We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dump!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Ranked #88 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Wheatley, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Dump!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We booked a colonial room in September, for December, for 2 nights. At check in, we were shown a squat-ceilinged, cramped room that wasn't made up yet - at 4 pm. We had to take it. Settling in, the room had been only slightly cleaned, the bed linens were stained and extremely old. The shower bathroom was filthy. The only light in the bedroom comes from behind a carved wooden frame high on the wall. The air conditioner creaked and coughed all night. The window opened to a grimy, smelly light shaft. We told the front desk, showing them the emails, that this was not the room paid for, but got nowhere and was told we couldn't change the following day. So we cancelled. The desk staff wouldn't refund and only got the manager on the phone after we kept insisting. He said he'd process a refund - which hasn't happened and I have no expectation of it happening. The lobby, while sadly beautiful, was filthy, with cigarette butts everywhere. The breakfast was awful and while waffles were on offer, they seemed to be only on offer to Latino appearing guests. The waiter who ignored us came by quickly when we started to leave, expecting a tip. I just looked at him and shook my head. This place is disgusting. I booked it because I wanted to real casona/boutique hotel experience. I should have gone again to Casa Mexilio. Believe the negative reviews on this place. Don't go.

Room Tip: Go to another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    33
    15
    11
    9
See reviews for
17
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I have stayed with these kind and thoughtful folks many times over the last two and a half decades. The staff is friendly and very helpful with arranging tours to local attractions; Chichen Itza, Uxmal, etc. Rooms are comfortable but sparce. Downstairs rooms are large with wonderful carved doors and a reception area reflecting the 19th century ambience of a colonial hacienda. Breakfast is continental only and not as good as it could be. However there are many nearby good choices. The Hotel Posada is close to town, on a busy corner and can be noisy. I continue to recommend it to anyone looking for comfort with a colonial feeling.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room away from the street side. Room #4 is near the streets intersection and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

The courtyard is lovely, the staff friendly, breakfast fine and the prices reasonable if you book ahead online, as we did. But scrape the surface and it disappoints. The room was not very clean or well maintained. We had no hot water in three days. Internet was intermittent. And we did not get much sleep as the room (no. 3, I believe) is right on a busy street so we endured either continual traffic noise or the mighty roar of the big brown air conditioner, which looked to be from the 1970s.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms on the (noisy) street side, to the right as you enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrotterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed in room 17 for 5 nights. I sent a picture to my son and he commented "Looks like a room from a slasher movie". Was not a very well upkept room. Definetely needed some TLC.
+ +The noise kept going all the time, noisy air conditioner, street traffic, sewer covers banging constantly 24 hours a day. the only good comment about the noise is that we could here the horse and buggy go by. Was kind of neat, Clop clop clop clop amonst the buses cars and the vehicle horns.
After 5 nights we moved to a different room, I expressed my concerns to the front desk and they moved us to room 26. Thanks to Getty at reception for listening to my concerns.
The new Room 26 was a charmer. Spacious and very comfortable now that we are used to harder Mexican beds. The inner door doesn't lock properly and I did not mention it to the staff because I had most valuables with me. That reminds me, their is no room safe. We had to use a cheap wooden locker under some stairs near the front door in an unsupervised area. This is an area I would suggest management should look at.
Breakfast was a good meal and service in the dining area was very good.
Reception was helpful and friendly, Service from staff was okay. Hotel is old and somewhat charming. Location is excellent. Only a couple of hundred steps to see the Main Square. Is convenient to many eating and shopping and locations.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hidingfromwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during Christmas. Our toilet didn't flush, no hot water and internet was hit and miss (mostly miss!). We reported every problem to the front desk and they did send someone up to check out the plumbing but it was not fixed. Our friends stayed in room #11 and didn't have any problems! Good luck!

Room Tip: do NOT accept room #15!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small but okay. AC made much noise, so you have to turn it off when you want to sleep. Our toilet didnt flush, we had to try it 2/3 times before it worked. Shower was very good. Breakfast is the same everyday and not much variation. The atmosphere was nice, Internet worked fine, but overall it is a little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMalou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my fiance for three days. I found the hotel over the Internet and I liked it because of the Colonial theme they had shown on the pictures. When we got there we were disappointed as although service was very nice, the room was very ugly. Every time we needed something we had a quick yes and delivery yet we had other expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.4 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#37 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#29 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#49 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria

Property: Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Address: Calle 58 No 487 x 57 | Centro Historico, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Posada Toledo & Gallery, was built as a house, at the dusk of the eighteenth century, and that has been adapted to serve as a Colonial styled Hotel. Staying at Hotel Posada Toledo & Gallery, is a complete experience, original floors, handcrafted wooden doors, and high ceilings, help to provide the sensation of traveling back in time, of course without giving up any of the modern life commodities and luxuries, such as free Wi-Fi accesible on the entire building, Breakfast included with all room types, and a top quality restaurant, that specializes in local cuisine, make the Hotel Posada Toledo & Gallery the perfect complement for your stay in the magnificent city of Mérida, Yucatán ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Toledo Hotel
Posada Toledo Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing