We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #59 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 21 February 2014

From the pictures, I was afraid that the hotel would be too big and impersonal. It was warm, friendly, and not too big at all. The rooms are clean and nicely done, with tile floors throughout. We loved the location, being able to walk to nearly all the historic sites. From what we saw of other hotels in the area, we were very happy with this choice, and the price was very reasonable. The windows of the rooms do open onto the central courtyard. If someone is walking by or talking, the sound echoes and is loud. This rarely lasted more than a minute or two, and overall the hotel was extremely quiet. The parking is not quite on-site; it is around the corner and across the street, but it's kept locked all the time and is secure. We would definitely choose this hotel again in Merida.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back will be quieter. At first they gave us a room at the front (101), and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights and was very happy. Good location - near enough to the centre but far enough away not to be disturbed by the noise. Rooms were clean and comfortable. This is a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickPJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a nice clean quiet little hotel. Rooms are sparse but beds are comfortable. It is a close, safe walk to the center day or night. Stayed for 5 days and was comfortable with my second floor room the entire time. There is no elevator. Pool is small but clean. Gaby at front desk is very nice, friendly place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernest g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just stayed here for 4 days and I'd stay again and again and again. The location is great...just a few minutes walk from the Zocalo, the staff are friendly and helpful, and I never felt like I had to worry about my stuff! And it is so reasonably priced! Like unbelievably reasonably priced....and I was there over Christmas! I also found a great laundry nearby...wish I could remember the name...where I would drop my clothes in the morning and they would be delivered to the hotel in the afternoon! Really, Hotel Santa Maria in Merida is one of the best budget hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanuckTravelGuyAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hotel Santa Maria is a locally owned economic option for travelers that are not in need of room service and over stuffed pillows. We have stayed there several times and with it's proximity to the "Centro" it's a great value. The rooms and bedding are basic but always clean and the AC blows hard and cold! A small dipping pool will help you cool down quickly on a hot Meridian afternoon, then you can watch tv until you fall asleep for you siesta!

Room Tip: Choose the second floor if you can and stay away from the tiny "one person" room (closet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfl2bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Santa María in January 2013. We had just returned to Mérida unexpectedly after spending 2 days in a tropical storm in coastal Progreso to the north. We didn´t have a reservation, so were relieved to find that there was no problem getting a room and the rate was only $40 CDN per night.

The lobby is furnished with antiques set out in comfortable groupings for conversation around the pool which is surrounded by tropical plants and flowers. Just one of many hotels and businesses in Mérida which once were colonial mansions with their central garden courtyards. It’s truly a delight to see these buildings lovingly restored to at least a taste of their former glory. The outer façade doesn’t even hint of what awaits inside!

Our room (#105 on the ground floor) was more than adequate with 2 double beds, solid wood furniture, TV, air conditioner, ceiling fan, telephone, bathroom with excellent shower, original Mayan folk art paintings, etc.

Receptionist Gaby (pron. Gabby), who speaks fairly good English, was friendly, welcoming, and more than willing to help when we needed advice about restaurants, directions, tours, etc. Be sure to eat at the Chaya Maya (2 locations nearby), La Vía de Olimpo (street café in Plaza Grande on opposite side from the cathedral) and Mansión Mérida (alfresco dining at lovely hotel by the same name, located in Plaza Hidalgo, closest plaza to the hotel. Try their vegetarian lasagne – to die for!).

We wanted to go on at least one guided tour of the many nearby pyramid sites, so chose to visit Uxmal & Kabah with Méxitours (9 AM – 5 PM). They will pick you up at your hotel anywhere in the city. These were minor sites compared with Chichén Itzá, but still awesome to see up close and personal. What the Mayan people did without metal implements is unbelievable! And our guide really knew his stuff. We also enjoyed an excellent full course lunch (everything but drinks included) before heading back to Mérida.

From the hotel we walked to the Plaza Grande every day. One evening we enjoyed a Folkloric Concert there and another time, one side of the plaza was blocked to traffic for a street dance with a band at each end of the street. The bands alternated, with both young and old taking to the “dance floor.” Almost every evening there was something happening in one of several plazas near the hotel. On Sunday afternoons an older crowd dances to a live band playing Latin and Big Band music at the little park across from Santa Lucía Church (close to the hotel). Lots of shade to just watch and enjoy the energy, but you can join in too – if you can find a spot on the dance floor!

We also enjoyed visiting the art galleries and the museums (almost all free and within walking distance). The displays, photos, and art will give you a better understanding of the rich history of the city of Mérida and the Yucatán in general.

Room Tip: Ask the bellhop to check out the air conditioner for you when he brings in your luggage. He very kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leona62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel was fairly basic, but the room was spacious compared to some others in Mexico. Parking was down the street and around the corner, a little inconvenient but the reception desk was very quick about getting us in and out. There was a nice looking pool in the courtyard but it was being cleaned. This hotel has a great location, right in the center of Merida. It was an excellent home base to explore from, fairly quiet considering how lively this city is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#44 of 106 in Merida
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#51 of 106 in Merida
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#38 of 106 in Merida
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#48 of 106 in Merida
69 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#35 of 106 in Merida
282 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#60 of 106 in Merida
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Calle 55, No. 493 x 58 y 56, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £22 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Santa Maria 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing