We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hacienda style hotel and great location!”
Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Medio Mundo
Ranked #4 of 85 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is a small hotel in the old center of Merida. Very clean, quiet, and convenient to the old town. Here is the low down:

Location: ~3 blocks from the main center (old city catherdral). Parking is mainly street parking but there is a private lot nearby. Tons of great restaurants nearby.

Hotel: See my photos. The hotel looks great. It was like a little oasis and very quiet! The hotel is 2 stories and surrounds 2 courtyards (1 for the pool and 1 for the garden/fountain). The rooms were clean, well decorated, and comfy. They seemed paranoid that I would bring "a friend" home for the night (I'm never that lucky!) and their policy was no non-guests allowed after 10 pm. Breakfast is provided by the pool each morning (great fruit salad!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had occasion to stay at the Hotel Medio Mundo at the beginning and end of our visit to the Yucatan. We have stayed at several other good small hotels in past years but we liked the Medio Mundo the best.

- We arrived very late in the evening and were met by a friendly, helpful man.
- Like most hotels in Merida the exterior doors are well secured and monitored by the staff.
-The courtyards and swimming pool areas are beautiful with the rippling water just perfect for sound (but not overwhelming).
-There are two floors with rooms around the main courtyard. They are well appointed with queen and king beds, good linens, ceiling fans, commodious bathrooms and appropriate furniture.
- Everything was immaculately clean!!!
- The included breakfast in the morning around the swimming pool is a delight. Yogurt, fresh fruit and juice, wonderful breads and sweet rolls, cheese, coffee, tea etc.
- Every single person working at the Medio Mundo was wonderful, friendly,and helpful.
- There is a very good gift shop in the hotel with an excellent selection of Mexican items from shawls to jewelry.
- Owners Nelson and Nicole spent over two years completely renovating this hotel and have a wonderful book of pictures showing the transformation. They have done an excellent job of restoring a true, now modern, Mexican accommodation.

Very early the morning we left Nelson escorted us to the taxi. We said we had really enjoyed our stay at his hotel and he responded the he would be even happier to know that our whole time in Mexico was enjoyable. It was, but what a kind sentiment for him to express.

I am glad to say we have found our favorite hotel in Merida - The Medio Mundo.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so baggage must be carried upstairs to the second floor. There was always staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cowgirlinwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We just returned from a historical and cultural exploration of Chiapas and Yucatan. This beautifully restored colonial hotel is a treasure. The genuine hospitality, service and friendliness combined with the decor, the gardens and breakfast made our stay exceptional. We want to go back!

We chuckled at a previous comment about the friendly men around the main square. We had a similar experience. We were able to barter for reasonable prices close to what we had paid in the market in San Cristobal.

Room Tip: We were concerned about not being able to get an air conditioned room but were very comfortable with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderingGrandparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is the sort of place we love. When my wife and I travel, we look for places that are centrally located, safe, clean and fairly priced. That's the least we'll accept. When we find something that fits that that is also "special", we're very pleased. Medio Mundo is special. For one thing it's beautiful. They got that "hacienda courtyard" look exactly right. Our rooms were large, comfortable and lovely. Breakfast was simple but delicious and served in a wonderful garden/pool area. The staff was great. The owner was knowledgeable, friendly and funny.
The location was good - about six blocks from the main square.
One sure sign a place is good is that there is only one negative review here - AND it's from 2007 - AND it sounds like it was written by someone who would have been happier in a Holiday Inn. Nothing wrong with Holiday Inn, but a Holiday Inn this is not. This is a Mexican inn. Lovingly run and cared for. We loved it. LOVED it.
No tv. No phone. Small pool (for cooling off more than swimming). There's even a roof top lounge chair area if you want to work on your tan. I don't know if we'll ever get back to Merida, but if we do, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.
By the way, there were six of us (three rooms) for three nights. Our ages run from 14 to 65 and we ALL thought the place was great (even the 14 year old).
One thing we like about Mexico is that you'll be walking along those narrow sidewalks, you'll find a place on a nondescript street, you open the door and go inside, and then it's "Wow". That's Medio Mundo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gearheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hotel was great, and the staff are exceptional. The rooms are very tastefully decorated in a renovated colonial mansion with lots of character. The courtyard is gorgeous and the backyard is a great place to relax. Breakfast of fresh fruit and artisan breads and cheeses was delicious (though a little repetitive over a longer stay). Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mcloopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is my first review on trip advisor after using the service for years. My family and I found Hotel Medio Mundo to be one of the nicest places we have stayed anywhere. It's not a fancy luxury hotel but is a beautiful small hotel with rooms surrounding a tranquil garden courtyard with a fountain. The staff was excellent - one of the friendliest and most helpful staffs we have experienced in any of the accommodations in which we have stayed anywhere. The owner is also very friendly and fun to talk to. The rooms are large, simple, and tasteful, painted in beautiful colors with no awful hotel art, and the bathrooms and showers are huge. The beds are comfortable with very handsome Guatemalan bedspreads. A delicious breakfast of fresh squeezed juice, coffe/tea, big bowls of fresh fruit and yogurt and breads is served in a quiet and beautiful courtyard with a small swimming pool. There is also a small roof terrace on the second floor. We opted for a room without air conditioning (somethat cheaper) and in December/January this was fine with the ceiling fan - you might want air in the summer. We were on the first floor - the rooms on the second floor seemed like they might be a little brighter and airier but we weren't inside one. We also rented one of the parking spaces a couple of blocks from the hotel and that was very convenient. The location is excellent - on a quiet block just a few minutes walk from the main square. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

*A couple of tips about avoiding getting ripped off in Merida - we (American family of four - obviously tourists, first time in Mexico) were approached a number of times on streets near the main square by very friendly men who would ask us where we were from, welcome us to Merida, tell us a little about the city, engage in small talk, and then casually recommend a place to shop or eat. At first we were charmed by the friendly welcome but quickly realized, after visiting one of the recommended shops, that they were working with the businesses to lure in customers. They would typically say the shop had authentic Yucatan-made items and was closing in an hour or two for the next few days. The one recommended shop we went to, Yakun Maya on Calle 62 just north of the main square, did indeed have great hammocks, Panama hats, etc. but they tried to charge us a fortune for them, way more than we would pay for comparable items at any other place (the story about the shop closing was false - the shop stayed open the rest of the five days we were there - no doubt said in hopes to make us quick to buy something).
They also told us the hammocks were very special because they were made of sisal, claiming it was better than cotton or nylon, could be kept outside indefinitely, had pest-repelling properties, etc. We were told this same story by almost every shop or street vendor who sold hammocks and it is a complete lie - when I researched "sisal" hammocks I found out that it is for some reason a common fraudulent claim - Yucatan hammocks are only made of cotton or nylon, and if for some reason a hammock were made of sisal (highly unlikely) it would be very rough/scratchy.

Otherwise we had a wonderful time during our five days in Merida!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor - the rooms on the second floor seemed like they might be a little bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheilaMoloney451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Three years ago we stayed at Hotel Julamis and concluded that it fully deserved its #1 rating in Merida. This year we wanted to go back but they were fully booked. With some trepidation we decided on Hotel Medio Mundo. Our fears were unfounded and it is now our joint #1. It is perhaps $10 per night more expensive but well worth it. The room we had was larger and better appointed than at Julamis. The courtyard and gardens were more extensive. Medio Mundo is closer to the main square, but further from the Paseo. The breakfast was every bit as good as at the Julamis, and Nelson the host provided early day entertainment and advice. You would not be disappointed with either hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 105 in Merida
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#16 of 105 in Merida
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#20 of 105 in Merida
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 85 in Merida
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Address: Calle 64 Y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £58 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Medio Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing