We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Has Gone Downhill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residencial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residencial
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It Has Gone Downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here for 6 years - and in the beginning it was awesome.The staff was attentive, the rooms were very clean, the bar was a welcoming hug upon arrival. In 2011 and then 2012 it really took a turn downhill. This past year we stayed at both La Luz in the Yucatan and Hotel Julamis. Both are closer to the centro area - and both knocked the socks off Hotel Residencial in so many ways I can't list them. I just wish I had abandoned ship on this hotel 2 years ago. Check out either La Luz or Hotel Julamis. Either is priced relatively close to Hotel Residencial - and you won't be disappointed. Hotel Julamis also includes an amazing fresh breakfast in the courtyard in the price - and a plunge pool on their amazing roof top deck!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leastty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    51
    40
    24
    12
See reviews for
25
66
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hotel Residencial in Merida is a well maintained hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious enough for a few nights. The breakfast is good and reasonably comprehensive. The staff is nice and helpful. We will come back someday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Charming, rather elegant, very clean hotel. Tiny pool. Small restaurant, not open all the time it seems. 15-minute walk from main square. Beds are comfortable, if a bit hard for my taste, like in most Mexican Hotels. Some rooms have old, rather noisy A/C unit, some rooms have better mini split units.

Room Tip: If you are going to use A/C, ask for a room with the new A/C unit, it's much better and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabulousfabio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Beautiful hotel from the outside. The standard room is a little cramped. Large air conditioner kept room nice and cold. Great room service. The best shower in the world. This shower has hot water and puts out at least a gallon of water every 5 seconds. I have never seen this kind of water flow anywhere. It was like a fire hose of hot water on my head, which is so relaxing. The beds are fairly comfortable, which is not easy to find in cheaper hotels in Merida. I enjoyed my stay here. I wish the standard rooms were bigger. They do have suites with amazing balconies. The average night cost was $60-$65 USD, when booked online.

Room Tip: I did not see a fitness center or a spa. There is a small pool in the interior courtyard, next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaYucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the food is ok. Prices are a bit high for what one gets. There is a smallish pool, but it's one of those pools that is located in/near a heavily trafficked area of the hotel, just off the lobby area, hemmed in by the bar area and the lobby. Sun only hits the pool at high noon, and unless you like being gawked at, it's not a private pleasant area to hang out.
The restaurant is very small, and cannot pleasantly accommodate the occasional busload of tourists that this establishment caters to. One morning it was impossible to get a table; the wait staff was overwhelmed, and I could not even successfully order a coffee to go. I did, however, pour myself a to-go coffee and nobody seemed to mind.
The hotel is within walking distance to one main plaza, and when walking around, even at night, I felt very safe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBLocalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

During our last vacations, we planned a 2 day stay at Merida as part of our tour so we picked hotel Residencial because of the information provided at their website and a great fee offered by internet reservations. When we arrived to Merida, it was such a surprise to find very Neoclasical French architecture in many buildings at downtown. This hotel is not the exception, even the location is around 8 blocks from the main square, at a residential zone, this makes a quiet stay in the middle of charming decorations where they care about every small details on the decoration & facilities.
Rooms are equipped with 2 full size beds, A/C is very silent, pool is small but nice, specially the painting of a landscape behind. Service is nice, staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have 2 full size beds, but there are suites with King size, so if need, let them k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ettevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel was part of our reserved tour thru Yucatan and probably good for that purpose with suffiecient free parking space for busses and coaches. But for the tourist who wants to wander thru Merida it is quite far away from the centre of town. Especially when one walks back at night alone with your partner we didnot feel that safe. The hotel itself is moderate, with small pool build-in with no privacy, our room was very small to have our 2 suitcases with contents properly stowed away and it was very noisy. So not our choice when visiting Merida, which certainly is a worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Del Gobernador
Del Gobernador
#42 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#45 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#35 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maya Yucatan
BEST WESTERN Maya Yucatan
#62 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#29 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial

Property: Hotel Residencial
Address: Calle 59 No. 589, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residencial 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residencial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing