We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Returned a few nights later”

El Chile Habanero Restaurante
Ranked #103 of 784 Restaurants in Merida
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
St. Catharines Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Returned a few nights later”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were looking for a sit-down restaurant in the area near Santa Lucia, in a reasonable price range. Our Spanish is poor, but the owner took the time to greet us and help us with the menu. I chose the fish, hubby the enchiladas. Were pleasantly surprised by the serving size and very pleased with both our meals. They both came with extras on the plate, everything complimented the main dish.The waiter was right there to clear plates, offer more condiments, drinks, etc. We liked it so much, we returned a couple of nights later and ordered a pizza with a few beers and again, food was great! We usually order a large pizza at home because we like to take a few slices away, but were very happy that we ordered a medium at this restaurant. It was the same size as a large at home, so keep that in mind if you don't want leftovers. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spuds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    63
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frenchs Forest, nsw
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good mexican food”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The main courses are excellent. Refined taste, surprizing combinations of meat, vegetables and fruits. And the waiter and owner were very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Informal but excellent food!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the fun conversation with our server but when the food came it was too good to talk. Wonderful meal as part of a wonderful evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rumblentawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Nice place, delicious food and inexpensive!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A very nice place, excellent service, succulent food and something amazing is that I thought that because of the taste and quality of the dishes would be expensive but amazingly it wasn't. If you go to Merida in Mexico this place is a MUST.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Place - give it a try”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The first night we rolled into Merida, we got terribly lost. By the time we found our hotel in the centro, we were tired and just a bit on edge. We were also hungry. Wanting to get something quick and then turn in, we went to the first place we came to, which was El Chile Habanero. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but we weren't being picky at this point. We were pleasantly surprised when we went it. It isn't fancy, but was homey. The server was very gracious, and gave us some meal suggestions. Both my boyfriend and I enjoyed our meals. I had the Lime Soup, and my boyfriend had a steak. Both were delicious, and the prices was very reasonable. Would go again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iodoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chile Habanero Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to El Chile Habanero Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing