We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice older property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mision de Fray Diego
Ranked #21 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very nice and quiet. Very close to the main square in town. It is an older property but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Good value for the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank velagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

Thank you very much for your comment! We love you have enjoyed our hotel and hope we can host you once again in the future.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice and quite! In the heart of the old city! I will recommend to be in Merida Saturday and Sunday! Next to the Mision Fray Diego there is a lot of places to have breakfast or lunch. The hotel was a Monastery from 17th century and kids under 12 years are not allowed. So it's always quite. Very nice and we were very happy. There is a square close that is called St. Lucia. There is one hotel close and the name is Hotel St. Lucia was amazing, we passed by to take a look. I can recommend that one as well! Merida is a little pearl with a lot of history and amazing architecture! Enjoy whatever you go!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hris Fer U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

Thank you very much for your comment! We love you have enjoyed our hotel and hope we can host you once again in the future.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in this awesome quaint Boutique Style Hotel while on a business trip to Merida and surrounding areas in the Yucatan. This was originally a mansion converted to a 20 room + 2 larger suites boutique hotel. The bathrooms are modern, while the guestrooms are authentic mission style decor. The staff are very attentive and friendly. I only had breakfast and it was awesome! The open air bar doubles as the breakfast area if you choose. They also have an air conditioned dining room. The guest rooms surround the romantic swimming pool courtyard. This hotel is not for everybody. No elevator, only stairs. Very quiet and romantic. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2cruisediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

Thank you so much for your comment! We love you have enjoyed our hotel and hope we can host you once again in the future.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After travelling from Campeche and negotiating traffic to find the hotel in 38 degrees we were astounded to arrive in such a surprisingly beautiful and cool setting. The valet, who spoke great English, parked our car for us and we relaxed. The reception staff were welcoming and efficient. Our room was cool and beautifully furnished in classic Mexican style. The pool area was just so inviting. Stepping out to visit the main square was just 200 metres away, but what a relief to return to our cool haven. Breakfast was in courtyard area, or in air conditioned restaurant, as you preferred. Jose our waiter was professional but entertaining, with a twinkle in his eye. Breakfast was great, cakes, omelette or pancakes, fresh fruit. Had wonderful paella in the evening and sent compliments to the lady chef. A wonderful oasis of calm in the middle of a hot exciting city. Perfect location. When the valet brought our car back he was a while. He apologised and said one of our tyres was down and he'd had it inflated. What service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borkijazmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

Thank you so much for your comment! We love you have enjoyed our hotel and hope we can host you once again in the future.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is so beautiful the outside courtyard is fantastic and the pool is always crystal blue.
The rooms are nothing special and are a little rustic - good air conditioning and nice bathroom but don't expect anything too amazing.
The hotel staff are mostly very nice however when asking for water we were told no many times even though the hotel claims it provides free bottled water.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truthfuladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAYDIEGO M, Social Manager at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi, first of all we appreciate the time you have taken to write about your experience at the hotel.

we are glad to hear that you enjoy your trip to Mérida, and also you enjoy your time in our hotel. we hope you decide to come back to the city soon, we will be very happy to see you around again.

We are sorry about the service details you share, we will check on this situation and we will make whatever is in our hands to fix these mistakes. we want to offer a helpfully and kind service for all our visitors.

Greetings, Hotel la Misión de Fray Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here on our first visit to Merida and enjoyed it very much. There is a lovely suite on the top floor that we particularly recommend. It looks out into the tree tops and is quite elegant.

Delphia and Hoke

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hokeholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAYDIEGO M, Social Manager at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi, first of all we appreciate the time you have taken to write about your experience at the hotel.

we are glad to hear that you enjoy your trip to Mérida, and also you enjoy your time in our hotel. we hope you decide to come back to the city soon, we will be very happy to see you around again.

Greetings, Hotel la Misión de Fray Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of our 10 day trip.
Merida is a nice city but you only need 2 nights to see as much as you need to see. That said, we found some fun places to eat and have a few Mexican beers which we might not have done with only a couple of nights.
Mision de Fray Diego is a pleasant hotel set inside a very old building. The courtyards are shaded and full of plants. The pool is small and although great to relax around we never actually swam in it. It was cleaned everyday though and looked very nice.
The bedrooms are large and comfortable but look a little tired. The style of the hotel is very traditional so perhaps the rooms are about right but I think soon they are going to need to be improved due to the high standards people expect.
Although the rooms were cleaned very thoroughly every day they still felt a bit dusty due to the tiredness of the fixtures and fittings.
Bathroom had an odd mixed selection of mini toiletries which seemed to be filled with lot of different fluids but none of the bottles were labelled. That looked a bit scrappy.
We didn't have breakfast there as the restaurant looked very dull. It seemed that there were staff there just waiting around wishing they had something to do. It is a lovely building so perhaps they need to get a good chef in and make more of the restaurant. Maybe that could help pay to spruce up the bedrooms.

Good value but really just a place to rest your head.

Our favourite places for food in Merida were:
El Trapiche for burritos
La Soccoritto for cochinita
Bierhaus for beers obviously

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAYDIEGO M, Social Manager at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi, first of all we appreciate the time you have taken to write about your experience at the hotel.

we are glad to hear that you enjoy your trip to Mérida, and also you enjoy your time in our hotel. we hope you decide to come back to the city soon, we will be very happy to see you around again.

All the details you mention will be considered, we appreciate your comments, they will help up to improve our service and offer n even better experience to all our visitors.

Greetings, Hotel la Misión de Fray Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#17 of 105 in Merida
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Angel
Hotel Casa San Angel
#35 of 105 in Merida
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#30 of 105 in Merida
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.6 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mision de Fray Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mision de Fray Diego

Address: Calle 61 No 524 entre 64 y 66, Merida 97300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £49 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mision de Fray Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mision de Fray Diego is an old house of the century XVII, restored and converted into a charming and tasteful boutique first class just 1 block and a half from Main Square. This hotel Will delight you in its comfortable rooms, pool, restaurant bar, parking, medical service, laundry, excursions, internet. All rooms have 2 double beds or 1 queen size bed, air conditioning, work desk, wireless internet, TV with cable, electronic safe, telephone, private bathroom, hair dryer, smoke detectors, fire sprinklers , minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Mision de Fray Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mision De Fray Diego Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing