We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as pretty as the pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Ranked #85 of 103 Hotels in Merida
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as pretty as the pictures”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The courtyard is lovely, the staff friendly, breakfast fine and the prices reasonable if you book ahead online, as we did. But scrape the surface and it disappoints. The room was not very clean or well maintained. We had no hot water in three days. Internet was intermittent. And we did not get much sleep as the room (no. 3, I believe) is right on a busy street so we endured either continual traffic noise or the mighty roar of the big brown air conditioner, which looked to be from the 1970s.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms on the (noisy) street side, to the right as you enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrotterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    36
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
15
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed in room 17 for 5 nights. I sent a picture to my son and he commented "Looks like a room from a slasher movie". Was not a very well upkept room. Definetely needed some TLC.
+ +The noise kept going all the time, noisy air conditioner, street traffic, sewer covers banging constantly 24 hours a day. the only good comment about the noise is that we could here the horse and buggy go by. Was kind of neat, Clop clop clop clop amonst the buses cars and the vehicle horns.
After 5 nights we moved to a different room, I expressed my concerns to the front desk and they moved us to room 26. Thanks to Getty at reception for listening to my concerns.
The new Room 26 was a charmer. Spacious and very comfortable now that we are used to harder Mexican beds. The inner door doesn't lock properly and I did not mention it to the staff because I had most valuables with me. That reminds me, their is no room safe. We had to use a cheap wooden locker under some stairs near the front door in an unsupervised area. This is an area I would suggest management should look at.
Breakfast was a good meal and service in the dining area was very good.
Reception was helpful and friendly, Service from staff was okay. Hotel is old and somewhat charming. Location is excellent. Only a couple of hundred steps to see the Main Square. Is convenient to many eating and shopping and locations.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hidingfromwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during Christmas. Our toilet didn't flush, no hot water and internet was hit and miss (mostly miss!). We reported every problem to the front desk and they did send someone up to check out the plumbing but it was not fixed. Our friends stayed in room #11 and didn't have any problems! Good luck!

Room Tip: do NOT accept room #15!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small but okay. AC made much noise, so you have to turn it off when you want to sleep. Our toilet didnt flush, we had to try it 2/3 times before it worked. Shower was very good. Breakfast is the same everyday and not much variation. The atmosphere was nice, Internet worked fine, but overall it is a little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMalou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my fiance for three days. I found the hotel over the Internet and I liked it because of the Colonial theme they had shown on the pictures. When we got there we were disappointed as although service was very nice, the room was very ugly. Every time we needed something we had a quick yes and delivery yet we had other expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I had stayed at HOTEL POSDA TOLEDO for 4 days. I had no trouble with theft. Camera, cell phone, money and other belongings were left in tact as I left them upon returning to the room (spread atop of the dresser). I had approached the owner about the former incident of the stolen computer and was told the incident very likely did occur but assured me that the person who had cleaned the room was dismissed from the job for that reason. I wholeheartedly believe its completely SAFE!!! it was demonstrated by the personal who worked there.
The hotel is centrally located- next door to the Best Western Yucatan (they charge 4 times the price of a room) - and just a few blocks to the Zocalo. You will be pleased with the traditional take of this place. I shopped around town before committing to this hotel; it was by far the most attractive of ones I have seen with similarly competitive pricing. Old tradtional doors surrounding a central courtyard with beautiful flowers and plantings. Spacious rooms with old traditional pasta floors and antique furniture, non-sagging mattress with clean white sheets and clean white bedspread (light in weight). The room is tided-up everyday...the bed is made as new with fluffed-up pillows (no stain on sheets or pillows). The room is also kept comfortable with a new panasonic split air-conditioner and a 5 speed fan to keep cool. The price of the room comes with a delicious breakfast (served from 7A-10A) - choice of freshely made coffee or expresso, an incredible plate of fruit filled with papaya, cantalope-honeydew and banana, freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurt, cereal, toast (cream cheese and butter accompaniment) assorted pasteries. Breakfast is served either in the patio or in the formal dining room. Old family pictures abound the room with antiques dating back to the 1860´s. A curio cabinet filled with china and family memorabilia is displayed in the dining area along with other antiquated furnishing. The owner did mention that the dining area will begin serving dinners such as salmon, lobster caught from the nearby gulf, pasta, salads and other wonderful local edibles. The attendant at front desk is happy to call in a delivery for you in the event you want pizza, as, I did. Also, all local phone calls in Merida are at the expense of the hotel. Each room has a phone. If you need a cell phone, they can arrange for one. There is wireless service at the premises. A tour of the facility can be had as the hotel has a interesting history that can be enjoyed by those who visit. All-in-all I have found a truly remarkable jewel in midst of a busy city, with old mexican architecture and moorish influences (french influences in some room furnishing), yet the indoor seclusion and noise buffer of the mini hacienda´s walls allows for a quite and tranquil stay. I believe, you too, will be pleased. For the price, amenities, historic value, centrality and a terrific breakfast this place cannot be beat. I must say, photographs taken of this place does not do it justice...the only thing I would change is possibly the lighting in the room.

Room Tip: I had room number 8 - I was pleased with it. If you want a room with original french influenced fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unbiasedofferings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Seems like a nice enough hotel and i would agree with most of the other positive reviews.

However, 2 members of our intrepid group had valuables stolen. We were told to leave our keys at the front desk and i had left my ipod ready to charge when my roommates had finished. When we got back the aircon had been turned off and my ipod was no where to be seen. No sign of breakin and supposedly the front desk had been manned at all times.
So it seems that the hotel staff had robbed us because
1. why would they have left another ipod sitting there?
2. why would an outside robber bother to turn off the airconditioning?
Another girl had $US400 stolen.
The hotel has denied the whole incident and stated we must have lost things elsewhere. Completely denying any accountability, is that a place that you would want to stay at?
Fortunately Intrepid won't be staying here again after the summer, but if you do end up staying, watch your stuff!!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ferret7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#50 of 103 in Merida
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#62 of 103 in Merida
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#51 of 103 in Merida
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#29 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria

Property: Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Address: Calle 58 No 487 x 57 | Centro Historico, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Posada Toledo & Gallery, was built as a house, at the dusk of the eighteenth century, and that has been adapted to serve as a Colonial styled Hotel. Staying at Hotel Posada Toledo & Gallery, is a complete experience, original floors, handcrafted wooden doors, and high ceilings, help to provide the sensation of traveling back in time, of course without giving up any of the modern life commodities and luxuries, such as free Wi-Fi accesible on the entire building and a top quality restaurant, that specializes in local cuisine, make the Hotel Posada Toledo & Gallery the perfect complement for your stay in the magnificent city of Mérida, Yucatán. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Toledo Hotel
Posada Toledo Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing