We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A desapointing experience hotel and restaurant”
Review of Hacienda Teya

Hacienda Teya
Ranked #8 of 758 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$16
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Emiliano Zapata, Mexico
Level Contributor
165 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A desapointing experience hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having heard about the Hacienda Teya I planned to spend a weekend there.
Rooms are ok..a lot of amenities..
But service since you checking until you arrive to your room slow,slow.
Restaurant nothing extraordinary ,normal huevos motulenos / but again service slow..and worst because there was another two/three table with people there.
Check out slow..
Not for my travel standars

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MannuVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear MannuVilla

Thank you very much for your comment, we regret that your experience in teya Treasury has not been entirely satisfactory ... We appreciate your comments that these help us to get better ... of course we take them into account.

Best Regards
claugiann Zerón
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    123
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It's a bit of a drive from downtown Merida, but the food is worth it. The restaurant has bus tours stopping by for lunch. It serves wonderful authentic food with decent prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for your words, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to Hacienda Teya, it motivates us to continue working in order to make your next visit even better ... we hope to have you back soon.

Best regards

Claugiann Zerón
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Creating Wonderful Memories”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent traditional cuisine presented in an elegant yet intimate atmosphere. You will not be disappointed. I encourage you to bring your entire family. The children will love the peacocks and deer.

Helpful?
Thank DavidL1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear DavidL1001

Thank you very much for your words, makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your experience at Hacienda Teya; makes us very happy to think that contribute to make your stay in Merida more enjoyable... hope to see you soon again

Best Regards

Claugiann Zerón
PR manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and delicious experience in the Yucatan!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The best place for lunch in Yucatan. Beautiful setting. Very authentic Mexican experience. Have to have flan de la casa. Service was excellent and was outstanding. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clancy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Clancy1964

Thank you very much for your comment, it motivates us to keep working to make your experience to be even better on every visit... we hope to have you back soon at Hacienda Teya.

Best Regards
Claugiann Zeron
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worthy of its stellar reputation”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My little family enjoyed a late Monday lunch in this paradisical 17th century hacienda on the eastern outskirts of Merida. The entry room was lined with photos of famous folks and telenovela stars who preceded us. The service was impeccable and friendly. The waiter introduced us to cerveza chilada, one of the few adulterations of beer that I've found to be a delicious enhancement on a hot day. The longoniza appetizer was so delicious that we ordered a second one, and even our kids cleaned their plates of the perfectly produced Yucatecan dishes, such as Xcatic relleno de cazón, a local variation on chile rellenos. Peacocks lounged by the picture windows and kept the kids entertained while we parents enjoyed a rare opportunity to relax over a meal. Desert was excellent too--rich ice cream for the kids, and manjar blanco (pudding of rice flour) for the adults. Including a well-deserved 20% tip, our bill totaled $96, a splurge for the family adventure budget that was worth every centavo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jetlag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jetlag78

Thank you very much for your comment, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit, it motivates us to continue working hard in order to make your next visit even better ... we hope to have you back soon.

Best regards

Claugiann Zerón
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hacienda Teya also viewed

 

Been to Hacienda Teya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing