We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple room, superb staff, perfect location, great value”
Review of Caribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hotel
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Paoli Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple room, superb staff, perfect location, great value”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed on the top floor for one week in January 2013 and had an excellent time. My wife & I agreed that we would both happily stay here again should the opportunity arise -- Merida is a terrific city and this hotel tucked into the corner of Park Hidalgo is perfectly located for everything in the central city. The room was fairly simple -- a double bed & a single, with a bathroom that was fancier than the one we had had in Rome a few months earlier, but by no means fancy. The only serious drawback was the lack of a refrigerator in which to store my wife's insulin (we had a friend who had a villa a few blocks away hold onto it). The staff was totally helpful whenever we needed anything. The food in the restaurant could be better, but the location is such that we could eat very well just by stepping outside and heading to any one of several restaurants.

Room Tip: We recommend the top floor and away from the plaza -- we were one room back from it & it was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonSilliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi Ron, first of all, we really appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience in our facilities.

We are very happy to hear that you have a great time in your stay in the hotel, we will consider the situation of the refrigerator for medical use, we will take note and find a practical solution for all our visitors in this situation.

we hope you come back soon to Mérida, and we hope you and your Wife can come again to our Hotel, we will be very happy to see you again.

¡Greetings!

Hotel Caribe, Merida, Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    118
    81
    36
    23
See reviews for
59
116
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amersfoort
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Very good location, in the hart of Merida. Nice rooms and the architecture of this hotel is amazing - you feel like going back in time. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The rooftop pool was not to clean, but offers still a nice place to spent an hour with nice vieuws over the town.
It was difficult to find the parking further down the streets, with the mad traffic from Merida. The breakfast is nothing special, but the restaurant area is nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulAmersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
¡Hi! Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate your opinion, we will be very happy to see you in the hotel again, and make sure we will work on the points you criticize to find the way to make your next visit even better an more comfortable.

Greetings.

Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I had a prepaid, guaranteed room through Expedia. When I arrived I waited in a long line to check in, only to be told that the hotel was overbooked and that I would be sent to another hotel. I was sent to a different hotel, supposedly an upgrade, that was not in the location I chose, only to be told that I could only stay at that hotel for one night and then would be sent to a different one. I had to locate a new hotel, in order to have a place to stay for two consecutive nights, and wound up paying double for that. I lost an afternoon Merida because of this hotel and I was only there for a day and a half. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi, first of all, we honestly sorry about your bad experience. Many times, even under advice of closed reservations, some agencies oversell the spaces of the hotels,when this happend, we actually help our visitors to find a new hotel, at the better and faster way.

We apollogize for the inconvenient, and we will take note, and work with our personal to make sure this will not happend again, for any visitor.

We know you were pretty upset about this problem, but in your next trip to Mérida, if you decide to give us a chance, we will be very happy to give you the service you want and deserve.


Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

I really had a good time staying at the Caribe. Great location, very clean and secure and the staff was frilly great. I had breakfast there everyday and the food was really good. I really recommend it. I'm from Florida and will stay there again if I go back to Merida.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggsrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beograd
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Good location, nice garden...everything else very poor...not to mention that out of 3 night, the first night we were transffared to another hotel (horible one) as the hotel was overbooked!?
In general, luckly Merida has a lot to offer so one has no needto stay there more than necessery... Also, always check prices of daily tours as you canbe unpleasently surprised by veriaty of prices....never take Oneday tours! They tried to cheat us and take more than 3000 pezos for something that normaly costs 1000 pezos....otherwise, merida is a lovely place with excellent historical sights....recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvbBeograd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed in the suite with beautiful doors and two balconies. The rooms were large and comfortable, the mattresses could be better, the setting was stunning. This old colonial seminary has history in its bones. Real Mexico with an excellent price tag. Four of us stayed for less than $100 US per night. One block from the main square, on a beautiful square, and easy access to everything you could desire. Great pool on the top floor. What a great place to see Merida from.

Room Tip: The suite looks over Hidalgo Square and has two balconies. Lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betonekanobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Wow what a lovely experience this hotel was...We stayed in the hildago suite and talk about architecture . The doors were amazing ! Staff was wonderful. If you dont care about the beds being alittle uncomfy but being in an excellent location book it. And dont forget to be here on a sunday for the market place to come alive. P.S the street tacos rock !

Room Tip: Hildago suite!! look out the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hotel

Property: Caribe Hotel
Address: 59 St and 60 St No. 500, Corner Inside Hidalgo Park, Downtown | Just Half Block From Main Square, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a place in which for a moment you can forget of the world, and in another, realize you're still there. This double reality shakes you until the point you become addicted, in a sway of the colonial and modern styles.The beautiful musical notes of the living romantic songs will delight you every afternoon at restaurant, while you enjoy a regional dish from the extensive variety of our menu. The spectacular view of the pool, located on the third floor, will tell you about how impressive Merida is, and once you've tried to discover it by yourself, you'll never forget of the perfect location where you are, surrounded by the most touristic atmosphere of the city.The Hotel has 53 rooms; all equipped with air conditioned, wireless Internet, satellite color television, safe deposit box, amenities, hair dryer and telephones with extensions. This rooms can have 2 double beds, 3 individual beds or 1 double and 1 individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing