We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and nice employees”
Review of Holiday Inn Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Merida
Ranked #38 of 103 Hotels in Merida
GreenLeadersGold level
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service and nice employees”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was there for an international workshop and spent a very nice time at the hotel. Employees as very polite and always smiling. Food was good, rooms very clean, the business center allows you the privacy and quiet you need, and the spaces are adequate. Perhaps my only complaint are the chairs used for the event: they are quite uncomfortable after a couple of hours!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafiro2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENRIQUE G, Gerente at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Muchas gracias por su comentario y el habernos considerado en su pasado viaje a esta Hermosa Ciudad. Tomaremos en cuenta su referencia sobre nuestras sillas de sesiones para darles un mejor confort.

Enrique Gómez
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    139
    72
    24
    11
See reviews for
64
84
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tellitlikeitwas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights while on at tour of Mayan ruins in the area. It is a very average Holiday Inn, catering mainly for businessmen rather than tourists; quite pretty on the outside and with a small outdoor pool but dark and dated on the inside. Our room was a good size with a comfortable, super king-size bed, but spoilt by the frosted glazing erected on the balcony, which should have overlooked the pool. We couldn't work out why it was there and it made the room very dark and claustrophobic. The bathroom was ok. First, we couldn't link up to the the hotel internet service, then the phone didn't work. Both were promptly fixed, but the effect was unimpressive. Trips to the reception and adjacent bar were a nightmare as both were plagued with hungry mosquitoes. Reception staff were not particularly helpful but the bar and door staff were good. Breakfast was self-service, with a good selection of hot and cold food, some cooked to order while you watched. Dinner there, one night (it was raining so we didn't want to go out) was pretty disappointing; not only was the food average but there was zero atmosphere in the almost-empty restaurant. The Holiday Inn is not centrally located; you have to take a taxi or bus to the centre, where it is more lively and interesting. However, there are plenty of shops nearby, should you need them. Personally, I wish that we had stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a frosted glazed balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellitlikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Tellitlikeitwas,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation by being average. We will look into this. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed for two nights while on a small group tour of the Yucatan peninsula. The hotel was perfect for our needs. Check-in was swift with friendly helpful receptionists. Our room was of ample size, clean and quiet with a view out the back over a small swimming pool area. Breakfast was a buffet and was excellent, in my opinion. A wide choice of authentic Mexican dishes together with an egg station, wonderful breads and the usual fruits and cereals. The evening outside barbecue, was not particularly good on the night we visited. There was a good choice of meats, which were well cooked, however the accompanying dishes of potatoes, rice, chips and vegetables were all lukewarm at best. We were fortunate in that it was 'Carnaval' time which was centred right outside the hotel and so was very easy to walk to and enjoy the festivities. To visit the old town centre a taxi ride, 10 minutes and 40 pesos, is really needed to get to Plaza Mayor. We felt it was a little too far to walk in the heat although some of the more energetic in our group did walk there and back. The old town is well worth a visit with a Cathedral, museum, art gallery, shops, Mayan craft centre and numerous cafes and restaurants. There were also many shops in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. A reasonable hotel, relatively well situated, good value, free WiFi - always a bonus, and a very enjoyable authentic breakfast. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideWanderers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

fine hotel, good for business meetings i guess. it's near the american embassy on the mansion street. there are restaurants nearby and they have a buffet. the pool is very popular and crowded and on the 2nd (1st in Mexico) floor. the internet was touch-and-go, and everyone gets an internet password - though it only works for one device - dumb. the rooms though were comfortable, air conditioning worked. the halls were a little sterile but the rest of the hotel looked nice. it's about a 20-30 minute walk to the main square, so it's not a bad location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear TimTran,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found our hotel nice and that you liked your room accommodations. My apologies for the disappointment you had with our facilities. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Nice large rooms with good facilities. Coffee maker, water provided. Outdoor pool on first floor but nowhere to change up there.
The hotel did a buffet the night we arrived but it was out in the car park. The main road outside the hotel is very busy, shopping mall opposite has 2 restaurants

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed in the Holiday Inn for a business trip in February. The holiday inn has a lot of character, which I liked since I was traveling internationally. The pool looked very nice, and the buffet at the restaurant was very good and reasonable ($15 USD). The restaurant in the front outside was a nice place to grab food at the end of a work day. The hotel serves traditional Yucatan food which was great since I didn't have too much time to explore.

My biggest problems with the hotel is that some of the features were older: hair dryer didn't work, shower was difficult to change from bath/shower, air conditioning was so/so, phone was broken.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Meghan H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry we let you down on some aspects of your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will share these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

In general a good value, but a no-no is the noise of people knocking doors at 3 am calling guests with loud voice. It happened twice in my 3 night stay. There is a humming noise, perhaps the air conditioning - This Junior suite, instead of window have a painting mural and therefore the room is very dark.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#17 of 103 in Merida
1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#35 of 103 in Merida
388 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Merida
Fiesta Inn Merida
#11 of 103 in Merida
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Merida

Property: Holiday Inn Merida
Address: Avenida Colon 498 Entre Paseo Montejo Y Calle 60 | Paseo de Montejo, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Merida 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Always friendly and uncomplicated to suit your needs business traveler or leisure. Excellent location at Paseo de Montejo. When you arrive at Holiday Inn Merida will be greeted by our friendly staff who always ready to assist you with whatever you need Holiday Inn Merida is a comfortable hotel with all handsome rooms that will transport you to the era of the haciendas and modern facilities ideal for men and women travelling for business, vacationing with the family and for groups and conventions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing