We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty building with a convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caribe Hotel
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Merida
NO. CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty building with a convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

5 of us stayed here for three nights in March having three rooms. The location is very convenient and its fine for a budget hotel. Our room was fine but one of our other rooms had plumbing issues and we are able to to transfer into a different room. In both of the other rooms the second bed was in front of the closet so you couldn't open it. Even though we don't speak Spanish we found all the people at the front desk to be very helpful and friendly. The rooms are plain but clean and lots of water was provided which we appreciated. The building and courtyard are quite pretty. Wifi worked fine. There is a safe inside the closet that is big enough to hold ipads and wallets. Taxi to the airport was just $15 and the front desk arranged it for us. Didn't have dinner there but they have nice outdoor seating.

Room Tip: Room 21 was the largest of the 3 rooms we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPY2GO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola, primero que nada, muchas gracias por tomarte un tiempo para escribir sobre tu experiencia en el hotel, apreciamos tus comentarios y los consideraremos para implementar y mejorar las condiciones y servicio de nuestro hotel, para brindar un mejor servicio a nuestros visitantes.

Nos da gusto escuchar que disfrutaste tu viaje y nos da gusto que hayas disfrutado tu estancia en el hotel, tomaremos en cuenta los detalles que comentas sobre la habitación para corregirlo.

Esperamos decidas regresar pronto a la ciudad de Mérida, estaremos encantados de recibirte y darte el servicio que te mereces.

Saludos, Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    112
    80
    36
    21
See reviews for
55
110
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Let me preface this horrible review with a compliment to the Caribe hotel of the past. Years ago, I studied Spanish in Merida. I used to go to the Caribe Hotel most days to eat lunch and do my homework. There was a large wrought iron cage in which there were 2 toucans who would hop around, eat fruit, and greet visitors. The food in the restaurant was superb! There was an excellent and enjoyable staff, and musicians would spend their afternoons in the restaurant - getting together each day, and playing instruments and singing songs together. An idyllic, yet inexpensive place to stay. The only thing the hotel has going for it anymore is its central location near the Cathedral and Plaza.
Gone now are the birds, the great staff, the good food, and the musicians.
The staff at the front desk were odd, and had a look about them, an air, that I could only characterize as a look of vice or of malefactors. I could not help but conjour up the image of "Master of the House" from Les Miserables. Throughout the trip I felt uncomfortable dealing with the desk, and there were several problems. One is that I sent laundry through the hotel to be done, and my dress shirt came back burned/ melted, and they said there was nothing they could do about it. However the bill for the few pieces of laundry I sent was astronomical. Another is that they advertized there was free parking but they put my car in another lot which I had to pay a fee to use each day I was there (except for the first night). The food quality has taken a spiraling dive, and it is pretty rough to work through a meal (Especially when there are so many excellent choices in town). Breakfast was OK, but the other meals were poorly prepared! I am a generous tipper and speak Spanish and try to be a complimentary client - this generally helps to create a positive atmosphere in the hotels where I stay, but despite this, service was not good. There were other small problems that made the stay unpleasant throughout, and I was left with a general feeling that I was being taken advantage of, or being fleeced at every turn. I brought family with me. They stayed in another room and were very unhappy with the quality of the beds, pillows, etc... At any rate, there are a lot of choices in Merida. Even though the price seems unbeatable at this place, I encourage you to seek out another option. By the way, after my stay in Mexico, my credit card company contacted me about significant fraudulent charges made on my credit card in Mexico to the tune of several thousand dollars..... I used the credit card at this hotel, and two other hotels during my stay - a four star jungle lodge, and a Marriott... You have been warned!
PS - the bell boy and cleaning ladies were delightful!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola Patricio, primero que nada, te agradecemos el tiempo que te has tomado para escribir sobre tu experiencia en el hotel, tus comentarios son de gran utilidad para nosotros pues nos ayudarán a realizar implementar mejoras en el servicio para poder mejorar para todos nuestros visitantes.

Te comentamos, como primer punto, la jaula, se encuentra actualmente en el hotel La misión de Fray Diego, mas únicamente de manera decorativa, ya no alberga a los tucanes, pues se ha tomado la determinación de dejar a los animales libres.

Con respecto a la Peña Trovera, esta se sigue realizando, es una reunion de trovadores, tanto profesionales como amateurs que ser reúnen de manera independiente en nuestras instalaciones, esto sigue ocurriendo todos los días entre 12,30 y 2,30 de la tarde.

Respecto al servicio (Personal y alimentos) tomaremos en cuenta el comentario y platicaremos con el personal para saber que sucede y ver de que manera podemos corregir esta situación.

Ahora, con respecto a la situación de la tarjeta de crédito, nos gustaría que nos contactaras directamente, no por medio de esta página. Para que podamos saber qué pasó, hacer una investigación y poder darte una respuesta, incluida la devolución de los cargos, si ha sido un error de nuestra parte.

Quedamos a tus ordenes y esperando puedas contactarnos para solucionar el inconveniente ocurrido.

Saludos, Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My family, with small child, stayed at Hotel Caribe for four days over the recent New Year. We had a miserable experience attempting to check-in late evening, after being told our reservation was cancelled and there was no more vacancy. Receptionists changed the reason from not arriving before 5pm to credit card authorization not confirmed – even though Booking.com reservation clearly stated that arrival was for 10pm and that no deposit would be charged up front. After about half and hour of argument with staff, rooms suddenly appeared. One of rooms (which was later exchanged for another) was dingy and musty, with patches of visible mold all over the ceiling. In another one, the toilet did not work. The next day, the manager would not acknowledge that there was any problem how the scenario was handled. One lesson from this snafu is to double-check your reservation with the hotel before arriving, as Booking.com info is not always accurate. A second lesson is--- don’t book at Hotel Caribe. Other than a very good location in Merida and interesting setting, the conditions and service quality are poor and you would be better off somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola, primero que nada, muchas gracias por tomarte un tiempo para escribir sobre tu experiencia en el hotel, apreciamos tus comentarios y los consideraremos para implementar y mejorar las condiciones y servicio de nuestro hotel, para brindar un mejor servicio a nuestros visitantes.

Al ser un edificio histórico, con muchos años de haber sido construido, resulta difícil mantenerlo.

Para esto, desarrollamos un plan en el cual, cada mes se revisan las habitaciones y las áreas comunes, para lograr con mantenimientos menores y constantes, tener las instalaciones en el mejor estado posible para el gozo de nuestros visitantes.

Siendo un edificio histórico, tenemos que resolver problemáticas como estas, pero es parte del esfuerzo a realizar para seguir ofreciendo una ambiente colonial y relajado en el mejor lugar de la ciudad.

Respecto a la sobre venta, en ocasiones y aún bajo aviso del cierre de fechas, algunas agencias nos venden más cuartos de los que tenemos disponibles, como parte del servicio hacia el huésped, nosotros les ayudamos a conseguimos otro hotel en la cuidad

Revisaremos cada aspecto que nos comentas y trabajaremos con las personas en las areas correspondientes para saber que ha sucedido y corregirlo para que esto no vuelva a ocurrir con nuestros visitantes.

Lamentamos que hayas sufrido estos inconvenientes en tu visita.

Saludos, Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Pleasant family run hotel, very near the main square. Charming, old fashioned, no lifts, built round quadrangle. Free Wi-Fi in reception area. 5 minute taxi to bus station. Many bars and restaurants in the area. Clean rooms with safe, hair dryer and flat screen TV (no English news). Breakfast good value.
No fan speed control on A/C but very effective. Tours arranged by reception. Drinking water. Small pool with good sunbathing area.
Try Amaro restaurant near main square for excellent ambiance, good food, live music, good service and good prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola, primero que nada, muchas gracias por tomarte un tiempo para escribir sobre tu experiencia en el hotel, apreciamos tus comentarios y los consideraremos para implementar y mejorar las condiciones y servicio de nuestro hotel, para brindar un mejor servicio a nuestros visitantes.

Nos da gusto hayas disfrutado tu estancia en el hotel, los detalles que nos comentas los trabajaremos a través de el plan de revisiones mensuales que hemos implementado para vigilar que todos los aspectos se mantengan cuidado para que los visitantes puedan disfrutar plenamente del hotel.

Esperamos decidas regresar pronto a la ciudad de Mérida, estaremos encantados de recibirte y darte el servicio que te mereces.

Saludos, Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for 3 nights out of a 2.5 week stay in Mexico. It is a beautiful building in a great part of town, but the staff would have to be the most unfriendly of any place I've stayed. There was no customer service. They didn't seem to care about us at all. There was no friendly welcome smile or even "welcome" said on arrival or "goodbye" on checking out. Walking past reception to get to your room they didn't even lift their head to acknowledge us. The staff are clearly not happy with their jobs!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuciMinogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola, primero que nada, muchas gracias por tomarte un tiempo para escribir sobre tu experiencia en el hotel, apreciamos tus comentarios y los consideraremos para implementar y mejorar las condiciones y servicio de nuestro hotel, para brindar un mejor servicio a nuestros visitantes.

Lamentamos mucho la situación que comentas sobre el servicio, tomaremos acciones ante esta problemática, y buscaremos resolverlo para brindar un servicio de mejor calidad a todos nuestros visitantes.

Esperamos decidas regresar pronto a la ciudad de Mérida y si nos das otra oportunidad, estaremos encantados de recibirte y darte el servicio que te mereces.

Saludos, Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Like most of the reviews, this hotel is well located and the actual design of the hotel is very pretty and interesting. However, the rooms are in desperate need of updating. Our toilet did not work properly and while they tried to fix it on the spot it was pretty gross. I did not even want to take a shower, just waited until I got home. The a/c unit worked fine, it was just loud. The only nice thing in the room was the flat screen tv, which worked! The bell man in very kind and happy to help you get your luggage up the stairs. The man in the restaurant is super grouchy. He did not want to give my husband ice and seemed very put out. We did not eat in the restaurant because my son saw the cook smoking while cooking - gross! Fortunately we did not pay much for this room, but even if it is cheap we would not stay here again. There a many hotels in the area that looked a lot nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola, primero que nada, muchas gracias por tomarte un tiempo para escribir sobre tu experiencia en el hotel, apreciamos tus comentarios y los consideraremos para implementar y mejorar las condiciones y servicio de nuestro hotel, para brindar un mejor servicio a nuestros visitantes.

Al ser un edificio histórico, con muchos años de haber sido construido, resulta difícil mantenerlo.

Para esto, desarrollamos un plan en el cual, cada mes se revisan las habitaciones y las áreas comunes, para lograr con mantenimientos menores y constantes, tener las instalaciones en el mejor estado posible para el gozo de nuestros visitantes.

Siendo un edificio histórico, tenemos que resolver problemáticas como estas, pero es parte del esfuerzo a realizar para seguir ofreciendo una ambiente colonial y relajado en el mejor lugar de la ciudad.

Con respecto a la situación del recepcionista y el cocinero, tomaremos cartas en el asunto, para evitar que cualquiera de estas situaciones vuelva a ocurrir en nuestras instalaciones.

Esperamos decidas regresar pronto a la ciudad de Mérida y si nos das otra oportunidad, estaremos encantados de recibirte y darte el servicio que te mereces.

Saludos, Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of old town Merida. It is walking distance from cathedrals, government buildings, the university, the market, restaurants and you will find lots of shopping as soon as you step out of the hotel. However, the professional pictures on this site are very misleading. We booked two rooms and ended up on the third floor. There are no elevators in this hotel so we had to lug our bags up to the rooms. Both rooms were very small and the bathrooms were even smaller and dingy. The shower was so tiny that if you are not a small framed person, you will have trouble maneuvering while taking a shower. The air-condition unit was set to freezing, (we did not have access to adjust the temperature) so we were either cold or hot. The hotel itself needs a lot of updating. It must have once been a beautiful colonial hotel but it is in some disrepair now.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor if you don't want to lug your bags up the stairs or don't stay there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola, primero que nada, muchas gracias por tomarte un tiempo para escribir sobre tu experiencia en el hotel, apreciamos tus comentarios y los consideraremos para implementar y mejorar las condiciones y servicio de nuestro hotel, para brindar un mejor servicio a nuestros visitantes.

Al ser un edificio histórico, con muchos años de haber sido construido, resulta difícil mantenerlo.

Para esto, desarrollamos un plan en el cual, cada mes se revisan las habitaciones y las áreas comunes, para lograr con mantenimientos menores y constantes, tener las instalaciones en el mejor estado posible para el gozo de nuestros visitantes.

Siendo un edificio histórico, tenemos que resolver problemáticas como estas, pero es parte del esfuerzo a realizar para seguir ofreciendo una ambiente colonial y relajado en el mejor lugar de la ciudad.

Esperamos dedicas regresar pronto a la ciudad de Mérida y si nos das otra oportunidad, estaremos encantados de recibirte y darte el servicio que te mereces.

Saludos, Hotel Caribe, Mérida Yucatán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#26 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hotel

Property: Caribe Hotel
Address: 59 St and 60 St No. 500, Corner Inside Hidalgo Park, Downtown | Just Half Block From Main Square, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a place in which for a moment you can forget of the world, and in another, realize you're still there. This double reality shakes you until the point you become addicted, in a sway of the colonial and modern styles.The beautiful musical notes of the living romantic songs will delight you every afternoon at restaurant, while you enjoy a regional dish from the extensive variety of our menu. The spectacular view of the pool, located on the third floor, will tell you about how impressive Merida is, and once you've tried to discover it by yourself, you'll never forget of the perfect location where you are, surrounded by the most touristic atmosphere of the city.The Hotel has 53 rooms; all equipped with air conditioned, wireless Internet, satellite color television, safe deposit box, amenities, hair dryer and telephones with extensions. This rooms can have 2 double beds, 3 individual beds or 1 double and 1 individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing