We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice!”
Review of Caribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hotel
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“very nice!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Great location in the middle of the old town. The parking lot they have is a bit difficult to find, but the friendly staff will help you. The colonial atmosphere is great. Nice rooms, clean ans nicely decorated. Small pool on top floor was not te clean but has great views. Many small restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floorenniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi, we appreciate the time you take to write about your experience in our hotel, we are very happy to hear that you have a great time and enjoy your visit to our city.

We also happy that your experience at the hotel was that good, ande we hope you can come back to the city soon, it would be great to have you here again.

Greetings Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    118
    81
    36
    23
See reviews for
59
116
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed there for a night with a friend in October 2012
We really liked our stay in Merida, the hotel is located in the heart of the city very close to the high street and Park Hidalgo. The rooms are pretty simple but the hotel is absolutely beautiful, we had a room in the last floor in front of the pool which has a great view on the city. The gardens are also beautiful and great to have a drink in the evening. A very relaxing place...
The only downside is the staff, that was really unfriendly and not willing to help at all but maybe we were there on a bad day :-)

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the last floor in front of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiYns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi, we are very happy to read that you enjoy your stay at the hotel, we also appreciate that you have taken the time to write about your experience in our city.

We are not that happy about the staff situation, especially when you was having such a good time. we will work better with our staff and check why does the have been in this mood, in order to provide a better service for you and all our visitors, we will check why are they mad and try to solve this problem.

we hope you can return to our city soon and we will be very happy to see you around our hotel again.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Although our room and bathroom were tiny, and the room furnished sparely, we really enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. Our room opened up onto a patio with a tiny pool where we had a spectacular view of the city, especially at night. (Patio furniture looked dirty although our room was very clean.) Although there was no elevator, a staff member was available to carry our bags upstairs to the third (top) floor. The hotel is located next to the more expensive Gran Hotel and shares proximity to the main town square as well as many restaurants and tourist sites. For a few days it is worth forgoing the nice amenities of a real swimming pool, fitness room, coffee maker, etc.

Room Tip: Request an end room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredProfPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi, we really appreciate the time you take to write about your experience at the hotel, we are glad to hear that you enjoy your visit to our City, we will take note and check your comments about the patio furniture, and we will work on those details, to make the hotel look better for all our visitor.

We hope you come back soon to our city and we will be very happy to see you in the hotel again.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paoli Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed on the top floor for one week in January 2013 and had an excellent time. My wife & I agreed that we would both happily stay here again should the opportunity arise -- Merida is a terrific city and this hotel tucked into the corner of Park Hidalgo is perfectly located for everything in the central city. The room was fairly simple -- a double bed & a single, with a bathroom that was fancier than the one we had had in Rome a few months earlier, but by no means fancy. The only serious drawback was the lack of a refrigerator in which to store my wife's insulin (we had a friend who had a villa a few blocks away hold onto it). The staff was totally helpful whenever we needed anything. The food in the restaurant could be better, but the location is such that we could eat very well just by stepping outside and heading to any one of several restaurants.

Room Tip: We recommend the top floor and away from the plaza -- we were one room back from it & it was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonSilliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi Ron, first of all, we really appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience in our facilities.

We are very happy to hear that you have a great time in your stay in the hotel, we will consider the situation of the refrigerator for medical use, we will take note and find a practical solution for all our visitors in this situation.

we hope you come back soon to Mérida, and we hope you and your Wife can come again to our Hotel, we will be very happy to see you again.

¡Greetings!

Hotel Caribe, Merida, Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amersfoort
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Very good location, in the hart of Merida. Nice rooms and the architecture of this hotel is amazing - you feel like going back in time. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The rooftop pool was not to clean, but offers still a nice place to spent an hour with nice vieuws over the town.
It was difficult to find the parking further down the streets, with the mad traffic from Merida. The breakfast is nothing special, but the restaurant area is nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulAmersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
¡Hi! Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate your opinion, we will be very happy to see you in the hotel again, and make sure we will work on the points you criticize to find the way to make your next visit even better an more comfortable.

Greetings.

Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I had a prepaid, guaranteed room through Expedia. When I arrived I waited in a long line to check in, only to be told that the hotel was overbooked and that I would be sent to another hotel. I was sent to a different hotel, supposedly an upgrade, that was not in the location I chose, only to be told that I could only stay at that hotel for one night and then would be sent to a different one. I had to locate a new hotel, in order to have a place to stay for two consecutive nights, and wound up paying double for that. I lost an afternoon Merida because of this hotel and I was only there for a day and a half. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi, first of all, we honestly sorry about your bad experience. Many times, even under advice of closed reservations, some agencies oversell the spaces of the hotels,when this happend, we actually help our visitors to find a new hotel, at the better and faster way.

We apollogize for the inconvenient, and we will take note, and work with our personal to make sure this will not happend again, for any visitor.

We know you were pretty upset about this problem, but in your next trip to Mérida, if you decide to give us a chance, we will be very happy to give you the service you want and deserve.


Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

I really had a good time staying at the Caribe. Great location, very clean and secure and the staff was frilly great. I had breakfast there everyday and the food was really good. I really recommend it. I'm from Florida and will stay there again if I go back to Merida.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggsrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hotel

Property: Caribe Hotel
Address: 59 St and 60 St No. 500, Corner Inside Hidalgo Park, Downtown | Just Half Block From Main Square, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a place in which for a moment you can forget of the world, and in another, realize you're still there. This double reality shakes you until the point you become addicted, in a sway of the colonial and modern styles.The beautiful musical notes of the living romantic songs will delight you every afternoon at restaurant, while you enjoy a regional dish from the extensive variety of our menu. The spectacular view of the pool, located on the third floor, will tell you about how impressive Merida is, and once you've tried to discover it by yourself, you'll never forget of the perfect location where you are, surrounded by the most touristic atmosphere of the city.The Hotel has 53 rooms; all equipped with air conditioned, wireless Internet, satellite color television, safe deposit box, amenities, hair dryer and telephones with extensions. This rooms can have 2 double beds, 3 individual beds or 1 double and 1 individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing