We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and delicious experience in the Yucatan!”
Review of Hacienda Teya

Hacienda Teya
Ranked #6 of 777 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$17
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Boston MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and delicious experience in the Yucatan!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The best place for lunch in Yucatan. Beautiful setting. Very authentic Mexican experience. Have to have flan de la casa. Service was excellent and was outstanding. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clancy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Clancy1964

Thank you very much for your comment, it motivates us to keep working to make your experience to be even better on every visit... we hope to have you back soon at Hacienda Teya.

Best Regards
Claugiann Zeron
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    126
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worthy of its stellar reputation”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My little family enjoyed a late Monday lunch in this paradisical 17th century hacienda on the eastern outskirts of Merida. The entry room was lined with photos of famous folks and telenovela stars who preceded us. The service was impeccable and friendly. The waiter introduced us to cerveza chilada, one of the few adulterations of beer that I've found to be a delicious enhancement on a hot day. The longoniza appetizer was so delicious that we ordered a second one, and even our kids cleaned their plates of the perfectly produced Yucatecan dishes, such as Xcatic relleno de cazón, a local variation on chile rellenos. Peacocks lounged by the picture windows and kept the kids entertained while we parents enjoyed a rare opportunity to relax over a meal. Desert was excellent too--rich ice cream for the kids, and manjar blanco (pudding of rice flour) for the adults. Including a well-deserved 20% tip, our bill totaled $96, a splurge for the family adventure budget that was worth every centavo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jetlag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jetlag78

Thank you very much for your comment, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit, it motivates us to continue working hard in order to make your next visit even better ... we hope to have you back soon.

Best regards

Claugiann Zerón
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Best meal in the area”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We really had a wonderful meal from appetizers, soup, a tree and dessert. It was a lot of good food. Took about two hours so we could really enjoy it.
The location is lovely, quiet and clean. Even tho a bit out of the way, it was well worth the trip. The kicker is, would we go back?? YES!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judymcsedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Greetings

Thank you very much for your comments; Your words motivate us to keep improving in order to make your experience during your next visit to Hacienda Teya even better. We hope to have you back soon.

Claugiann Zerón
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Expected more. Nice place.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After having the opportunity of dining in other sites in Merida and vecinities, I consider Teya a nice place to lunch/dine but definitely not on the Top-5. Menu is wide, a lot of options ranging from the traditional Sopa de Lima to the Yucatan Mix. The Hacienda is very nice and beatiful. You can explore it at your pace: gardens, chapel, main building, etc. Even there is a place for kids to play. Service is not top-notch as one can have in other places in Merida. However, besides these minor issues, you can have a very nice stay and enjoy traditional cuisine almost at its best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beto_Rios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Beto_Rios

First of all thank you very much for your feedback, it is the opinion of our friends that help us improve every day ...We're glad you've been able to walk around and enjoy the Hacienda and our lime soup... At the same time we are concerned to know: how can we improve to convince you a hundred percent? ... thanks again, have a great day

Claugiann Zerón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you have to choose one, this is it”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This a very nice hacienda and restaurant that will give you a good overall idea of how the haciendas looked like and you will try the main mayan dishes. It is very close to Merida (you can drive or hire a taxi by time and ask him to wait for you) and you will find all the main dishes that the mayan cuisine has to offer. Don´t miss the papatsules and panuchos as entrance , and as main dish go for the queso relleno. You won´t be disappointed. Prices are reasonable (not cheap) and the service is very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xaviergr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Xavgonzar

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed our dishes, we agree, the "Queso Relleno" is also one of our favorites. We are very proud of the work of restoration of the Hacienda and reviews like yours make us know that the work was worth it. We hope to have you back soon... We will be happy to surprise you with some other traditional yucatecan recipe...

Best Regards
Claugiann Zerón
Gerente de Relaciones Públicas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hacienda Teya also viewed

 

Been to Hacienda Teya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing