We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Has Gone Downhill”
Review of Hotel Residencial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Residencial
Ranked #50 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here for 6 years - and in the beginning it was awesome.The staff was attentive, the rooms were very clean, the bar was a welcoming hug upon arrival. In 2011 and then 2012 it really took a turn downhill. This past year we stayed at both La Luz in the Yucatan and Hotel Julamis. Both are closer to the centro area - and both knocked the socks off Hotel Residencial in so many ways I can't list them. I just wish I had abandoned ship on this hotel 2 years ago. Check out either La Luz or Hotel Julamis. Either is priced relatively close to Hotel Residencial - and you won't be disappointed. Hotel Julamis also includes an amazing fresh breakfast in the courtyard in the price - and a plunge pool on their amazing roof top deck!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leastty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Residencial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hotel Residencial in Merida is a well maintained hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious enough for a few nights. The breakfast is good and reasonably comprehensive. The staff is nice and helpful. We will come back someday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Charming, rather elegant, very clean hotel. Tiny pool. Small restaurant, not open all the time it seems. 15-minute walk from main square. Beds are comfortable, if a bit hard for my taste, like in most Mexican Hotels. Some rooms have old, rather noisy A/C unit, some rooms have better mini split units.

Room Tip: If you are going to use A/C, ask for a room with the new A/C unit, it's much better and quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabulousfabio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Beautiful hotel from the outside. The standard room is a little cramped. Large air conditioner kept room nice and cold. Great room service. The best shower in the world. This shower has hot water and puts out at least a gallon of water every 5 seconds. I have never seen this kind of water flow anywhere. It was like a fire hose of hot water on my head, which is so relaxing. The beds are fairly comfortable, which is not easy to find in cheaper hotels in Merida. I enjoyed my stay here. I wish the standard rooms were bigger. They do have suites with amazing balconies. The average night cost was $60-$65 USD, when booked online.

Room Tip: I did not see a fitness center or a spa. There is a small pool in the interior courtyard, next to th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaYucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the food is ok. Prices are a bit high for what one gets. There is a smallish pool, but it's one of those pools that is located in/near a heavily trafficked area of the hotel, just off the lobby area, hemmed in by the bar area and the lobby. Sun only hits the pool at high noon, and unless you like being gawked at, it's not a private pleasant area to hang out.
The restaurant is very small, and cannot pleasantly accommodate the occasional busload of tourists that this establishment caters to. One morning it was impossible to get a table; the wait staff was overwhelmed, and I could not even successfully order a coffee to go. I did, however, pour myself a to-go coffee and nobody seemed to mind.
The hotel is within walking distance to one main plaza, and when walking around, even at night, I felt very safe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBLocalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

During our last vacations, we planned a 2 day stay at Merida as part of our tour so we picked hotel Residencial because of the information provided at their website and a great fee offered by internet reservations. When we arrived to Merida, it was such a surprise to find very Neoclasical French architecture in many buildings at downtown. This hotel is not the exception, even the location is around 8 blocks from the main square, at a residential zone, this makes a quiet stay in the middle of charming decorations where they care about every small details on the decoration & facilities.
Rooms are equipped with 2 full size beds, A/C is very silent, pool is small but nice, specially the painting of a landscape behind. Service is nice, staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have 2 full size beds, but there are suites with King size, so if need, let them k...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ettevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel was part of our reserved tour thru Yucatan and probably good for that purpose with suffiecient free parking space for busses and coaches. But for the tourist who wants to wander thru Merida it is quite far away from the centre of town. Especially when one walks back at night alone with your partner we didnot feel that safe. The hotel itself is moderate, with small pool build-in with no privacy, our room was very small to have our 2 suitcases with contents properly stowed away and it was very noisy. So not our choice when visiting Merida, which certainly is a worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#53 of 106 in Merida
529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Maya Yucatan
Best Western Maya Yucatan
#79 of 106 in Merida
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Del Gobernador
Del Gobernador
#44 of 106 in Merida
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#54 of 106 in Merida
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#47 of 106 in Merida
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Mirador
Hotel Plaza Mirador
#70 of 106 in Merida
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial

Address: Calle 59 No. 589, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £30 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residencial 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Residencial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing