We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in Yucatan!”
Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Medio Mundo
Ranked #4 of 88 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a great hotel! Very colourful and beautifully decorated, just 5-10 minutes walk to the main square. They offer parking, which is just two block away. The check-in was fast and friendly. Our room was large and pleasant. It was nice to wake up to a delicious breakfast in the beautiful lush and colourful yard. You just can not be in a bad mood in such a place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed only two nights there on our tour though Yucatan and I wish we would have stayed longer! The building's style is truly beautiful with flowers and colors everywhere, the rooms are very spacious and wonderfully decorated, and there are personal touches everywhere from the owner Nicole who by the way welcomed us almost like family members and gave us many useful tips about Merida and the trip we made to Uxmal! The location is perfect, just few blocks from the very trafficked plaza mayor, we didn't have any problem in finding a parking spot right in front, from there you can walk anywhere (it's very safe). Breakfast was included and delicious, the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetaG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Highly recommended, ideal Location nice atmosphere
Small Hotel, nice architecture with arches like in a real old house with two small interior gardens and a small pool (nice after a City walk)
Large rooms, large shower
Toilet seat disassembled itselb (we repaired ourselves)
Friendly staff, almost no English makes communication a nice experience if you do not speak Spanish. Staff as usual in Mexico is nice, however they are not very skilled and do not have a Memory, so tell them everytime again exactly what you want, do not expect that they memorize it for 5 minutes.
The Boss was so Kind and friendly and organized for us our favorite banana cake although they did not have it available on the 2nd day, so he went personally to a baker's shop nearby, nice Little extra experience.
Nice neighbourhoods, strall along the streets, look into the little Shops and find our Special experiences e.g. the puppet Player of Mexico, e.g. diagonal opposite the Hotel to the right is a small Restaurant (no signs) for local People etc.
And it is an easy 15 minutes walk from the Grand plaza.

Room Tip: Room at the end of the building with additional window to the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This B&B has a majority of its rooms on the SECOND floor ...up some steep steps...so if walking is a problem ....be sure And get in your written confirmation that you will get a ground floor room.

Next...not all the rooms have air conditioning....so again be sure to get in writing in your confirmation that your room will have air conditioning .....do not rely solely on A verbal promise over the phone if you call to make your reservation.

We found that unless what ever you have requested is in your WRITTEN CONFIRMATION...DO NOT NECESSARILY EXPECT YOUR NEEDS WILL BE MET.

Now as far as our one night stay...we found the facilities to be more than adequate, but not luxurious. The room was fairly large, good lighting, clean, with a large shower with lots of hot water.

The bathroom has the sink (with good lighting) separate from the rest of the bathroom, which makes it nicer.

There was a desk table and chair, two night stands both with good lights , but there was not two comfortable chairs to sit in in the room, although there was more than enough room for them.

The back patio and pool area area was very nice with plenty of tables and comfortable chairs.

The morning continental breakfast was served attractively on handsome blue, white and yellow china. It consisted of a bowl of assorted fresh fruit with optional fruit yogurt to out on top op the fruit. A nice glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly brewed coffee and a plate of several different types of bread, with 3 flavors of jam and some butter. There was also one thin slice of American cheese...like from kraft. A nice enhancement could be a small chunk of interesting cheese from Costco...where I believe they also bought their breads.

All in all fair value for the money.

Please also note that if secure parking is a need you have...only street parking is available on this fairly quiet neighborhood street.


Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wwtravelerAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The hotel has a great location, just a few blocks away from the historical center and all the main plazas. The interior was very authentic, well designed and beautiful. The rooms were a bit noisy to sleep from all the noises coming from the streets, but that's in most of smaller hotels in Mexico. The personal was very friendly and nice. So all in all we found it a very nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We booked this hotel twice on our trip from Tulum to Palenque. The rooms are quite big, mexican style, simple but comfortable, bathrooms are huge...The fountain outside was hypnotic so we slept like a babies. It sounded like it is raining all the time....don't you love to sleep while its raining?? :) then you open the door and the sun is shinning...
WIFI there was the best from all Mexico, which was quite important to us. The whole hotel is safe, thought there are not lockers or safes.
Lovely owners are travelers themselves, very nice and helpful. Nelson is energetic and social person and his wife a lovely woman which helped us with anything we needed as booking bus tickets for next day, advises etc...
The breakfast was excellent and personal very nice, friendly! Definitely deserves a good tip! Location is also excellent - just two blocks (7 min walk) from the main plaza.We enjoyed our stay in Medio Mundo and recommend fully! Thank you all!

Room Tip: If you are smoker - chose the upstairs rooms, where is the terrace. For the rest i think there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lila077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We arrived at just before midnight. I rang the bell, and good-natured Nelson unlocked the door, whereby the three of us weary travelers quietly made our way to our room in the dimly-lit courtyard. The gurgling fountains and palms rustling in the nighttime breeze in the main courtyard served as a sedative, just the thing to settle our nerves after the monotonous drive from Cancun. In the morning, we realized how drop-dead gorgeous the Spanish colonial-style hotel’s interior courtyards were with breathtaking shades of blue and coral, terracotta, green and yellow. During our week’s stay, breakfasts were charming: a variety of fresh fruits, breads, and tasty little pastries, not to overlook the wonderful coffee served by a gracious Mayan staff. (I wished they also served fried eggs.) Evenings, we created our own BYOB happy hours gathering in the outdoor kitchen/pool courtyard to wind down with various friends and guests over a glass of tequila or two. The hotel’s kitchen happened to be experimenting with a variety of vegan-type appetizers, and it was our good fortune to serve as one of the ad hoc focus groups to provide personal feedback on the sumptuous creations. On our bed was one of the most beautiful hand-made bedspreads I have ever seen. They are for sale in the Hotel’s classy little gift shop. On the day of our departure, we hugged Nicole, and left Merida for Valladolid. We drove off with a host of fond memories to draw upon in the years ahead, and certainly the most memorable – our nothing short of splendid time at Hotel Medio Mundo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#11 of 105 in Merida
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#20 of 105 in Merida
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.2 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 88 in Merida
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Address: Calle 64 Y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Medio Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing