We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by negative reviews.”
Review of Montejo Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Montejo Palace
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprised by negative reviews.”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I am surprised at the negative ratings listed here and their vehemence. We stayed one night at Montejo Palace on April 7, 2009, because we had to turn in a rental car nearby and catch a plane early on April 8. I made my reservation by telephone with Rosa Maria Suarez, who was polite, cheerful and efficient. I don't recall the rate, but I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival to receive a rate lower than Srta. Maria had quoted. Desk staff was very friendly and efficient, and the bellman was extremely helpful. Yes, the hotel was old, but our room was clean, comfortable and acceptably quiet. My wife is a clean freak and not only did she not complain, but I asked her again just now and she verified my opinion that it was a pretty decent place to stay. The staff did particularly well considering they had a load of high school kids the same night, which might have explained some chaos had there been any. There was not.

Desk staff awakened us in plenty of time the following morning. The bellman got us a cab and was right on time to cheerfully take our voluminous luggage down. After 3 months in Mexico, we had a load.

The only thing that was slightly disappointing was the restaurant, but it was okay & I usually don't expect 5 star food at a reasonably priced hotel restaurant.

I certainly would stay here again, & in fact intend to on January 31. The staff was what made it so good.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wattlestomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    12
    8
    23
See reviews for
11
11
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Good price, but noisy, unable to sleep. Cancelled my stay after 1 night. I don't usually care about cockroaches in the bathroom, but when they are on the bed, it is time to change hotels.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookingforquietroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2008

My family and I recently booked 2 nights at this hotel and our stay was terrible. Everything in the room was very old, the beds were hard, and service was awful. We needed a blanket for one of the beds and asked for it 3 times, but no one brought it. The housekeeping/ maintenance crew would play around in the hallways at all hours of the day and night with little regard for the fact that there are people trying to sleep in the rooms. There was also a group of about 10 children on the floor and they were also using the halls as a recreation space, but no staff members in the hotel would do anything about it. The kids were even using the balconies to throw things onto the cars in the hotel parking lot. The waiters in the restaurant were always confused, and the service was just average there. The hotel is in a decent location, but needs serious updates and the staff need some customer service training in a bad way. 5 stars for the adorable little woman who plays the piano beautifully on the restaurant terrace, but everything else was awful.

  • Liked — The cute little old woman playing piano on the restaurant terrace
  • Disliked — Horrible customer service and management
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ebgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Very old hotel, the plugs throughout the hotel won't even accept 3-prong standard grounded plugs. The rooms were as minimal as possible.

There are *much* better options in town - seek them out!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2007

I do not recommend it at all. It used to be a nice hotel long time ago, but everything is old, broke, out of place. Bad service, staff does not help you. Look for another place.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mandarinaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2003

We stay at this hotel in August 2003... What a terrible night we pass there. First, never forgot to visit the room before.. What a mistake..
we paid and we see the room after but it was too late.. very oldie furniture and a strange smell of humidity and ....the air conditionning was not working and no ventilator (august in Merida...)it was hot hot hot and humid, the pool is small (very small) and out of order every day.... the water was not clear..the owner decide not to put a penny in the hotel and no renovation. What a shame because it use to be one of the best before for quality and price but not anymore... At 7:00 a.m.the next morning I packed our suitcase and we left... We didn't sleep because no air.. we open the window but you have all the noise from the street... finally we didn't sleep at all. We are not difficult people but believe me it was not worth 70 cad. a night .....believe me ... this is not a good choice of hotel.

Helpful?
15 Thank Enanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mucuy
Hotel Mucuy
#77 of 103 in Merida
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Merida
Holiday Inn Merida
#38 of 103 in Merida
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suites del Sol
Suites del Sol
#55 of 103 in Merida
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique bytheMuseo
Boutique bytheMuseo
#25 of 103 in Merida
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#17 of 103 in Merida
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montejo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montejo Palace

Property: Montejo Palace
Address: Avenida Paseo de Montejo 483-C | Between 39 and 41 Col Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montejo Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Busy, Lively 7-story Commercial Hotel situated overlooking the avenue, 1/2 block from Archaeological Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Montejo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montejo Palace Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing