We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Alternative”
Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Medio Mundo
Ranked #5 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Alternative”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Three years ago we stayed at Hotel Julamis and concluded that it fully deserved its #1 rating in Merida. This year we wanted to go back but they were fully booked. With some trepidation we decided on Hotel Medio Mundo. Our fears were unfounded and it is now our joint #1. It is perhaps $10 per night more expensive but well worth it. The room we had was larger and better appointed than at Julamis. The courtyard and gardens were more extensive. Medio Mundo is closer to the main square, but further from the Paseo. The breakfast was every bit as good as at the Julamis, and Nelson the host provided early day entertainment and advice. You would not be disappointed with either hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    63
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
174
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Located within walking distance to Centro Merida, the hotel has a tranquil courtyard, tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean with no distractions, i.e. television, radio, telephone. The breakfast is ample and tasty. Wi-Fi only available in courtyard. The staff were cheerful and helpful. Nelson, the owner, is the most-interesting-man-in-the-world. The rates are reasonable. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is not needed in January. Room 5 is located adjacent to a pleasant fountain. The fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delasolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yemanja, Owner at Hotel Medio Mundo, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us in Trip Advisor. We now have WiFi available in our guest rooms as well as the common areas. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Can't really add too much to the other positive reviews. Would definitely stay here again. The only comment I would make is that when they say on the website that there is wi-fi in the common areas, that is true and there really isn't wi-fi in the rooms. We were able to pick up signal in our bathroom with the door open. This turned out to be a problem for us as we needed to make several Skype calls home due to a illness and they needed to be make in the public areas which was uncomfortable for us and disruptive to other guests in their rooms as the rooms while visually private have many windows that need to stay open to keep the air flow moving, so when you are in your room, you can hear whatever is being said in the hallways. So, if you anticipate needing private internet time or phone calls, this might not be the right place for you. Guests were all very respectful of the desire to make this a quiet oasis in an otherwise busy city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yemanja, Owner at Hotel Medio Mundo, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us in Trip Advisor. We now have WiFi available in our guest rooms as well as the common areas. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Agree with all the reviews, fab little place close to the centre, an easy walk into the town. We had a hire car which we could park right outside the hotel on the street.

Staff were great, rooms comfy and the court yards a delight.

Very good breakfast and they actually had english breakfast tea which is rare for Mexico

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FergalOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The beds were
comfy and the linens were fabulous!! Such a treat to stay here. The breakfast was terriffic, fresh fruits, coffee local cheeses and breads, served by the pool.
Internet was available at poolside.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hotel Medio Mundo continues to be an oasis just a few blocks from the center of Merida. The rooms are clean, quiet, and large, some with A/C if needed. The small pool is refreshing. The staff is friendly and helpful, as are the owner's Nicole and Nelson. The breakfast is set up in the courtyard and includes coffee, fresh juice, fresh fruit, slices of cheese, yogurt, fresh cut bread and rolls.

Room Tip: Any room, up or down, is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireandtravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is about six blocks from the Plaza Grande. The breakfast was wonderful, consisting of yogurt, fruit, juice, breads, cheeses. We didn't get to the cold cuts because we were too full. The rooms are large. Ours has a separate dressing area and a huge shower and air conditioning. Jose, the manager, is very helpful and speaks great English. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nekko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Property: Hotel Medio Mundo
Address: Calle 64 Y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Medio Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing