105 in Merida
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Del Gobernador
Del Gobernador
#47 of 105 in Merida
151 reviews
0 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#28 of 105 in Merida
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel de Merida

Address: Calle 60 No 496 | Frente al parque Hidalgo, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £36 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel de Merida 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering international and local food at the restaurant, and free Wi-Fi throughout, El Gran Hotel is located in a Colonial-style building, 100 metres from Merida Main Square. The rooms offer Colonial decor, cable TV, air conditioning and wardrobe. Featuring a shower, private bathrooms also come with a hairdryer and a bathrobe. Extras include a safety deposit box. A wide range of restaurants can be reached within 30 metres. At El Gran Hotel you will find a 24-hour front desk and a terrace. Other facilities offered include a tour desk. The hotel is 100 metres from Merida Cathedral and 600 metres from La Mejorada Park. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel de Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Gran Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing