We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be the best hotel in Merida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is really an amazing hotel. A stylish conversion of an old house, with wonderful rooms. For example, our room (no 2) had a bath which was open air, but completely private. You just lay on your back and looked up 3 stories to the wonderful blue sky. And the water flowed in from a shoot above head height. We even used it as a shower. It has a nice lap pool, which we used regularly. And don't miss the restaurant, which is really excellent. We had the tasting menu which had all sorts of interesting dishes. Breakfast outside in the courtyard. Cocktails upstairs on the roof terrace. I'm so glad we stayed here, and this hotel really ought to be one of the top ranked on TA.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great, but I think they are probably all stylish in different ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Everything is superb, the hotel is really small, our room was perfect, because the windows were to a back street, so there was no noise, since a lot are on Paseo de Montejo avenue. Room # 3. The bed is sublime, as is the shower. The bath tub has great design but is a little unpractical.
The best thing was the Restaurant; wowow I had not have a breakfast like this in a long time.
Had the "motuleños" eggs, my husband had the chik chile filled with scrambled eggs on a black bean sauce, delicious, the next day we had the apple french toast. chipotle chilaquiles and enchiladas. everything with a chaya, cucumber and lime water.
We didn't have a chance to try the dinner menu, that's why we must go back
Try the spa also, great massages

Room Tip: inside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEUGGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I live in Merida and have been hearing about the hotel spa and restaurant for some time now. So I went on my Birthday. The dining room looked beautiful. But decided to sit in the garden patio. We ordered a surf and turf (shrimp and veal) with a mole sauce. The Salad was interesting with Strawberries. The main course was present well, but found the mole sauce with out flavor and the veal under cooked. When it came to desert the waiter returned and said you ordered the brownie instead of saying they where out of the cream de brulee that I had ordered.
since then I have talked to other ex-pats living here and they have all said their last dinners at Rosas and Xocolate was not like the first time they went. The ambiance was great but you can not eat the ambiance.
Will have to wait until some one tells me they have a new chef or that thing have improved.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful boutique hotel in Merida. Everything was just perfect. The restaurant was excellent, the spa was wonderful, the rooms-luxurious! Our host, Mr. Kolozs, was warm and accommodating. A truly wonderful stay from start to finish!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandees5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We found out this hotel thanks to local people and stayed only one night, I would have stayed there for a week!!! EVERYTHING PERFECT, the hotel staff pampered us all the time. Beautiful and spacious rooms, very well decorared and with all the conforts. The external bathtub wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuffMuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were enchanted by this property with it's lovely architectural design and decoration. The staff was amazing and the location was good (along the colonial mansions of Paseo Montejo and a couple of blocks to the start of the downtown area). Room # 5 was huge which they set-up for us with a king size bed along with a twin on the side for our 6 year old daughter. The bedding was soft and very comfortable. The bathroom was amazing with the separate outdoor tub/shower as well as the dual sinks and interior shower. Wi-fi was included as well as breakfast which offered eggs, fresh everything: baked breads, juice, fruit and coffee. The pool outside our door was another plus to the interior decor. My daughter loved the fish ponds. There was nice music playing throughout the hotel but it was never too loud and we did not have any issues with being so near the reception area. I highly recommend this place and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room #5 is next to reception and pool area, but still quiet and very large with a separate outdoor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful, the room was spacious with an indoor shower and an outdoor bathtub. We loved the restaurant (we had the prix fixe dinner). The best part was that when we ordered room service the second night (after the aforementioned dinner), the food quality was the same and even plated similarly. The folks at the front desk were really helpful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveghee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique bythe Museo
Boutique bythe Museo
#16 of 104 in Merida
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Merida
#7 Spa Hotel in Merida
#13 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#16 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £177 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of colonial Merida, on the shaded avenue of Paseo de Montejo, the elegant facade of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel glows pink: a beacon to luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosas And Xocolate Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing