We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Doralba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Doralba Inn
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Ontairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I've never been to Merida before so my pick of a hotel was difficult and choosing the Dolores Alba was the perfect choice for us. The street appearance of the entrance is not a welcoming sight, but inside, all that changes. It has 2 large courtyards and a large swimming pool, Our room in the new addition was large enough and everything worked. It was very clean, had 2 chairs, 2 rockers, small table, and the beds were very comfortable with new linen. Almost the entire front wall was a window with sliding door looking out to the courtyard. The staff were very friendly and spoke English very well. They were able to arrange tours for us, even a specialized one, and very helpful were the small city maps they had at the front desk. Internet is very localized and meant sitting near the front of the hotel to pick up the wireless. The hotel is only 3 blocks away from the main square where a lot of activity takes place and just around the corner is an Oxxo and grocery store. It can be a bit noisey at night with music from a nearby restaurant and bar otherwise it was very comfortable. This hotel is a bargain, we stayed here 11 days and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bila11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    328
    131
    40
    28
See reviews for
133
270
61
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I've stayed in numerous hotels ranging from two to five stars all over Europe and Latin America, and have seldom encountered one better than Hotel Dolores Alba. My original intention was to spend a week there, but wound up staying two months! The beauty of the place and the incomparable service make a stay there highly desirable.
George Gilbert
San Francisco, Calif.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGIII98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

I have been visiting Merida for the past two years staying in a variety of venues. For real Merida the location is fantastic. I stayed for a 16 day stay. One of my friends joined me for the first week. Our room was large, comfortable and lovely. We both felt that we received a very good value. I have referred this location to other friends that have very much enjoyed their experience. I am actually booking another stay today.
I am a fan of Frida and very much enjoyed the pieces of her life freely displayed.
The location was great. We walked every where and spent much time at the main plaza, just about 7 blocks away.
We did find the staff very pleasant and helpful.
Patti

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattiinmerida8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

in a dirty part of town, is this place situated. Very old and dirty room. Blankets are not clean, dirt on the floor, etc. Breakfast was so bad, that we went to town for our breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EddyGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Some of the rooms were infested with bugs, may be bed bugs and our children left with painful rashes and bites on their skin. Our sheets were torn snd had holes. The water glasses in our room was never changed or washed until I took them out and asked the cleaning lady to wash them. Breakfasrt was the same everyday and tasteless. When there were crowds 2 out of 4 days of for stay the scramled eggs and the little miniscule bowls of fruit were finished before we got there and there were no apologies.The bedspread had never been washed..The front desk staff were nice, knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farrokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We had a great stay at the Dolores Alba. For the price, it was one of the best values we found on our last minute trip to Mexico. The hotel is located just blocks from the main square, far enough that it is not in the heart of the noise and activity but close enough that it is walking distance. The old wing of the hotel (the front end) has a beautiful courtyard with colonial architecture, Mexican artwork, birds, and tables for breakfast. The new wing (rear end of the hotel) has a pool in the courtyard. We stayed in the new wing and our room was spacious, comfortable and modern. [We didn't see the quality of the old-wing rooms]. The staff was very friendly and helped us with directions, cab reservations, etc. It is the perfect hotel for those who to explore the city and return to a comfortable stay (and maybe a dip in the pool).
As for limitations, it is on the same block as a bar that played loud music late into the night, and we had a room that faced that side of the street. It was noticeable but it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The floors of this hotel have not been washed in a decade. We were all bitten up by fleas or beg bugs. The hotel is beautiful and good location, but absolutely filthy. The rooms are not good for babies, and they have only one high chair and one pack and play (which is basically a problem, because it took my husband one hour of fiddling to get it to stay up). So if you are traveling with kids, do not stay here. For adults who dont care about the bugs and the filth it is ok value and good location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LADarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#31 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#42 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#15 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doralba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doralba Inn

Property: Hotel Doralba Inn
Address: Calle 63 No 464 x 52 y 54 | Downtown, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Dolores Alba)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doralba Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting hotel in the center of Merida, 400 year old colonial mansion, family fun, all services at the best value. Free inside parking, elevator, Freida Kahlo picture decoration free high speed internet, laundry, restaurant facing old arches, swimming pool with top technology. 50 rooms in the new section and 50 in the colonial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Doralba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing