We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet hotel in Merida” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Aluxes
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Merida
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet hotel in Merida”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

My students and I stayed here last week during our Mexico school trip. We stayed at Los Aluxes for 3 nights and I'm happy we were able to. The hotel is located a few blocks from the center of town which makes it quiet but close to everything. The lobby is quite large and easily accommodates large tour groups like ours. The staff is friendly and helpful; again knowing Spanish definitely helps!
The pool is small, but after a long day of visiting ruins and cenotes, it's perfect for a dip. Also at night, the breeze is unbelievable and you could practically fall asleep on the swings. There is free wireless internet in the pool area, as well as in front of the restaurant.
Breakfast and dinner were good at the restaurant. Some nights they had a pianist and a mariachi band which was nice. I really enjoyed the bean paste which came with the eggs in the morning.
My room was big and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower had lots of hot water and good pressure. The switch to the the A/C is in between the buttons for the lamp, and it does keep the room cool. The beds and pillows were quite comfortable.
Little things I did not like were that the wireless internet in the business center did not have convenient hours. It was also expensive (around $2 an hour). If you used the internet for a half hour, you would still have to pay the $2 or M$25! Our keys stopped working once in a while. So we had to ask the front desk to "zap" and re-program them.

But overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. There's lots to do in Merida, especially shopping on Sunday in the park. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank complikada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    51
    41
    10
    15
See reviews for
47
30
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

This place is over rated and over priced. It basically resembles a no frills motel in the US. The location is decent (its a couple blocks to the city center) but the hotel was loud and noisy. The room and decor is basic, the bathroom was dirty and there was no remote for the TV. They don't provide basic amenities like water or refrigerators and they sell bottles for thrice the street price in the lobby. We don't recommend staying here unless you have no other options - there are cheaper and better hotels (like Dolores Alba) and B&Bs (like Casa Esperanza) in Merida.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank rp228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

St Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

The beds and pillows were absolutely horrible. They were so hard that we woke up sore and could only stand it for one night. The brunch was excellant but expensive.

  • Liked — Room service & food
  • Disliked — Beds were horrible
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank glaunhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2007

Los Aluxes has a great location, as noted in other reviews. We were there for five days. We had a suite with two doubles and one single. The bathroom was large. The hotel was clean and comfortable. It is in need of an overhaul; the rooms are looking a bit worn.

The pool area is very nice. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet, but a bit pricey ($11 American). Breakfast menu items were around $8.00 American. The staff in all areas of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful.

There is wireless internet service in the hotel. An internet area with computers and printer opens at 8:30 AM.

Los Aluxes is a very popular hotel. Numerous buses of international tourists arrived and/or left every day. I would stay there again, but it was a very average hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank dleedennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2006

I just spent a month in Yucatan, my last 8 days in Merida at the Aluxes, great visit.
The hotel is clean & peaceful, the staff are helpful, freindly & efficient. The hotel s located right on the main street, calle 60, so you can walk up & down the calle and see everything & feel nice and safe. The locals are helpful and I never felt unsafe. I will be going back to Merida and also be staying at the Aluxes

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — none really
  • Tips/Secrets — Have fun!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amiga_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2006

When we arrived in Merida my wife had a stomach virus, so the more authentic Hotel Trinidad we were originally booked in was unacceptable because they had no vacant rooms with air conditioning and my wife hates bugs (which there were plenty of), so we walked one block down the street to the Los Aluxes. The lobby was air conditioned, all the rooms were air conditioned, so we took it. We paid $850 Pesos (about $75 USD) per night and the room they gave us was huge (I'm guessing it was a junior suite which they had listed for $150 as the cheapeast room). The room was very clean, bug-free, and VERY well air conditioned (we were freezing in the morning), plus a TV with at least one English-language station, a separate sitting area, and a glassed-in balcony, and a mini-bar (though ours was locked and we didn't ask them to open it). The shower was excellent. Our room was cleaned as expected each day with no problems. A couple of staff members spoke English, though most did not. Even though our room was at the very front of the hotel room overlooking a fairly busy street we got no street noise whatsoever.

The hotel itself was half-indoor, half-outdoor which was very cool, especially one day when it rained. There is very nice, though small, pool in the main courtyard. The hotel was pretty on the inside and had a couple of nice-looking restaurants and a well-kept bar, though we never tried any of those out. Lots of big groups of travelers kept coming and going on buses for what appeared to be single-night stays, mostly European and Canadian it seemed.

The hotel was only 2 blocks from a 24-hour Pemex convenience station (when my wife needed Gatorade and water at 2am this was very handy). And only about 5 blocks from the city center with a square of activities, shops, the governor's palace, and a beautiful cathedral.

The only complaint we had was that the bed was very hard. Might as well put a heavy blanket on the floor and sleep on that. I never felt rested when i woke up each day.

Other than that we had a very pleasant stay at Los Aluxes, which we were told means "the trickster" or something similar. There were no tricks in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SVOSHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Del Gobernador
Del Gobernador
#43 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#42 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#52 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#51 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Aluxes

Property: Los Aluxes
Address: Calle 60 No. 444 X 49 Y 51, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Aluxes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern high-rise - 5 blocks from the Zocalo, 2 blocks from the Paseo de Montejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Los Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Aluxes Merida
Los Aluxes Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing