We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise”
Review of Luna Nueva Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Nueva Hostel
Ranked #21 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Merida
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was very surprised what kind of hostel could Merida hide :-) Centrally located, close to both sides of Merida (cathedral and promenade), helpful staff and very friendly. Well, you have to speak spanish because knowledge of english is limited.... Extremely hot in the dorm. I was dying but they supplied with 2 more fens after all. The place is simple, but you will enjoy it. Lounge area is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lunanuevahostel, Propietario at Luna Nueva Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por el comentario, seguiremos trabajando para ofrecerles un mejor servicio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent four nights at the Luna Neuva. It was a bit of a walk from two of Merida's three bus stations (15 to 20 city blocks). The staff was friendly, but only one of them really seemed to speak or understand English. We managed, but just a heads-up if you have zero Spanish. It's an easy walk to the centre of Merida (8 blocks) and you should really consider visiting the area around the hostel: restaurants, little shops, a food court, the anthropology museum is not too far away. On Saturday night, there was Mexican music and dancing and a market in the park on the street outside the hostel. We had a private room that didn't have any windows to the outside (there was a window to the hallways) and the air was a bit stuffy: It took four days for our laundry to dry. Two single beds we pushed together for a double. There was air conditioning and TV, if you want either, but no safe or locker. The hostel was clean and well kept. Some days, no hot water in our ensuite bathroom. And, the walls are thin: I could hear the guy in the next room breathe, not snore, but breathe. Something to note is that the dorms were co-ed. While we were in Merida is rained cats, dogs and elephants: the skylights in the stairwell leaked. If you want something uber fancy, try the enchanting boutique hotel across the street (but I think it was $300US/night).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street had a window/shallow balcony. Maybe fresher air, but noise from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10flags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Actually we were booking a room over booking.com. All different roomtypes were listed there and we chose a twinroom with seating area, windows to the outside, fan and AC for 800 pesos. When we arrived in the morning we were given a smelly little room with no window, AC and no seating area for the same price!. Unfortunately my spanish is very bad and I ended up early discussing with the guy at the reception because he didn't understand me and i didn't understand him completely but fact was that there was no real explanation to it. I showed him my booking confirmation with the room and the price and he just told me that the room was already given away! Then he showed us another room with all the facilities we had booked and suddenly wanted 1200 pesos for it! So we stayed in our little cramped room and realized during the night that it was not our backpacks smelling so bad (even after one month travelling) but that it were the matresses! Mine was very bad smelling of urine and the other one of everything else. They were even very old and worn out and it were maybe the cheapest you could get, you felt every bedspring, and the beds in the doorms were of the same kind! The heat of the room made the smell even worse and i was so disgusted that I went sick and spent the whole night in the common room. We booked two nights but already left after this one terrible night without asking our money back. We just wanted to leave that disgusting room! And as the hostel personal didn't speak anyrting else than spanish there was no way to talk this out. Interesting was that on the day we checked in, another couple after us seemed to have the same issue and went with the guy at the reception from room to room also complaining. This is even no real hostel, no soul, no common life, no kitchen, smelly, dumpy, full of moskitoes, not well managed; avoid it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Luna nueva appears to be trying to offer hostel facilities with a touch of hotel luxury but kinda ends up doing neither. It's in a good location, it's clean and there's not much wrong with it. But there's also not much right with it either as if it's personality or ambiance has been whitewashed out of it.

To be fair, we were the only ones there so it felt devoid of soul or atmosphere. Perhaps, we may have seen it in a better light at a different time.

PROS
Location
Night market right outside on Saturdays
Clean

CONS
No atmosphere
Private twin room has no windows
No real common area
No real kitchen - had a microwave and kettle though
Free breakfast was basically 7-11 bread and coffee with powdered milk

Would we stay here again? No

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank yorkie98Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This place feels like a bit of a trick, like they'll be some hidden fees, but there aren't. It's 400 pesos for a clean, hotel standard, double room with satellite tv, aircon and the nicest shower I have had in over three months of Central American hostels.
It's not really a hostel it's a hotel that had a massive space made into a dorm. I think it is absolutely perfect for couples or anyone that wants a night of luxury for cheaper than the other hostels I have seen in Merida. But it is not great for socialising and it didn't seem possible to get much tourist info here.
It's in a nice square, there's a little cafe downstairs, bars opposite and there was a market outside the weekend we were there. Definite 5/5 for 400 pesos.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaaikePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival to Luna Nueva you're initial impression would be that you'd arrived at a hotel and very nice one too. This is then the recurring theme as I entered my room.
I had a private room which has private bathroom. We opted for one of the smaller rooms upstairs because they were slightly cheaper than the extravagant four poster bed in the groundfloor room we were shown. This certainly didn't mean it was any less good. The room had a/c which was a bonus I hadn't expected for the excellent value of 400 pesos and satellite tv. It was very clean and had the appearance of a modern hotelroom. The bed was very comfortable too.
The bathroom was very impressive, it was modern in style which I liked, super clean and appeared to be recently fitted. The shower was excellent, a nice large showerhead and always warm.
The rest of the hostel is also very nice, the downstairs has a small cafe served food that looked tasty. The setting of the hostel in a small square at the base of the main boulevard of Merida is both picturesque and convenient.
Overall this is an excellent value, budget choice that is both ideally situated and luxurious.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucasGR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This little hotel run by two brothers Jose and Victor was a delightful surprise. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bathroom and towels fragrant smelling.
This is location, location, right on Paseo de Montejo (Champs-Élysées) of Merida. The free concerts on Friday and Saturday nights are right ay your doorstep. Walking distance to the grand plaza, and Starbucks for your daily shot if Java.
I will return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panicale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#15 of 106 in Merida
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#44 of 106 in Merida
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#59 of 106 in Merida
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomadas Hostel
Nomadas Hostel
#2 of 77 in Merida
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Zocalo
Hostal Zocalo
#1 of 77 in Merida
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Nueva Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Nueva Hostel

Address: Calle 49 no. 487 x 56 A | Col. Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Merida
Price Range: £11 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Nueva has the following ammenities to make your stay more comfortable: Front Desk, A small cafe where you’ll find deli sandwiches, snacks, desserts, and hot and cold drinks. The cafeteria has a microwave and a coffee maker, 2 computers with high speed internet access. Luna Nueva has 1 shared rooms with fans. These rooms have 7 bunk beds each, and each bed has its own locker with a key to guard your personal belongings. Men’s and Ladies restrooms, showers with hot and cold water. 3 double rooms with 1 full size bed, 2 double room with 2 individual beds ad 1 double room with king size. Each double room has a private bathroom, closet, air conditioning and a fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Luna Nueva Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing