We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise in a Mexican twn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We found out this hotel thanks to local people and stayed only one night, I would have stayed there for a week!!! EVERYTHING PERFECT, the hotel staff pampered us all the time. Beautiful and spacious rooms, very well decorared and with all the conforts. The external bathtub wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuffMuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were enchanted by this property with it's lovely architectural design and decoration. The staff was amazing and the location was good (along the colonial mansions of Paseo Montejo and a couple of blocks to the start of the downtown area). Room # 5 was huge which they set-up for us with a king size bed along with a twin on the side for our 6 year old daughter. The bedding was soft and very comfortable. The bathroom was amazing with the separate outdoor tub/shower as well as the dual sinks and interior shower. Wi-fi was included as well as breakfast which offered eggs, fresh everything: baked breads, juice, fruit and coffee. The pool outside our door was another plus to the interior decor. My daughter loved the fish ponds. There was nice music playing throughout the hotel but it was never too loud and we did not have any issues with being so near the reception area. I highly recommend this place and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room #5 is next to reception and pool area, but still quiet and very large with a separate outdoor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful, the room was spacious with an indoor shower and an outdoor bathtub. We loved the restaurant (we had the prix fixe dinner). The best part was that when we ordered room service the second night (after the aforementioned dinner), the food quality was the same and even plated similarly. The folks at the front desk were really helpful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveghee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great hotel, very quaint and yet sophisticated. Loved the shower/outdoor tub combination... great idea! ... and the air conditioning actually works! Good bed although it creaks and sounds... free internet, good breakfast... what else can you ask for? ... well, a bit noisy (room 7) since it's next to the rooftop bar!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We had 4 nights at Rosas y Xocolate. The position of the hotel and its design and decor are excellent. We had a problem with our room on the first night as the aircon was too strong and noisy. The management eventually moved us the next day and we were happy with our second room. Great bathrooms and facilities. The pool area is very small but works. Noise from the bar was evident but did not spoil our stay - the roof top bar is a great place for drinks. I would have loved to give this beautiful hotel 5 stars but I can't. It charges at a high level so needs to perform at that level. Breakfast was inconsistent and not that good compared to other hotels we have stayed in in Mexico. Generally the staff were inconsistent. Some excellent and some not really knowing what they were doing. One example - being out all day at the sights and coming back at 3.30pm to find our room had not been cleaned. We then could not use our room for 30 mins while it was cleaned. Petty but very annoying at the time.
Overall, this appears to be the best in Merida and it is a great place to stay. I hope they push forwards on the individual and detailed service required in small expensive boutique hotels such as this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCH857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

LOVED the public spaces of this beautifully remodelled and restored historical mansion. The outdoor courtyard of the restaurant is particularly lovely -- and the quality of the food was excellent. The quality of the free included breakfast was far superior to a typical continental breakfast, and dinner was great too. The concept of this hotel cannot be beat.

There were a few minor downsides. 1) The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the center of town, which would not normally be a problem, but the weather was over 100 degrees each day we were in Merida so that walk felt far and we wished we were a bit closer to the action. 2) Our room (#10) felt dark and had no windows that would open. Perhaps we should have splurged for a more expensive room -- but I don't think we had the cheapest room and it still felt a bit depressing to sit there during the day. The AC was also a bit troublesome -- the temperature would vacilate between very hot and very cold (when the AC would kick on) as opposed to a more constant temperature. This made it difficult to sleep because we were constantly throwing off covers when the room would heat up and then grabbing for them when the AC would pop on.

Room Tip: Room #10 felt dark and lacked a private outdoor space (aside from the outdoor bath).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiobhanS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

R&X is a superb choice for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Gourmet food at affordable prices and relaxing environment. We were greeted by the owner and all we had to say were good things.
They also have a few rooms in their boutique hotel. I want to go back and stay for a few days in order to enjoy it for a longer time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gabrolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique bythe Museo
Boutique bythe Museo
#18 of 104 in Merida
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Merida
#6 Spa Hotel in Merida
#13 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#15 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £179 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of colonial Merida, on the shaded avenue of Paseo de Montejo, the elegant facade of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel glows pink: a beacon to luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosas And Xocolate Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing