We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The outside doesn't reflect the inside...”
Review of Hotel Doralba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Doralba Inn
Ranked #34 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“The outside doesn't reflect the inside...”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Hotel Dolores Alba, located in downtown Merida, doesn't look all that appealing from the outside,but once past the front door, the huge open-air patio, where the reception is found, and the three tiers of rooms overlooking it are pretty impressive. Back of this area is the newer part of the hotel, surrounding a good-size pool. The rooms in this section are more modern and more expensive than in the old part.. All the first-floor rooms in the modern part have wall-to-wall one-way glass looking out on the swimming pool. Cool! This is still a 2-star hotel as no bottled water is provided, neither is shampoo. All rooms have AC, flat-screen TVs and safes. The mattresses are foam and are quite comfortable. Free breakfast is included and is served in the large patio. There is secure free parking right next door. In light of the very reasonable rates, I consider the Dolores Alba a good deal!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back (more modern) section are better than the ones in the original front part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    340
    137
    41
    29
See reviews for
137
282
62
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As a 2 star hotel or 2 1/2 stars is fine (maybe even 3). For my taste, the rooms are quite outdated although a bit improved (painted, ..). However, if you are not too demanding in terms of aesthetics, it is acceptable to have a bathroom which has served several years and the noisy air conditioner, it is not a bad option for its price. The pool is very nice and recent (good enought for a three star hotel or more). The building and its courtyards are charming (although people moving or talking in the yard, can disturb).

Como hotel 2 estrellas o 2 y 1/2 està muy bien (quizàs hasta 3). Para mi gusto, las habitaciones estàn bastante anticuadas aunque las han pintado y mejorado un poco. Sin embargo, si no se es demasiado exigente en cuanto a la estética, se acepta tener sanitarios que han cumplido ya bastantes años y aire acondicionado ruidoso pues ..... no es una mala opciòn para el precio que tiene. La piscina es muy agradable y reciente (digna de un tres estrellas o mas). El edificio y sus patios tienen encanto (aunque las personas pasando o hablando en el patio, pueden molestar).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoyabxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights. Even if the main entrance didn't look very promising, this hotel is very nice and clean. Rooms are big and comfortable. It is well located in the city center and has free car parking. The towels provided for the bathroom were sometimes old and breakfast was just ok. Wifi was a bit weak in our room. I would anyway go back to dolores alba and recommend it for the good quality/price balance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naspen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is just another big city hotel. It's within walking distance of the central plaza and tends to be a little on the far side. The cheaper rooms are clean but very dated. The bed was good and it was quiet. The newer rooms looked alot nicer but they are too expensive for the value you get. The pool is great. The included breakfast is just bad. You get some old toasted bread, some cold eggs and some other basic bland food. Can't say the staff is not friendly but they certainly are not nice. You can find a lot better value for the same price!

Room Tip: Just stay in a much nicer place somwhere else for the same money, you'll find plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mentopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A very clean hotel, staff friendly, the owners are not friendly at less they have to they verily say hello. This hotel is about four blocks from the main square. The neighborhood is so so. We had a nice room with a balcony facing the pool with two nice rocking chairs,I know it is a budget hotel, but they need to provided better towels we were two in a room with only two towels that you had to use to dried yourself after a shower and use same towel to dry your hands, no iron is provided I think if they offer to rent you one you gladly pay for it,we were in this hotels twelve days and I was forced to buy blouses for the same amount of days and wear wrinkle shorts. They have a washer and drier and you can wash you clothes for $ 80.00 pesos, but how can you iron your clothes?
Breakfast is included if you can eat the same every day, white beans, scramble eggs and chopped hot dogs with chopped potatoes mix in, coffee was ugh terrible and same marble pound cake,cereal and same fruit daily.they only include two small soaps. It is a shame if they only included the two extra towels and rent you an iron, even if you have the same breakfast the hotel could be nice enough for the price. If you rent a car their parking is limited, the owner got tree spaces that are like double spaces each. Next time I'll take my towels and iron, for the price is an okey place.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are the bests, wifi, air condition and hot water are excelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildred39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We came to Merida for a weekend with friends, found this hotel on Expedia, our 6th hotel in two months, not a problem with reservations and all were as represented. Not much to look at from the street but lovely inside, all rooms surround the courtyard, we had a small balcony overlooking the pool area. Staff at reception and elsewhere were very friendly and helpful. I must agree with others that the free breakfast could have been better (Meridians must have something for hotdogs, they're everywhere). This is a budget hotel, no shampoo, hair dryer, but if you're just looking for an inexpensive place to stay for a few days, I'd recommend Hotel Dolores Alba.

Room Tip: The windows are reflective glass, providing privacy by day. However at night when the lights are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisdore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTraveler
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 2-nights here. Stayed in a new room in back. Room was clean, AC worked well. Shower had hot water. WiFi worked fine. No street noise but quite a bit of noise from other rooms. Not possible to fully darken room so if you need a really dark room, bring eye shades. Breakfast was worthless. Location is near a bus stop and very commercial (not a good commercial) - I do not understand other trip advisor reviews extolling the virtues if the location - not long walks to many places, but not exactly in a nice part of the city either (and let's face it, a city of almost 1-million will have so-so neighborhoods, which is where this hotel is located).

If you're on a budget and don't want to spend more than about $50/night, not a bad option. But if you want more of a "hotel" or vacation experience, spend a few bucks more and go elsewhere - this place is pure utility (feels safe, quiet, clean). One towel per person, no wash cloth, shower is functional but a bit oddly laid out, etc.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
162 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#31 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#19 of 103 in Merida
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#18 of 103 in Merida
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 103 in Merida
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doralba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doralba Inn

Property: Hotel Doralba Inn
Address: Calle 63 No 464 x 52 y 54 | Downtown, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Dolores Alba)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doralba Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting hotel in the center of Merida, 400 year old colonial mansion, family fun, all services at the best value. Free inside parking, elevator, Freida Kahlo picture decoration free high speed internet, laundry, restaurant facing old arches, swimming pool with top technology. 50 rooms in the new section and 50 in the colonial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Doralba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing