We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a president!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Treated like a president!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We got into downtown Merida without a reservation and found the Intercontinental online during a hotel search. We found a reasonable price, and drove over and asked them if they would match the price at the front desk. They matched the price, plus we got valet parking, breakfast and free wifi. Amazing! The hotel itself has an older feel to it, but it is elegant and the room was very well put together with mini bar, fridge and a safe. The comforter was soooo cozy! The breakfast buffet was huge and had some very delicious authentic foods. The staff at the front desk spoke English well and were very welcoming and nice. They gave us accurate directions and recommended some great places to eat.

When we checked out, they gave us a coupon to stay again for free. We really loved this place and will say here again when we come to the west Yucatan!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    247
    72
    26
    9
See reviews for
125
224
29
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Located in the heart of downtown. An Old Hotel but in good condition. Clean. Service was average. Had a few problems with the A/C.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Having arrived in Merida to sort out an unexpected and stressful passport situation at the US consulate the relief of finding such a great and friendly hotel nearby cannot be overstated. All the staff have been great and the attention given to our 2 small children by the staff has really been a joy. Only sorry we are not here under easier conditions but really really love this Hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

The room in this hotel are beautiful and spacious. I stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms and everything in it is first class. The beds are super comfortable, the bathroom is huge and the room is super quiet. The front desk attendant are really nice and attentive, especially the lady named "Yarisol". I was really impress with the level of service she offered, her knowledge of the city and ability to suggest different tours in the area - very helpful for someone like me that did not know what to do for fun in Merida. The buffet breakfast that was included with my room, and it offered everything I could have wanted and more. One thing that I found nice about this hotel is the way they made the entrance to the rooms. It has a feel of a colonial house as you enter - just look at the picture, I can't explain it. The only bad thing I found was the smell in the parking lot when I went to pick up my car, please do something about that smell - my solution was to allow them to vallet park my car - also included at no additional charge.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Travel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed the last week at the Villa Mercedes Intercontinental Hotel in Merida and I really loved this property. Excellent service, The front desk very helpul. The bellboy, I think his name is Willy, I am not sure, all the time he was pending about us. The staff very friendly. I could see that they have the best service in the area. I will return definitely once again in a near future. The beds are amazing. I love everything in this hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The hotel has a "wow" factor and is absolutely gorgeous. It has the old charm and looks exactly like the photos posted. From our past experiences the Presidente is better in comfort and the rooms are more spacious than other 4 and 5 star hotels in the area. The hotel is in a convenient location: walking distant to Walmart; across the street from two money exchanges, shopping center, convenience store; walking distance to banks and restaurants; one block from Paseo de Montejo; and is within 10 minute ride to the "centro." The hotel restaurant is great and Chef Sergio will cook a delicious meal at your request. The bus stop is within a block, in the evenings carriage rides are available less than a block away and taxis are readily available. The entire staff are very friendly and go out of their way to assist you. The Concierge Manager, Carlos "Charlie" and his assistant, Maggie, go out of their way to help and seriously address customer complaints to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The swimming pool is not heated; please note, it is extremely HOT and humid in Merida so the best time to visit is October-March.

We stay at the Presidente for extended periods when we travel to Merida; last year we stayed 60+ days at the Presidente. On our visits this year we have seen some improvements at the hotel to address some of the issues previously posted by other visitors. The Presidente is better than other hotels in the vicinity. The General Manager is the person responsible to make sure all staff is well trained in their areas. During our last visit the Presidente had a new Operations Manager come on board and this person seemed eager to start implementing new strategies for improving quality at the hotel and was highly visible around the hotel. Visibility is a must for all managers to be observing first hand the entire operations of their business. All told, the hotel is moving in the right direction striving to reach excellence in comfort and quality to their clients.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter from street noise and rooms above the second floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed at the presidente with my family. THe hotel is nice, but several things could improve. The room although big had a worned out safety box (could not see the numbers), also several things were broguht into the room one or 2 days after we had arrived (the small bedside rugs, etc).
The other thing that really needs fixing is the intense raw-sewage smell on the underground parking-lot, they really need to do something about it.
On the plus side, the bell-button staff was really nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Presidente Merida, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear ZorroPlata67,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#17 of 103 in Merida
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#32 of 103 in Merida
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
436 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Presidente Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Merida

Property: InterContinental Presidente Merida
Address: Avenida Colon, Calle 33-a Centro 500, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Merida
#6 Business Hotel in Merida
#9 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#12 Family Hotel in Merida
#16 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Merida Hotel Merida
Presidente Intercontinental Mercedes
Intercontinental Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing