We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique, beautiful, tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. We travel a lot and rarely come across a hotel experience that stands out. This little gem certainly did! The service is kind and attentive. We were pleasantly greeted at check in handed a delicious tamarind margarita. Through the rest of our stay the staff always welcomed us and smiled.

Our room was impeccable. Every convenience was thought of and nothing was out of place. Furniture and art was lovely and our bed was very comfy!

The courtyard, reception, bar, reading hammock area, all of it, had an essence of Yucatecan history that was beautifully designed for a modern experience. The breakfast was delicious and we were addicted to the house made spicy sauce.

Five stars all around. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levgershman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Did not know what was waiting behind the tall entry door, was met with courtesy from the onset. Cool marble and a variety of tile highlight and accentuate the water features and the pool in the long garden. Rooms are impeccably decorated with everything you would expect and more. Service was top notch, the room was checked when we would go out and freshened, turn down service in the evening with chocolate truffles on the pillows. Would come back here for any future visit to the city.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms, all decorated and fitted to the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in this lovely hotel for 2 nights. Check in was smooth and the room is as per displayed in web site. This small boutique hotel is very nicely decorated with character and all decorations are beautiful. Our room rate comes with complimentary continential breakfast. We had it very early and it was just us there, we were almost like enjoyed the gardens privately ourselves. Services was great. We joined the private tour offered by the hotel to visit Celestun and Campeche. The driverand the guide were both professional and helpful. Everything was good.

The only drawback that we want to highlight was that there were a lot of mostiqos there which were quite annoying. We found that in the gardens, outside the patio and even inside our room. Both my husband and I suffered that a lot and we were beaten with a lot of bites, which is really itching and bothering me for the whole week. I would suggest the team to look at how to reduce the mostiqo in order to let their guests enjoy the tranquil and great service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suet_Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. When you first arrive you might be a little concerened as the road is a little shabby but when you enter the hotel you go into an oasis of calm. The location is a little far out and is about a 15 minutes walk to the centre of town. We found the hotel delightful. Our room was beautifully appointed with a fabulous bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable with lovely linen. The continental breakfast was okay but the setting was perfect.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kay2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Staying here only one night because they were booked for any other nights.
Great staff. Were always there to take care of you but never in your way. The out door space was like you would like your house to be. Open, airy and comfortable. The room was good. The food needed to be brought in from other restaurant's but they sit it out in one of the open air seating areas supplied great wine and turned it into a very good experience. If you stay in Merida please consider staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianascutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

As usual, Casa Lecanda doesn't disappoint. As we planned our first trip to Merida, I relied on previous hotel and excursion reviews. We prefer small, boutique hotels and whittled down the list to two hotels. Because I couldn't decide, we split the week between Casa Lecanda and Rosas and Xocolate. We spent the first four nights at Casa Lecanda and I knew from the minute we arrived that this hotel was heaven on earth. The attention to detail was over the top. The courtyard and rooms were gorgeous. We stayed in Ana, which is the garden suite on the left side of the property (as you're walking to the back of the property). The suite was huge. The bathroom as obscenely large, including the chandelier over the soaking tub. There was a small courtyard right outside the room with a small patio table, perfect for a glass of wine in the evenings.

The continental breakfast of fruit with yogurt and a basket of toast/pastries was adequate. I typically selected a bigger breakfast, like the eggs with spinach and bacon, that included an upcharge of about $100 pesos, because we arranged for the 5 day Mayan Wonders tour which meant we were on the go for many hours before stopping for lunch. The entire tour experience, booked directly through Casa Lecanda, included a private driver and tour guide. Our tour guide was Yarima and she was more of a Mayan history professor than a run of the mill tour guide.

The only "bad" thing was that Casa Lecanda set the bar on accommodations, service, expectations so high that our next hotel failed to come close. That is a separate review.

We could not have asked for a better experience at Casa Lecanda and look forward to a future trip.

Room Tip: Rooms Adrian and Alejandro are next door to each other and do not lend themselves to privacy. First...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Once again, Trip Advisor didn't fail us. Casa Lecanda is a small boutique property that's hidden away in Merida. It would be hard to find on your own. It's on a quiet street...but, actually it is very close to everything. The building and courtyare are lovely, the staff is helpful and friendly. We loved our balcony room. However, if you're going to have a lot of luggage, you might opt to stay downstairs. We were greeted with Margaritas Tamarindo and they became our go to drink for the next two weeks as we traveled around the area. The breakfast exceeded our expectations.....the fruit bowl was a work of art. We also ate at their new restaurant, Oliva. It was outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 47 #471 X 54 Y 56, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £185 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lecanda is a small luxury boutique hotel located within the historical center of Merida, Yucatán. Built in a completely restored traditional Yucatecan home, the hotel has been designed to retain the original Meridian style with points of European luxury so prevalent in the golden age of Merida’s Sisal barons. Painstaking attention to detail, architecture, and landscaping provides guests with a uniquely local experience and a sanctuary within the city; a refuge of serenity, privacy and relaxation. A place our guests can call home as they reach out and discover all the beauty and magnificence that the Yucatan Peninsula has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing