We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Adequate”
Review of Los Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Aluxes
Ranked #72 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Bowie, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More Than Adequate”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was how a native described the hotel. There are two sections, the older one is being updated, a small group of rooms at a time. Some of these rooms have balconies, but not, I believe ,in the new section. I stayed in the new section the first time and old section the second time. I liked the older bathrooms but the cooling system and convenience of access was better in the new section. When the bathroom was flooded due to shower door not closing, the desk quickly sent someone to clean it up, and on the last morning when our group of 25 had to leave by 7am, they opened the breakfast buffet an hour early, and that buffet is enormous! Their motto, "your home in Merida" is apt.

Room Tip: I don't think it has a fitness center, but ask if the room is in the old section has the room be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillaume61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    51
    50
    11
    16
See reviews for
50
31
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marsascala, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you do not give much weight on where you rest and put your head down during your visit at Merida, and just want to explore the city...than Aluxes is great for you. It is located a couple blocks away from the main square, with some souvenir shops and so, on the way. Rooms are clean but ugly, like the rest of the hotel. Have nothing bad or good to say about the staff. B'fast not so great either. Basically its a basic hotel for the less-then-finicky traveler who just wants a place for the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeveMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The first room they gave us had two twin beds even though they told us it would have one king, and the toilet was dirty and didn't flush. We went down to complain, they switched our room, but we had to pay 100 more pesos for the new room. The recehuptionist was really rude and unfriendly even though we spoke spanish. The receptionist and the bell boy both told us we had free breakfast. We didn't go to breakfast the first two days because we woke up early to take day trips. The third day we decided to use the breakfast. We showed up and asked the waiter if the buffet was included with our room. He asked for our room number and said he would be back with coffee, he came back to ask for the room number and said we could have breakfast. He walked by us and said nothing and didn't bring us coffee ever. After we finished our breakfast he came to tell us our room rate didn't include breakfast. He never told us before even though he was picking up our dirty dishes. We had to talk to the person in charge at reception who wasn't the manager, because supposedly the manager doesn't work weekends. The woman at reception refused to take responsibility and just gave us the runaround and said we had to pay even though they made a mistake. So in the end we had to pay 300 pesos for the worst food we've ever had in Mexico and were never allowed to speak with a manager. Supposedly our room rate didn't include breakfast. Our receipt just showed a total and they have no posted rates. I bet they run this scam all the time. There are cheaper, cleaner, and nicer choices closer to el centro, so avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aluxessuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesMoines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Los Aluxes, is a great hotel in a fantastic location. Close to many Plazas and restaurants. the pool is wonderful and the staff very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usspeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I'm Mexican. I stayed at Los Aluxes for almost a week. The hotel is good. The buffet breakfast is great. The rooms are a little old. I think it was worth it because it is very close to Merida's center. We went there by foot everyday.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank salatapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

My students and I stayed here last week during our Mexico school trip. We stayed at Los Aluxes for 3 nights and I'm happy we were able to. The hotel is located a few blocks from the center of town which makes it quiet but close to everything. The lobby is quite large and easily accommodates large tour groups like ours. The staff is friendly and helpful; again knowing Spanish definitely helps!
The pool is small, but after a long day of visiting ruins and cenotes, it's perfect for a dip. Also at night, the breeze is unbelievable and you could practically fall asleep on the swings. There is free wireless internet in the pool area, as well as in front of the restaurant.
Breakfast and dinner were good at the restaurant. Some nights they had a pianist and a mariachi band which was nice. I really enjoyed the bean paste which came with the eggs in the morning.
My room was big and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower had lots of hot water and good pressure. The switch to the the A/C is in between the buttons for the lamp, and it does keep the room cool. The beds and pillows were quite comfortable.
Little things I did not like were that the wireless internet in the business center did not have convenient hours. It was also expensive (around $2 an hour). If you used the internet for a half hour, you would still have to pay the $2 or M$25! Our keys stopped working once in a while. So we had to ask the front desk to "zap" and re-program them.

But overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. There's lots to do in Merida, especially shopping on Sunday in the park. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank complikada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#46 of 103 in Merida
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
0.5 mi away
Del Gobernador
Del Gobernador
#44 of 103 in Merida
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Aluxes

Property: Los Aluxes
Address: Calle 60 No. 444 x 49 y 51, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Aluxes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern high-rise - 5 blocks from the Zocalo, 2 blocks from the Paseo de Montejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Los Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Aluxes Merida
Los Aluxes Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing