We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, clean, great staff - but not a lot of character”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We chose this hotel because we were traveling with my 83 year-old mother-in-law. It was perfect for that purpose. She liked that it was fairly new and very tidy. She was quite content with the restaurant and felt very safe and cared for by the staff.

All of those things are nice, but I like roughing it a bit more. It seemed a bit generic for my tastes.

Like other folks have mentioned the hallway noise was pretty profound, but since I was expecting it, it didn't bother me as much. Also the door slamming wasn't enough to wake me up and really only seemed bad during the day.

The roof top hot-tub-sized pool is not mentioned on their website. It's a lovely terrace, but it closes at 6pm. Er?

It's a fun hotel on Sunday when the street is closed for a ciclovia and everyone is biking and walking right outside your window. We joined in.

The staff was very attentive and like everyone we met in the Yucatan - very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

We cannot agree with the last 2 reviewers.
Perhaps 5 stars is a little stretch, but it does not deserve such negative comments.
We had choosen it based on the fabulous rating when we clicked on bookings-com.
It had a fabulous rating there, which is also a little overdone.
Perhaps the difference is that tripadvisor is more geared to the English speaking tourist and booking-com also is used by Spanish speaking business travelers.

The hotel does not cater much to English speaking tourists, but the staff is very friendly and helpful, so it probably does deserve 5 stars for Spanish speaking busines travelers.
For Tourists it may not be the most convenient location to downtown, but we did often walk some or all the way. It is located at a beautiful boulevard with many busses, vans and taxies.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

At first glance it seems ok put together.... This was a 20usd a night room. The noise is crazy. I can tell you everywhere the people above us walked. I can here the taxi driver's conversation outside WITH my window closed o the 2nd floor. The room has no outlet by my side of the bed. The bathroom is a joke. Sink wont drain, shower spills out to the little bathroom and everytime you flush the toilet you must lift the top off and push the plunger down. I was going to chalk it up to a new hotel, but the grout lines are too stained and dirty. Staff was nice (she has a nice personality)

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It's on the main street and so are the drunks with whole car boom boxes. Who puts single pane windows in an air conditioned hotel? Inside the tile lined hallways echo anything; like women in heels and little kids who love the sound of noise. Deal breaker. Location is why I came and location is why I will never come back.

Room Tip: Try higher, if you must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eclopez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jesusjoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edgar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Merida
Holiday Inn Merida
#40 of 106 in Merida
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#22 of 106 in Merida
544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#52 of 106 in Merida
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#14 of 106 in Merida
1,210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#15 of 106 in Merida
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Calle 56-a #438 X 29 | Paseo de Montejo, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £43 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is located just 50 meters from the Monument to the flag in the Paseo de Montejo main avenue of the city of Merida. From new construction, the Victoria Hotel offers comfortable and ample rooms for business travelers and aslo for couples or families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing