We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, quiet location”
Review of Hotel Residencial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Residencial
Ranked #48 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 27 September 2011

During our last vacations, we planned a 2 day stay at Merida as part of our tour so we picked hotel Residencial because of the information provided at their website and a great fee offered by internet reservations. When we arrived to Merida, it was such a surprise to find very Neoclasical French architecture in many buildings at downtown. This hotel is not the exception, even the location is around 8 blocks from the main square, at a residential zone, this makes a quiet stay in the middle of charming decorations where they care about every small details on the decoration & facilities.
Rooms are equipped with 2 full size beds, A/C is very silent, pool is small but nice, specially the painting of a landscape behind. Service is nice, staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have 2 full size beds, but there are suites with King size, so if need, let them k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ettevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel was part of our reserved tour thru Yucatan and probably good for that purpose with suffiecient free parking space for busses and coaches. But for the tourist who wants to wander thru Merida it is quite far away from the centre of town. Especially when one walks back at night alone with your partner we didnot feel that safe. The hotel itself is moderate, with small pool build-in with no privacy, our room was very small to have our 2 suitcases with contents properly stowed away and it was very noisy. So not our choice when visiting Merida, which certainly is a worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

A very pleasant hotel for the last 3 nights of our tour of Mexico. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable with plenty of space to put our stuff and to move about. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of light from the window. The only downside was that the air conditioning was too noisy to use.
The bar and seating area around the small pool are very pleasant for sitting with a drink in the evening although I can't imagine swimming here (too small). Service here was very good and friendly.
Breakfasts were very good and served either in the hotel restaurant or, if there are several tour groups, in another function room.
We had a very good meal in the hotel restaurant one evening but also it is easy to walk into the town where there is a selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We found the Hotel Residencial on our first trip to Merida about 4 years ago. We LOVE it! It is totally affordable, has an old colonial feel to it - and it is NOT some huge chain. The bar is wonderful - with huge floor to ceiling glass between it and the "courtyard" pool. The restaurant makes the best Chiquiles I've ever had - although last year they did skimp a bit on the chicken. The staff is so friendly. Admittedly the rooms aren't very special, but we don't hang out in the room. We stay here for one night on our arrival, then head to the beach, then come back for two nights after our Tel Chac Puerto beach experience - and experience Merida on the weekend. It's not central, but we can walk there - probably about a mile or maybe a little more. The walk is part of the fun for us!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leastty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed here for two nights. Upon entering the room, the smell was curiously bad. Later we found out that our friends next door also had that same smell in their room. Mixed with a moldy, dirty smell of the general room and this dead rotting smell, the place was pretty bad. The service at the front desk was impossible. We were lost trying to find the hotel and when we called the hotel for a taxi ride to come get us, he said "I can't do that." He also charged us for trying to make a phone call to other hotels to book reservations.

There's small pool (no sun) and a large bar and restaurant. It is truly in the residential area so be ready to walk about 10 blocks to downtown. While walking there, be ready to inhale a large volume of carbon monoxide through the narrow streets. Because of this, my group felt the ill effects of repeated exposure to dirty air. In another part of town, by the museum of Anthropology and History, the air and street walking experience was much better...larger, wider streets.

As for the Hotel, I'd have to rate it as a "last resort" kind of stay. We paid roughly $50 a night here...and spent the minimum hours in the room. Sleeping with the air conditioning on is very loud, the lighting is florescent, and the stink coming from under the bed was horrifying.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subscriber415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The hotel is located around ten blocks from the main square and cathedral. You can walk or take one of the very frequent buses for 6 Mexican pesos down to the main Plaza Grande. The neighborhood is a bit too quiet and dark to wander around at night. It's close to the park and zoo, as well as to Parque de Santiago, where you'll find a supermarket, movie theaters, the park itself, and a number of simple but great local food restaurants for little money. If you don't mind being a bit off the main center, then it's a good choice. The building is beautiful, and the rooms modern and clean. The front desk staff is helpful, but the housekeeping department could be improved.
There is a restaurant/bar which I never tried. The pool is very small and located right by the path to/from the restaurant and to/from reception/elevators so it's never a totally relaxing place. The best is the roof, with excellent vistas of the city at night and where you can have a drink or just recline on an amazing deck chair. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leodicecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Residencial in August of 2009 for two nights. I liked this hotel very much. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, had comfortable beds and a good TV with plenty of working channels.. I also found the bathrooms to be clean. The shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The roof terrace wasn't big, but it was a nice place to spend a few minutes before going to bed at night. I didn't go swimming. The pool is small- more of a splash pool, but it looked nice and clean. We paid about 50 USD a night- I think this was a good price for this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraMc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Del Gobernador
Del Gobernador
#47 of 105 in Merida
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
0.8 mi away
Best Western Maya Yucatan
Best Western Maya Yucatan
#78 of 105 in Merida
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#53 of 105 in Merida
72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#51 of 105 in Merida
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#50 of 105 in Merida
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial

Address: Calle 59 No. 589, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £27 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residencial 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residencial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing