We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Orgasm-where are the stars??”

Rosas & Xocolate Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 764 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$50
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food Orgasm-where are the stars??”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Chef David Segovia is creating stellar dishes that are both traditional and modern at once. To start, the arugula with strawberries, figs, and crushed coffee & cocoa nibs set the stage for more to come. The seared scallops-hands down-were the best I've had--ever. Cooked to perfection with a rich, savory flavor that paired nicely with roasted corn that tasted like popcorn. The brisket was was tender, crowned with a perfect pepper sauce. For the mains, the rack of pork, served with sweet potato, black beans and a local fruit purée was a dish that required sighs after each bite. The black sesame crusted tuna with asparagus was devoured before the plate touched the table. To finish an already perfect meal, we tried the dark chocolate creme brûlée with cardamom ice cream and the chocolate soufflé with crystallized rose petals. Words cannot describe the tastes and deliciousness you will experience. Eat here-don't miss it!!

Helpful?
Thank sduprie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    127
    52
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casually Elegant Delicious Romantic”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our dinner was absolutely delicious. Delicately flavoured, beautifully presented. Drinks were tasty, great wine list. Dessert was a perfect end to a fabulous meal. Staff were helpful, discreet, efficient. You must go. Perfect for a romantic evening, with a group of friends, or your own. An evening I will not forget. I will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and environment!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had dinner at this restaurant. The restaurant is located on a terrace overlooking Paseo Montejo street. If you go, order a Rosas Margarita, which is a margarita made of roses! It actually tastes as roses and it is pink! The food is gourmet with an exquisite flavor. It is an expensive place to have dinner, but it worth the money. I almost forget to mention the following, they have live jazz from 7-9pm or so.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Almendra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My best option on Merida”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The atmosphere of the Restaurant is wonderful, it is located on Paseo Montejo (one of the most important Avenues on Merida).
The cusine is a fusion of Yucateca/Mayan flavors with a modern twist.

The food is delicious and the dishes are very well presented.
The service is great, the Sommelier suggested an excellent bottle of wine.

We had a great experience, definitely is one of the best Restaurants I ever been.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan Manuel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very good dinning experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The experience we had was very good almost excellent. Service was top-notch and the menu is excellent. You can find a wide variety of local cuisine dishes almost for every taste. The restaurant is nice and it has access directly to the Paseo Montejo or to the Hotel (with the same name). It has both an interior and exterior area. The minor issue we found is that at the exterior side there was almost no light (extremely difficult to see the menu) and mosquitos flying around. We changed tables to the inside and everything went well. One important point is to make a reservation to get a table because it fills up quickly. Definitely, if you have the chance, this is a place to dine and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beto_Rios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosas & Xocolate Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing