We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another satisfied Guest”
Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Medio Mundo
Ranked #4 of 88 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2005

We stayed for most of a week at MedioMundo in early February, and had a very nice visit. The staff was very friendly and professional, I enjoyed the breakfast by the pool very much, and our room was spacious and comfortable. The rooms could have a little more going on in terms of artwork, furniture and decor, but that is a minor point.
The location is convenient to the Zocalo and central Merida, and we parked our car on the street, across from the hotel with no problems.
Bambu, the cat, became our friend for a while, and then snubbed us, but I don't hold it against him.
They have a person on the door 24 hours a day, which I found unusual for a hotel this small, but I found it be reassuring and to increase the feeling of security.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fredbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2005

We stayed at MedioMundo for 3 nights during Merida's Carinval. The hotel was great. We were able to park outside on the street with no problems.

Our room was the biggest we had stayed in in Mexico at a third of the price, it was clean, beautifully painted with a huge bed, mosquito netting so we could leave open windows at night, a huge ceiling fan and air conditioning (which we didn't need at all). There was also a great dressing room to open the suitcases out in and a seperate shower/toilet.

We spent most of our days out exploring Merida and watching the fantastic parades during the carnival week (really recommended to anyone visiting next year). We did manage a whole afternoon there though relaxing once the parade ended and managed to swim a little in the tiny pool.

We had breakfast one day which would have been great if we liked lots of fruit or museli (we don't) but as we only ate the bread they only charged us half which was very honest of them. If you do like fruit and cereal the 80 peaso breakfast is a great deal, if like us you're not so keen head down the road to the PopCafe which does great huevos (eggs) and toast.

7  Thank Black-eyePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2005

We stayed here January and were absolutely delighted with this hotel.
Nicole and Nelson (owners) were fantastic. The bed so very comfortable and the room exceptionally clean. We loved the courtyard where the breakfast is served. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk to the main square. When we did rent a car, we were able to park right across the street. This hotel is just as advertised. We loved it.

5  Thank suebeth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
14
Reviewed 16 January 2005

My wife and I stayed at the MedioMundo for a couple of days in late October 2004. The room we had was basic, extremely clean and comfortable and well decorated. The hotel itself is beautiful with an internal courtyard garden and terraces - very surprising since outside, like most buildings in this area of Merida, it looks like a non-descript wall.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful (and we had long chats in Spanish in the bar in the evenings on our return from visiting the Maya sites). We also had the good fortune of meeting the couple that own the hotel and they too proved to be very charming and helpful (with tips ranging from great shops to typical restaurants near Maya ruins to the best directions to get around).

This is a truly lovely hotel, we look forward to visiting again.
p.s. Breakfast is FABULOUS, well worth the cost!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Monica California
114
Reviewed 12 December 2004

This hotel is nice in most aspects , nice bilding , nice pool but small, rooms are basic but nice, the staff is ok . It is a bit expensive for what you get , especialy if you comper to other options that merida has.
We stayed one day there, one of the problems of traveling to merida is that is a very noisy city. then we went to uxmal, amazing ruins .
We loved the Yucatan peninsula

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
424
Reviewed 29 September 2004

Stayed here for five nights in Sept 2004. During this time Hurricane Ivan was threatening to come through the area. Nicole and Nelson, the owners who don't live there, called to warn us of the impending storm (eventually nothing happened) because they were truly concerned for our safety and comfort and we were given lots of candles and snacks, just in case. This hotel is a jewel box, the owners are exceptional people. Two cats live on the premises so if you are allergic this could be a problem. The cats are just as sweet and friendly as the owners. Anyone who stays here is in for a treat! The pool wins the "pool-itzer prize" for H2O perfection. The staff if positively five star. Go to Hotel Medio Mundo in Merida and you will be happy.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2004

What a fabulous place to stay... Nicole and Nelson were so helpful and their entire staff (including the cats) were friendly and made my trip extra special.
I would highly recommend staying here and anytime I go back to Merida I will be staying there!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 104 in Merida
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#13 of 104 in Merida
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#18 of 104 in Merida
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#20 of 104 in Merida
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 88 in Merida
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Address: Calle 64 Y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £54 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Medio Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing