We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Awesome! and every other great adjective!”
Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Medio Mundo
Ranked #4 of 85 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I loved everything about Medio Mundo, from the beautiful intense blue wall colors to the art, gorgeous gardens, hearty breakfasts, and peaceful atmosphere. The nights were cool (no need for air conditioning at all). It was great to sleep with the window shutters open and feel the breeze and hear the fountain in the garden below.

Big bathroom/dressing room with plenty of storage space and large shower. My window in the bathroom opened onto the top of an old mango tree. Nice chairs on the terrace to relax with a cup of coffee or tea.

The owners, Nelson and Nicole and their son, were friendly and helpful and made us feel like we were staying in the home of friends.

The inn is 4 easy walking blocks to the main plaza with Parque Santa Lucia only 2 blocks away where there are a couple of good restaurants -- La Trotto & Apoala at the park and Cafe Santa Lucia across the street. There's even a Dairy Queen, if you need an American ice cream, and a wonderful Mexican chocolate shop. On the weekends the park is filled with vendors and music.

About the ice cream -- you can't miss Helados Colon off the main plaza next to the Palacio de Gobierno. Terrific and unusual flavors at an ice cream shop that's been around for decades. Sit outside on the terrace and people watch.

There's WIFI in the room -- ours worked well. And there's a nice little shop in the front office. The items are of good quality and reasonable prices.

And best of all? The people are super friendly, helpful, and fun. I found this to be the case everywhere we went in Merida and Yucatan. Such a lovely part of the world. And Medio Mundo is a special experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: We liked our rooms in the back as the street may be a bit noisier. We were on the second floor, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I absolutely LOVED this hotel! It is a small, boutique hotel. I'm guessing about 12 rooms, on two floors. Like many small Mexican hotels like this, there is a heavy door to the street, which you can get in and out from with your key or the buzzer. For a solo woman traveler, this adds a great feeling of security!

There is an inner courtyard, filled with beautiful plants and a fountain. A second courtyard in the back has a small swimming pool, and is where they serve breakfast. Both are beautiful and peaceful!

The rooms are nice and clean, but basic. No tvs or phones that I can remember. But Merida is a wonderful city, so you probably won't spend a lot of time at the hotel during the day. The balcony outside if each room has a couple chairs where you can read a book and look out to the courtyard.

Breakfast is healthy, plentiful, and great.

At the front desk, Jose helped me extensively- provided maps, restaurant recommendations, bus ticket info, and helped me plan the next leg of my trip. He is easily one of the most helpful people I have EVER run across in any hotel, worldwide. Actually, every single person I ran across was wonderful, helpful, and kind.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Kukkajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. Not particularly cheap (nothing really is in that part of Mexico), but the interior design, atmosphere and cleanliness make up for it. One of the nicest places we stayed in Mexico. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imecsorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is our second time staying close to Centro and we were not deceived one bit with selecting Medio Mundo...we had room 8, the a/c was quiet, well functioning and the ceiling fan was mixing the cool air to just the right temperature. The central court and the rooms laid out hacienda style looked very inviting. The room offered good privacy, the ceilings are high. Our room had two beds, we used one to lay out one suitcase and the bathroom area had another spot for the second suitcase at knee level. During our two day stay we must've walked to Centro at least 3 times with ease and went to a Museum with our car that was parked in the lot provided by Medio Mundo with no problems. There is a lot of traffic but I never seen gridlock in the Yucatan cities...
breakfast was tasty, you can feel the personal touch of the owners and it was a very enjoyable way to start the day. Sitting near the pool, eating fine fruits, bread, cheese and pastry with a good coffee is what holidays are meant to be...I would highly recommend this place to anyone..

Room Tip: we had #8 , they said two queen beds but It's actually a Double Bed and a King...turned out bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucAlfred_Ont_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Medio Mundo
Lush patio, colorful walls, the sound of bubbling water fills the gardens, but
based on out experience in the cool month of December, avoid room six.

Bad:
We spent a sweaty night in room six. Overhead fan worked too slowly to refresh the air in our very stuffy room. Open windows meant no privacy so we were displayed to front patio and office and exposed to moderate traffic noise. There were two lawn chairs outside front our door facing the patio which could have been a pleasant place to sit had there been light and had they not been cheek by jowl with an exercise bike that management had provided for guest use--another privacy issue.
Room was spacious but spare. It could have used a chair and a luggage rack. When I asked the office I was told to put the luggage in the closet. The closet was too small; a carry on bag would fit but could not be opened. The bed or the floor were the only options.

Improving:
Next day owner introduced herself and enquired after our needs. She offered a chair and a supplementary fan which helped quite a bit. She also attended to a burned out light which had left the area outside our room in utter darkness. This is a nice place after all and now we were beginning to enjoy it.

The Good:
Continental breakfast was very good. The server was very friendly and and the poolside site very pleasant. The little bar at the pool was congenial in the evening so that if you wanted to meet your fellow guests you could. The gardens around the pool provided plenty of privacy for those who wanted it. The gardens in general were very pretty. The spiral stair to the second floor rooms was very colorful.
I have stayed elsewhere in Merida and paid a bit less for a more comfortable room. However I would definitely return to Medio Mundo provided that I could get a different room. We liked the staff and the grounds and the location, just a couple of blocks from Parque Santa Lucia. Use the common spaces.
After a very rough start we did enjoy our stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a review of the Medio Mundo gift shop, since I cannot find a separate listing for it on TripAdvisor. We did not stay in the hotel itself, although having seen the beautiful oasis of their courtyard, I wish we had chosen this hotel instead of the one we ended up at (that's what I get for making a reservation based on TripAdvisor ratings!).

We went to the Medio Mundo gift shop the second day we were in Mérida, and I bought a couple of very pretty pillow covers from Guatemala. Then we spent the next couple of days in the city, and stopped in at some artesánia shops. The last day, we returned to Medio Mundo because we liked what they had to offer better than anything we had seen in the other shops.

This shop is small but very well curated, and the service on both visits was friendly but never pushy. Note that the products here are not solely from the Yucatán; they are from all over Mexico and Guatemala. If you are looking for hammocks, huipiles, or guayaberas, there are plenty of other places in the city. There is some truly lovely artist pottery here, beautiful pillow covers, bedspreads, and other textiles, some fine wooden pieces, scarves, and jewelry. Prices are fair--these are not mass-produced souvenir tchotchkes--and there is a range of different items, so there is sure to be something at your price point.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank smallfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

On our five-day trip to Merida in November, I actually looked forward to coming "home" to this hotel. The owners strive for a relaxing environment and all the staff are more than gracious. I liked it all--the rooms, the bright colors, the fountain, the dining area, the gift shop. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room way from the street and had no problem sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RustyJohnsonCity_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 105 in Merida
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 105 in Merida
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 85 in Merida
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Piazzetta
Hotel La Piazzetta
#3 of 85 in Merida
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Address: Calle 64 Y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £58 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Medio Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing