We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Continental
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel is at a very noisy street, you can not open the windows. The rooms are dark, no real daylight. They are modern but impersonal. It seems more like a business hotel.
The area is ok, you have to walk 15 to 20 minutes to the city center. The sidewalk is very small. In the daytime, the streets are very busy and it is not really safe to walk there. In the night, the streets are abandoned and dark.
The breakfast is ok, but there is less choice when the hotel is not fully booked. Then you have to go to the kitchen and order everything you want in Spanish.
The front desk staff is friendly, all of them speak English - more or less. The trips you can book over them can turn out as a fully loaded mini bus and a Spanish speaking tour guide who explains everything shortly in English. That's not what the hotel promised.
If you complain over something you already paid, they do not answer the complaint.
All in all I would go to another hotel next time. Maybe nearer to the city center where many hotels are located.

Room Tip: The junior suite is not worth its price, the superior room is better and cheaper. Maybe it's les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    43
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
49
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Casa Continental in Merida is a very nice hotel for the price. I stayed for six nights in December; the first night, however was not very restful due to the noise on the street below. My room was on the second floor and faced the street; while it would be nice to get some natural light in the room, it was too noisy for me. They were very accommodating and moved me to a first floor room on the opposite side of the hotel the next morning, which was much quieter. If you are looking for amenities that you’d find in a four or five star hotel, you should probably stay somewhere else. But for the price this hotel was great. The water pressure was very strong with plenty of hot water. The room was quite comfortable and clean, and the room safe worked well. The location is good; just a few blocks from the Anthropology and History Museum, with plenty of stores and restaurants within easy walking distance. It’s about a 10-15 minute walk to the Zocalo. The hotel staff is wonderful. Very friendly, and helpful. The bed was a little hard for me- if I were going to stay longer, I may have considered investing in an inexpensive feather bed. All in all, very nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Modern, clean and efficient place. We were really happy with the service, really friendly and attentive. We liked the room, the location... Well, just about everything. The only thing that was perhaps a bit of an annoyance was the noise - street noise from windows facing the street and some very noisy people staying downstairs, talking and laughing loudly in the lobby. This wouldn't normally be a problem but some windows are facing the lobby indoors and the noise was quite loud. But that's really not the hotel's fault.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Applefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel a few blocks away from downtown. The place was modern enough and rooms were clean. The staff was very informative and spoke good English. We bought street food back one night and asked for utensils and plate. The staff lent us the stuffs from the kitchen, also let us heat some food up with the microwave. There was no refrigerator in the kitchen but we were allowed to keep our drinks in the hotel kitchen. There is a free parking lot although it was almost a block away, but no big deal. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good. Overall, great value, I would stay again if I ever return to Merida.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetcraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We only stayed 3 nights there but could not fault it. The place was clean and cheap for what was on offer. I would go back there on my next trip. We found it a very good location to visit Uxmal, Celestun and other places.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We spent 2 weeks, 10/10 to 10/24/2012, at Casa Continental and found it to be an outstanding value. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The facility is kept clean. The price is reasonable. Desk staff command of English and ability to clarify directions was great. We would definitly plan to return to this hotel when we return to Merida.

The location of the hotel make for a convenient walk to the Plaza and all of the events and services available there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonhomeu
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Went to Mexico on vacation for just over a week and we rented a car and traveled around visiting Merida, Playa del Carmen, Tulum and Akumal. This was the cheapest of our hotels and by far the best! We stayed for 3 nights so we could visit Uxmal, Celestun and Izamal (as well as Merida). The desk manager was very helpful, every day explaining to us how to drive to wherever we wanted to go. He also helped us with our bags, and recommended we stay in one of the downstairs rooms so we wouldn't hear street traffic noise. Breakfast was delicious, the shower was amazing, the room was modern, clean and perfect, the tv had lots of great channels (for what little time we were in our room), and it is just a lovely little place. It was really great to have internet in the room; we never had it in our room in the other places we stayed. Food was missing at breakfast so I'm guessing other people were staying there too, but we only saw one other couple - once. It was very quiet and peaceful and cute. There is free parking across the street, a cantina with good music, cheap drinks and good food also across the street, and the location is a pretty short walk to the main plaza of Merida (Plaza Grande) and even closer to the fancy, main street of Merida. On Saturday night there was live music and dancing just a block away with amazing street food, and Sunday night the Plaza Grande also had tons of people, vendors, live music, etc. The hotel was convenient to both. I loved this place!! If I go back to Merida I will definitely stay here again. It's a cute little hotel with awesome service and for the price and location, I don't think you can beat it!

Room Tip: Downstairs will be quieter I believe. We couldn't hear the street traffic noise in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonhomeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#45 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#39 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#51 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#22 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Continental

Property: Hotel Casa Continental
Address: C.47 #480 x 56 Centro. | A Unos Pasos Del Remate de Montejo, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Continental is a small hotel ideally located near to the downtown of Merida and Remate de Paseo Montejo. We have 9 rooms with exclusive details and all the services that you need during your stay in Merida. We have continental breakfast, Internet wireless, Local calls and 01800 for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing