We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
Ranked #54 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small issues”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

this hotel is new, clean, equipped with a modern furniture, close to the center, the only problem was only cold water in the bathroom - the hot water did not flow in the sink, nor in the shower . Surprising for a 5star hotel...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    76
    51
    20
    12
See reviews for
51
71
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was a great tour, Winston it's a very kind person that took us to a a beautiful beach at Mahogany and a highlight tour. we went to meet jagger at the top of the mountain in Ocho Rios
I recommend anyone that rour Jamaica to do it with Winston.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucuanachiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Exceptionally well located and well built, this fine hotel was our choice for our stay in Merida. We were very warmly welcomed by a very polite, correct and professional staff. In fact, there was not onloy single time I can remember we were less attended. Believe me these people know how to treat a guest.
Our room was, though, a series of good and bad surprises:
The good points to remember is the cleanliness the room was upon our arrival. The place was immaculately clean, with everything in order.
Despite the HUGE window covering the west wall, it's blind. You can see nothing from outside.
TV and apparel all in working order.
No carpets-good reason for allergic peolpe to choose it and a relatively spacious room, with almost everything you need. Safe in good condition.
For those in need, from 7:00 AM there's a complimentary minivan to and from the airport. You only have to book in advance.
Complimentary wifi at a reasonable speed and good air conditioning completes the good stuff.
Negative points: Upon reservation we choose a DeLuxe apartment, but we've found out this is only a tag. Room is good, spacious DARK AS A PIT, with very tiny weak lights (I still don't know why hotel owners still insist on this...) and without the promised minibar and coffee maker...
When I pointed this irregularity, I was told the hotel had had "problems" with the minibar, and they were taken out. There were no more minibar units in the hotel. About the coffee maker, the attendant had assured me they were available on the executive rooms only, but he was ready to arrange me one, if I wanted. I had refused, but showed him the print screen, telling him this might have been fixed. Until today (2 months after my stay), the situation remains the same, as you can see here:
http://www.elespanoldemontejo.com/a_Habitaciones.htm
http://www.elespanoldemontejo.com/a_Habitaciones_i.htm

A dark, pretty ugly stain (grease?) was showing right in front of us, on the blackout curtain, and had remained there.
No used soap renewing, no shampoo or hair conditioning checking, even if we had put the empty vials inside the sink.
Toilet paper was replaced upon request...
As usual, room service is the Achilles heel of almost every hotel.. This one is no exception.
Hotel restaurant-Ponto Novo, is very shy in its menu, with basically local cuisine. Price does not follow the simplicity..
Half block on your left there's a great italian restaurant and as his neighbor, a FANTASTIC irish pub, which I'll review next.
In other final words: it's a fine hotel, with great staff, but it has many points to improve, beginning with his self-proclaimed five stars (???) hotel.
Again, it is not as bad, but definitely a 3-4 stars would be more than enough.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a coffee maker in the room, as well as a minibar BEFORE reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schwartzkopf_Reiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel is located on the main city promenade, which is nice for evening strolls. Close enough to walk into old town, or the hotel offers a free shuttle service. The staff is helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. They also have small refrigerators and coffee pots, as well as a desk. The rooms have a large window which provides ample light and the air conditioners work well. On the downside, the rooms can be noisy and they are certainly not soundproof. But the worst aspect is that they can have live bands playing in the first floor bar, as well as the fifth floor event center, making it impossible to sleep as they rage on till 4:00 a.m.! The wi-fi in the rooms is weak and spotty, plus there is very little water pressure in the showers.

Room Tip: Under no circumstances stay on the 4th floor as the live band music is deafening and the 1st floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwon, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was close to my conference location (Intercontinental hotel near Walmart) as well as the busy "downtown" area so that I enjoyed the conference during the day and fun events at night. So the location worked perfectly for me. And the city itself is very nice and safe to walk around at night. I really enjoyed staying here for a whole week :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiwonMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a good hotel, with spacious and clean, with free internet service in the rooms. The beds are comfortable and the Staff is generally friendly. The pool is relatively small, but nice. The restaurant is large, though perhaps with a few people, the food is not bad, but it is more advisable to go out to eat at any of the nearby restaurants. Near the front of the hotel there is a small Italian restaurant that is recommended. And a few steps away is the gelato "Colon" is very typical and delicious.
Please note that when booking ensure reservation at the hotel "El español" Paseo de Montejo, there is another hotel of the same name that is not in the same category and another location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgecancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

well, the room was big and clean, but it didn't reach a level of 5 start hotel, the bed weren't comfy.

The hotel is nice and the staff are nicer. but the construction is very bad of the building. you can hear the noise in the same floor. I was in the third floor and I was smelling the food they were making everyday.
the food was not good at all. just go and eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: not by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iman141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Conquistador
Hotel El Conquistador
#40 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#19 of 103 in Merida
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#53 of 103 in Merida
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#35 of 103 in Merida
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#45 of 103 in Merida
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo

Property: Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
Address: Avenida Paseo de Montejo # 484 | Esquina Calle 41, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing