We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very special experience”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Following an exhausting trip from New York, I arrived here at about 8 pm for a seven night stay and was warmly welcomed. My first impression was that the hotel was rather dark, but this quickly turned to a deep appreciation for an amazing (and romantic) ambiance throughout the facility.

The generous size of my room was enhanced by the very high ceilings, with efficient air conditioning that I could control and an extremely comfortable bed. Although I did not patronize the downstairs or rooftop bars, they were both appealing and offered lovely environments.

The restaurant was truly exceptional; it is attractive and I tried much of the menu during my stay, finding nearly all offerings to be both especially delicious and well thought out. The service was almost always remarkably solicitous and warm. Although It is true that the food took a while to come out, I find it indicative of the quality of the preparation and appreciate dining as a special occasion, rather than just eating something quickly. In the mornings I sometimes breakfasted in the atrium area, which would get too warm for me later in the day but is a pretty setting with its trees.

I did not have an opportunity to use the spa, but did enjoy a couple of swims in the pool, which, again, is in a remarkably enjoyable environment. The last night of my stay, I used the "soaking tub" in my room with its open view of the sky...

The hotel is conveniently located close to the center of Merida, and I enjoyed several walks in the area. Merida is not only beautiful but notably safe, and the owner has done a great service to the city by renovating two abandoned houses and creating this amazing hotel. It is a testimony to his creation that the longer I stayed, the more I enjoyed and appreciated this beautiful place - and I would be delighted to stay there again! The only drawback I found is that direct dial telephone service into and out of the hotel appears not to be an option, although the wifi signal was excellent.

In the interest of full disclosure: my room and most of my meals were comped by the owner, in support of the local symphony orchestra which engaged me as its soloist. However, over the course of many years I have never stayed in a hotel - especially for this number of nights - where I felt so at ease and happy in the environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    46
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
67
139
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Surroundings are important and those at R&X do not disappoint with a gorgeous color palate, beautiful rooms, lovely common areas, and a great outdoor bar, however, it's service that sets apart one fine hotel over another and the service at R&X is exemplary. From the moment of arrival the staff was warm and attentive and the eye for detail was apparent. Adrian and his team truly excel at creating a welcoming environment. The owner Carol is always around to ensure all is well which is much appreciated. The number of repeat guests is a testament to their level of service. The gorgeous hotel is just a bonus. I will undoubtedly return.

Room Tip: Number 9 is simply amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gensnimica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This review is a bit delayed, but better late than never. This hotel is absolutely beautiful from the moment you arrive outside. Every inch of it has been thought out from the way the staircases reflect light to the locally sourced braided rope hanging form the ceilings.

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and showers amazing. The little outdoor bathtub was a bonus as well.

The pool was impressive and I loved the emblem tiled into it.

The restaurant was fantastic. The service top notch, presentation impeccable and taste superb. I would highly recommend the food and would absolutely say it was the best meal I had in Merida.

Thank you very much to the owner Carol and all of his staff to making my stay as memorable as it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikobrrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

It is ok, if you are willing to beg for a place at the tight spa agenda. Even tough there are few rooms, it apears they dont take in consideration if one is staying at the hotel, there is no special treatment as a boutique hotel should have, ans the air conditioning is too harsh at sleeping time.

Everything else seems quite alright.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Monrod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol K, Owner at Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I would agree with this lady, hotel guest must have priority in our SPA and I can assure you it is part of the policies of our organization, I would never allow one of our guest not to be attended, however, one must understand that at times exists physical limitations and to that end one must exercise flexibility. During season, thank goodness, we get quite busy and to that end one must book in advance. I am truly sorry we were not able to accommodate this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at Rosas & Xocolate last week.
I absolutely adore this place. I went to Merida on a business trip, but I wanted to take the opportunity of going to such an amazing city and stay in a great place. So I found this hotel here on tripadvisor, I loved the photos so I made a reservation, and I was ready to stay in a nice place.
I was blown away!!! The service was incredible, the hotel was beyond my expectations, the decoration, style, food, everything it is so tasteful, amazing style.... I have never been in such a great boutique hotel in Mexico, the location was great.

I am so happy I decided to stay there. Now I want to come back with my husband and have a couple weekend in Merida staying at Rosas & Xocolate, I really need to go back and enjoy the hotel much more.

I am Mexican and I am very careful of the places I stay when I visit my country, I don't like to stay at the corporate, chain hotels, specially when I can have the opportunity to go to cities like Mérida. This hotel reflects a very nice classy, modern Mexican style, the owner totally enhance Mexican style with taste.

I am definitely coming back soon. I recommend this hotel to all international and national travelers. You will enjoy it ; )

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giopali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Perfect location close to the center of the city. Extremely polite staff. Clean, comfortable room serviced daily with a big space. They pay attention to each and every detail wherever you are within the hotel. The food is great indeed. SPA is terrific. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and next time no doubts will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have not stayed at this hotel but it is always a destination when I visit Merida. I never pass up the chance to dine in the beautiful restaurant and recently I had a wonderful time listening to jazz at the Moon Patio. The staff is always gracias and the owner welcoming. Stop in for a drink and stay for a meal.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#17 of 103 in Merida
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Merida
#3 Spa Hotel in Merida
#3 Business Hotel in Merida
#8 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#13 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of colonial Merida, on the shaded avenue of Paseo de Montejo, the elegant facade of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel glows pink: a beacon to luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosas And Xocolate Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing