We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Choice if 5 star is not what you looking for”
Review of Hotel Mucuy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mucuy
Ranked #85 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I arrived the first time, Had a warm welcome from Senora Martinez ( the Owner ) . She is a wonderful hostess with a great staff. Hotel is basic , central, safe and accomodating, and in the middle of the Historical Centro "where every traveler in Merida wants to be."
The court yard is a great place to relax in the pool and with wifi email home. Rooms are under 300 pesos a night (275 for a double) this hotel gives the thriffty traveller the best bang for the buck. I have checked other hotels and at this price nothing compares. When checking in , say hi to Senor Martinez from John from Canada.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globaltreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights @ Hotel Mucuy, & thought the place was tough to beat for the money. If we dropped $90 a night, I would critique differently, but for $20-$30 this place was great. The staff, beds, location, and courtyard are all awesome. At this price, you are lucky to get a hostel bunk bed here in the states. We did request a 2nd set of pillows, because our 1st were pretty small/worn, and the staff accommodated us. They also helped arrange an early morning taxi to the airport for us. We would stay here again in a heartbeat...Merida was a good time, you will not want to spend a lot of time in your room!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cajunturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

If your like us we just need a bed to sleep on, at night, were out all day exploring so were not into the amenities of a five star hotel. This one was okay for us, it could have been a little bit cleaner, i saw at least 20 daddy long legs in our room, and many cobwebs, water did not run very well either. the owner an elder lady, very sweet and helpful. Nice little clean pool. Friendly Dog Wiskey on premises. for $25 dollars a night, you pay for what you get. So until i hilt the Lotto Mucuy is good for me.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank algounico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

After staying in much more expensive, upscale hotels for the previous 3 nights we stayed here. It was our first good nights sleep.
The rooms and bathroom are simple and clean. The courtyard and staff are great.

A very good hotel for the money!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vtviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

After reading several positive reviews of the Mucuy, we decided to stay there. On arrival, the room had not been cleaned and we were greeted by two large roaches. Towels and linens were, we believe, simply put out to dry and never washed. To make a long story short, we found another hotel after some angry young person (we are 63/70) with diarrhea 'pooped' in the pool and the management just let it stink (no draing of pool or anything). I know this hotel was once a good place to stay but the lady running it is old and her staff is lazy, to put it mildly. BTW, we are fluent in Spanish.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flojos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I was in love with Merida, Mexico before I discovered the Hotel Mucuy, but it is now my love as well. I again stayed there this month. A mere two blocks from the heart of activity in Centro, the care and love shown by Ms. Ofelia and staff and the restful atmosphere is my definition of Hotel Mucuy. The heat in Merida in summer is the same as my area of Texas so I was not uncomfortable or surprised by it. The hotel is a little oasis from the hustle of the city and I love it. Patt Barrington, Orange, Texas

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PattusaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

As with anything else, people make all the difference. What sets Hotel Mucuy apart from any place I have stayed is the hostess, Senora Ofelia. Based on the regulars she has who keep coming back (in one case, annual visits for thirty years!), I would say that Senora Ofelia offers something really special. Sure, the location and the price are fantastic, but it's really the way that Senora Ofelia opens herself up for interaction that goes way beyond the perfunctory, that's what sets this place apart.

Her two dogs, Lena and Whiskey, her residence off to the side of the lobby are just little markers of the fact that though this is clearly a business venture, Senora Ofelia is sharing her home with her guests. I'm ready to return!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterBraun28210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
3.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#64 of 105 in Merida
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
#70 of 105 in Merida
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Juan
Hotel San Juan
#57 of 105 in Merida
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 105 in Merida
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#59 of 105 in Merida
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mucuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mucuy

Address: Calle 56 Y 58, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £21 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mucuy 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mucuy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mucuy Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing