We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We loved this little hotel which has been so beautifully restored. We only stayed one night but would happily have stayed longer. Our room was the only one with outside space, a balcony overlooking the lovely swimming pool area filled with flowers. The room was comfortable and in traditional style but with a modern and glossy shower room. The receptionist showed us some of the other rooms when we checked in as it was quiet, and one of the master suites had an absolutely amazing bathroom - ultra modern and chic, but with the traditional style bedroom. We like a mixture of modern and old. The dining area is by a very pretty inner garden with fountain quietly tinkling and it was so tranquil and elegant we had a light lunch there upon arrival rather than going out. Delicious lunch and also breakfast the next morning.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

As a travel writer, I have inspected nearly every 3-5 star hotel in Merida, and I must say Casa Azul simply blew me away. First, my husband and I were greeted by the charming Pamela, one of three daughters who have helped to restore the "casa" as a family project along with her parents. They successfully brought this historical monument back to life. Guests are taken "back in time" to a period of pure royalty. They focus on the small details -- the fine china at breakfast, the rose petals in the jacuzzi, the newspaper (in a silk bag) hanging on the door handel, the personal umbrella and sunhat, the stunning antiques -- they thought of everything.

The bed was absolutely outstanding and is the closest thing to sleeping on a cloud. The thick mattress and soft duvet incase your body for the perfect night of sleep. Still can't believe I slept 11 hours straight! The staff are professional and attentive, yet approachable and gentle.

Guests even receive a leather journal or jewelry box engraved with your own name -- It was such a thoughtful momento to take home. Breakfast was delicious for a meal that is included in the price - Think fruit platters, homemade pastries, french toast, eggs benedict, etc.

If you want to feel like royalty, this is your place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanDiegoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights this August. Although the hotel is located a little bit far from Zocalo (10 or 15 minutes walk from Zocalo), everything I experienced here was marvelous and unforgettable, such as their well-refurbished room, beautiful garden and very delicious dishes!!! Especially, I liked their staff service. The staffs were very friendly and thoughtful indeed. They satisfied all of my requests. When I have another opportunity to come back to Mérida, I never fail to stay in this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumptyDumpty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have recently returned from Merida and can tell you that as a world traveller that I am, I can't think of any other OUTSTANDING experience.
The hotel has been brought back to the original splendor of the era and the exquisite taste that have been taken into the decor makes it a GEM.
The staff was impeccable, looking after every single detail of my needs. This is PERFECTION in the true meaning of the word...

Room Tip: Check out ITZIMNA Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecam41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This Historic Colonial home located in the Historic area of Merida has been refurbished immaculately with every modern comfort that you could expect, without sacrificing the integrity of its original style. The service on behalf of the staff is simply sterling. With many great places and sites to enjoy in the city of Merida, it is very easy to want to stay in the inviting comfort of Casa Azul longer than planned. All the way around my stay was an exceptionally pristine experience in every aspect imaginable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Ok true confessions, I didn't actually stay here. Two colleagues and I wandered past in search of a spot to have a glass of wine after a long day of meetings at the nearby Hyatt. it looked inviting, we rang the bell. The manager politely explained they only have service for their guests.

But she invited us in to see the recently completed restoration. She showed us nearly every room, painstakingly restored from near ruin to fine period finishes and furnishings. Exquisite high-ceiling bedrooms and sumptuous baths. We ended the tour visiting with the owner in the courtyard garden oasis. Will be back on my next visit, a swing through nearby ruins and natural areas...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RegelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.3 mi away
Boutique bythe Museo
Boutique bythe Museo
#16 of 104 in Merida
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#23 of 104 in Merida
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico

Address: Calle 60 No. 343 x 37 y 35, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £152 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing