We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK place to hang out a few days in my old neighborhood.”
Review of Hotel Mucuy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mucuy
Ranked #75 of 104 Hotels in Merida
atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An OK place to hang out a few days in my old neighborhood.”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel is clearly basic, as is reflected in the extrememly low price. My old Merida neighbor, Alayne, from Canada only stays here when visiting. So that is why I showed up here at the Mucuy, to be near to my old friend. The location is right downtown. The place has a pretty garden. But most of all it has a new very small pool. Anyone, who has spent more than 10 minutes in Merida knows the value of jumping into cool water after walking around in the blazing hot sun for a few hours. I would be willing to stop in, pay the price of a room just to take a cool dip. So in that way the room is just thrown in extra. And as for the room. . .very basic. . .but with hot water, if you let it run long enough. Worth the tiny price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtbarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
15
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheney, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Location and price were decent. The elderly lady at the front desk was civil-enough, but not particularly friendly or helpful. The courtyard was pleasant and lovely-looking. But I don't think I'd go back, and here's why:

1. The little black scotty-dog seemed to us to have very little personality other than his dogged determination to try to urinate on absolutely everything, including our feet and our bags (thankfully we were able to thwart him from those targets, but it was not easy), the pool, the pool shower, the patio furniture, the stairs, walls, potted plants, etc. We arrived early and had to wait about an hour and a half for our room to be ready (certainly not unreasonable or unpleasant in and of itself), but we had to be vigilant and sometimes shoo, yell, flap arms, and/or stomp feet to fend off the urinary intentions of the dang dog. We tried to make nice with him from the start, but he never did show any interest in being petted or talked to nicely. We are dog- and cat-people, but this little guy was straight-up annoying.
2. The room was frankly pretty grubby and grimy. We found a few big globs of previous guests' hair plastered to the bathroom floor and wall. The shower area was pretty cruddy and crusty. We were afraid the bathroom sink was going to completely fall off the wall; it was already cracked away from the wall and sagging at an angle. The corners of the room looked like they had not been swept or mopped in YEARS. There was a VERY thick layer of nasty dust on many surfaces. Without having previously mentioned it aloud, my mother and I both woke up at different times in the night with bad dreams about bedbugs in the room. While the bedbug fears seem to have been (thankfully) unfounded, it speaks to the over all griminess of the room.

I have stayed in a LOT of cheap hotel rooms all over Mexico, and this one was definitely one of the grubbiest ones. Certainly pretty disappointing, compared to the positive reviews. Honestly, we got the feeling that this hotel is just staggering along just on its reputation, the pretty courtyard, and the goodwill of some loyal guests, but that these crutches are not enough to redeem the cruddy room or keep the hotel from falling into serious decline over the next several years, unless somebody steps in and vigorously revives it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River BC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I have been going back to the Mucuy since 1987. It feels like coming home, the owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful (once I had a bad case of the turista and the thermos of camomile tea was much appreciated, thank you). Rooms are basic, clean, and the courtyard is a quiet oasis in the busy city. Easy and safe to walk everywhere. A bonus is the cheap and efficient laundry a block down the street.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuzana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I arrived the first time, Had a warm welcome from Senora Martinez ( the Owner ) . She is a wonderful hostess with a great staff. Hotel is basic , central, safe and accomodating, and in the middle of the Historical Centro "where every traveler in Merida wants to be."
The court yard is a great place to relax in the pool and with wifi email home. Rooms are under 300 pesos a night (275 for a double) this hotel gives the thriffty traveller the best bang for the buck. I have checked other hotels and at this price nothing compares. When checking in , say hi to Senor Martinez from John from Canada.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaltreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights @ Hotel Mucuy, & thought the place was tough to beat for the money. If we dropped $90 a night, I would critique differently, but for $20-$30 this place was great. The staff, beds, location, and courtyard are all awesome. At this price, you are lucky to get a hostel bunk bed here in the states. We did request a 2nd set of pillows, because our 1st were pretty small/worn, and the staff accommodated us. They also helped arrange an early morning taxi to the airport for us. We would stay here again in a heartbeat...Merida was a good time, you will not want to spend a lot of time in your room!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cajunturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

If your like us we just need a bed to sleep on, at night, were out all day exploring so were not into the amenities of a five star hotel. This one was okay for us, it could have been a little bit cleaner, i saw at least 20 daddy long legs in our room, and many cobwebs, water did not run very well either. the owner an elder lady, very sweet and helpful. Nice little clean pool. Friendly Dog Wiskey on premises. for $25 dollars a night, you pay for what you get. So until i hilt the Lotto Mucuy is good for me.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank algounico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

After staying in much more expensive, upscale hotels for the previous 3 nights we stayed here. It was our first good nights sleep.
The rooms and bathroom are simple and clean. The courtyard and staff are great.

A very good hotel for the money!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan
Hotel San Juan
#61 of 104 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
#57 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#47 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Zar Merida
Hotel Zar Merida
#55 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#49 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mucuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mucuy

Property: Hotel Mucuy
Address: Calle 56 Y 58, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mucuy 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mucuy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mucuy Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing