We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mision de Fray Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Aragon(Merida)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colon(Merida)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
120
149
49
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
149
49
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted conventrestored missionlovely courtyardsmall pooltwo blocksclose to main squarebreakfast and dinnerfree valet parkinghotel locatedflights of stairshistorical hotelrestaurant staffdelightful hotelpool areano elevatormain courtyardold world charm
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2006

I can only talk about the Mision De Fray Diego in superlatives. It is a true oasis in the middle of a rather noisy and hectic city. It has character to spare, yet it is comfortable as well. Location is perfect - just two blocks from the main square. Service is amazing - the "bell boys" provide examples of the true old school service. Valet parking makes for a nice plus if you're traveling with your car. Certainly a top notch choice for staying in Merida!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarMir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

Stayed there for 3 nights and liked the plahce. A very friendly and efficient and clean rooms. They have a pretty decent restraunt too, though we only had breakfast there on out last morning and loved it.
A really good place stay in Merida, not aluxurious 4 star but definetly a great one for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank thanush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2006

We spent two nights at this hotel in March and felt it was good value for money. The common areas of the hotel are very attractive, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The availability of valet parking for guests was very useful, since we had a rental car. Breakfasts were adequate, but we didn't have dinner there. Our room was somewhat spartan, and a bit dim, but clean and neat. We plan to stay at La Mision again when we next travel to Merida.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
High Point, NC
15
Reviewed 15 November 2005

This hotel is a beautiful restoration resembling an old monistary. Contrary to above comments about substandard linens, they were just fine. Food was pretty good, especially breakfast in the courtyard. Staff was excellent. Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
113
Reviewed 2 August 2005

For the amount of money you pay, this hotel is not worth it. The location is good, the building is beautiful, but it lacks the details that would make it a first class hotel. We stayed at the junior suite. The towels and linens were not only below our expectations, but the towels were old and stained and with holes and the linens were old and worn. The robes looked like they were picked up at an old hotel close-out. There was not enough water pressure in the shower. There is a jacuzzi tub, but no motor. When you come back after a hot day of walking, you will find your air conditioner was turned off in the room, and the room will be very hot. Make sure they turn the hall lights on when you return at night, otherwise you may trip on one of the steps. And, when you leave, if you need a taxi you may have to walk to the corner to find one, as we had to do. The food and service at the restaurant were also below our expectations.
We will be back to Merida, but not to Mision de Fray Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews