We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel & Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel & Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days in early February. The deluxe room (and the entire hotel) was gorgeous. The bed was very comfortable. There was plenty of closet and drawer space. Nice spacious bathroom with 2 sinks and a great shower in addition to the open-air bathtub. The fitness center was outstanding, with a good selection of top-of -the line equipment. Breakfast was excellent and could be taken in the stylish restaurant or open-air interior patio. We ate at the restaurant several nights because the food was varied and wonderful. Service in the hotel and restaurant was great; the front desk was very helpful in booking a tour for us. There was free valet parking for our rental car. We have stayed at a number of boutique hotels around the world; Rosas & Xoloate is one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeA0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    47
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
69
140
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The über-cool Rosas y Xocolate Hotel is on the Paseo de Montejo, the city's answer to the Champs Elysées. It is a wide, green boulevard dotted with fine mansions built by wealthy families at the end of the 19th century, some chic shops, the city's anthropological museum and a smattering of banks.

Two such mansions were purchased and renovated by Carol Kolozs to create the boutique hotel and spa Rosas y Xocolate. No expense was spared in the process, and today the hotel, part of the Design Hotels Group (www.designhotels.com), is an ultra-stylish example of contemporary Mexican architecture.

In tones of chocolate brown and rose pink, the modern feel of the hotel is accentuated by the clear lines and elegant Italian furniture, discreet lighting and beautiful Mexican artefacts in its rooms and common areas. There is also a swimming pool in the central courtyard, a fully equipped gym and luxury spa where massages and other treatments make use of chocolate.

Our room was very spacious, with a huge open air stone bath, and the highest ceilings I have ever seen helped to keep the room cool despite 35C temperatures outside (air conditioning is available, but we didn't use it). I liked the way the designers (Salvador Reyes Rios and Josefina Larrain) sympathetically incorporated modern features like plate glass walls, Bose sound systems and flat screen cable TV, blending them with colonial architecture to create a room in which they didn't feel out of place.

The hotel breakfast is served in its open air cafe, with a number of options available. Jams and pastries are made in house and were delicious, as were the Mexican specialties on the menu, including Huevos Motulenos and Huevos Rancheros.

The open-air roof-top terrace bar has a DJ or live music being played most evenings of the week, and is a place where Merida's in-crowd get together for cocktails and music. We had a lovely evening there with an American jazz band, a few Margaritas and a couple of Montecristo Cuban cigars.

The hotel's restaurant is well regarded in the city, and although I didn't get the chance to sample its food, I saw from the menu that it presents an interesting fusion of local Yucatecan ingredients with French and Italian techniques and influences.

I very much enjoyed my stay at Rosas y Xocolate, it is one of the most stylish boutique hotels I have stayed at, with very personable and friendly service.

For the full review and pictures, please visit: http://www.thelondonfoodie.co.uk/2013/02/the-london-foodie-goes-to-mexico-city.html

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelondonfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had dinner in the restaurant during our trip in feb. and will not go back again. The food was presented beautifully but was cold. The seafood was hot, but presented with cold napoles which were on top of a once warm black bean stuffed tortilla, it just did not work. I have eaten all over the world in some of the most famous restaurants many of which are know for their inventiveness , but this just did not work. The prices are quite high and the atmosphere is rather cold. We stayed late to enjoy the rooftop jazz that night, but by almost 11 pm, the quartet was not there and we were told they would be starting at 9, oh well!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 9 day stay at Rosas y Xocolate. All aspects of our stay were exceptional from the beautifully designed hotel, the attention of the staff, and the superior quality of the restaurant. The comfort of the beds is exceeded only by the power of the shower and the pleasure of the outdoor bath. We ate at a variety of restaurants during our stay in Merida, several of which were highly rated by Trip Advisor, but none came close to that of the cuisine at the hotel restaurant (interestingly rated significantly lower). In fact, the tasting menu was exemplary and our last evening we decided to re-order it. The hotel owner stopped by to chat before we had ordered. Upon learning of our plan he went to the kitchen and had an entirely new menu created that outdid the first (with more courses).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanHNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montepulciano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We spent some wonderful days at Rosas e Xocolate- beautiful rooms & bathrooms really great and wonderful details that just make you HAPPY. We had our best meal on our whole trip to Messico here in the wonderful restaurant with fantastic service. Probably the best dessert i've ever had ! complimenti- I only have positive things to say
and a couple of suggestions- might you be able to get some of the fantastic granola from Downtown hotel (or the recipy) to serve with (lots of) fruit for breakfast. Roses, chocolate and a good espresso almost go hand in hand with generosity and making you feel welcome in this amazing hotel pleasing to the eye and all our 12 senses- so why not include the espresso in the rosas e xocolat breakfast ? And maybe jut because i LOVE pink especially when it's so elegantly put together with chocolatebrown- how about adding a few pink,rosy cushions to your lounge area ? just to make it a bit more cosy..... these are only tiny details and most of all I would like to thank my mother in law for inviting us to this faboulous place and to Rosas e Xocolate for treating us so well.Hope to be back one day - Helene Schjerbeck & co

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

What can we say about this hotel? We never wanted to leave the room. The outdoor bathtub/shower was simply decadent. We found ourselves trying to make excuses to take extra showers or baths every day. The architecture of the hotel is a beautiful blend of contemporary and Spanish Colonial.

Carol is a fantastic host and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was quite good, and the service was attentive without being "in your face."

We would gladly return here should we have a chance to stay in Merida again.

Note: the hotel is in the "nicer" part of the Centro district, the Paseo Montejo, the street of the grand mansions. The main cluster of tourist activity is much closer to the Plaza Grande, an easy ten minute walk away. We preferred to be here enjoying the relative quiet, and stroll in the mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PleasantP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We came for Christmas week with our two children- ages 26&28- for four nights. Our Rosas suite with a large balcony and wonderful couch was lovely to sit on in early evening. Our outdoor enclosed bathtub was heavenly- bed was comfortable- and the free breakfast is four courses and amazing!! The restaurant is first class- and the upstairs roof bar is magical. Everyone is so nice and helpful- and the chocolate spa treatment was beyond belief!! Amazing gym for such a small boutique hotel.... But the best part is the designoif this place- stunning- art, furniture, angles- a treat for the eyes and heart.. We booked this only from photos on Internet- it was just as represented- and better! On a great street and 15 minute walk to main square.

Room Tip: Our children had a standard room which was roomy and lovely with a separate sitting area right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 424Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#16 of 103 in Merida
1,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Merida
#3 Business Hotel in Merida
#4 Spa Hotel in Merida
#10 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#13 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of colonial Merida, on the shaded avenue of Paseo de Montejo, the elegant facade of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel glows pink: a beacon to luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosas And Xocolate Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing