We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is divine, absolute oasis and so luxurious. Great bed!! And beautiful white cotton sheets. The only criticism is the location itself, the area felt like a ghost town, a 10 minute walk from the plaza. But once behind the doors we loved it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    21
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
175
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This place is not an hotel, it's your home. The first thing we noticed when we entered at Casa Locanda is the delicate orange blossom smell in the background. Everything here invites you to relax. After 3 hours of driving from Cancun, to Valladolid and finally Merida, we were exhausted. But all our senses were back in track after few seconds in the beautiful colonial house. The garden, patio, the pool and our room (Elia) are just exceptional. The staff is marvellous ! Monica gave us all the informations and tips we needed to go around, you'll notice her amazing mirror desk which reflect the degree of attention and care for design ! Every piece of furniture or decoration is selected with care, which made us feel like home thinking "... I completely see that in our living room..." The bed was amazing and we did enjoy the magnificent bath tub. Victor is the nicest bartender ever, ask for a strawberry margarita !!! He understand English but doesn't speak fluently, I don't speak a good Spanish but somehow we had easy conversations with him. Ivette made us the best granola and scramble eggs for breakfast.
I was surprised by the two negative comments, as our stay was probably one of the highlight of our traveller's memories.
Many thanks to all of them for the wonderful memories.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank williamDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What else can I say? I loved this hotel, with its old-world colonial charm, its beautiful courtyard with pool, hammocks, shady breakfast tables beneath columned arches ... It's just a little slice of heaven. The hotel has been lovingly designed, with charming furniture, lamps, little decorative touches, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We arrived at 3am due to a very late flight, and they were waiting up for us with a smile. All the front-of-house staff speak good English but were also patient victims when I wanted to practise my rusty Spanish ;)

With only 7 rooms, it's always peaceful and we never had a problem getting a table on the little terrace for breakfast or an evening cocktail. There's a lovely continental breakfast included in the room rate (toast with amazing melon jam, little cakes and a giant fruit & yoghurt sundae) or you can order extra hot dishes if you're feeling extra hungry. They also do light meals in the evening, although it's worth venturing out as there are so many nice places to eat out (I recommend Ku'uk's INCREDIBLE tasting menu, and Apoala on Santa Lucia square).

If I had to offer one criticism, our room was a touch on the small side and (because it's a traditional courtyard house) only had skylight windows - but it was super comfortable and when it's hot, sometimes it's a relief to escape from the sun! However, I think the bigger rooms do have more space and windows ... we were in Adrian. Anyway, it didn't matter to me - I could have sat outside in the shade by the little pool looking at the palm trees against the blue sky all day long...

Location-wise, it's a few minutes from the start of the Paseo de Montejo and about 15 minutes from the cathedral so easily walkable. If you're wavering between this place and Rosas y Xocolate (the other well-known boutique hotel) - we passed by the latter intending to stop for a drink, but decided our own hotel was much nicer and went back there instead!

Room Tip: Might be worth paying a bit more for a bigger room if that's important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuppa_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First of all if you are contemplating whether or not to visit Merida - absolutely do. My husband and I have travelled extensively around the world and particularly within Central and South America. We were so very glad that we took a detour from the coast to visit Merida - the only regret was not staying longer! The town is beautiful, the people are incredibly nice, and the food is delicious.

Now that you are going to Merida - absolutely stay at Casa Lecanda. From the moment you walk in the door you are greeted by the exquisite interiors, the incredible pool and patio area, beautiful, decadent flowers everywhere, Coqui Coqui scents, and the most attentive and friendly staff.

We loved our room, which was a patio room towards the back of the property. Mosquitos were not a problem for us other than maybe one or two bites during a late afternoon nap on the hammocks. The room was gorgeous. I can't attempt to explain it other than to say it fits in with the rest of the hotel, exquisite furnishings, with attention given to even the smallest of details. The photos I had seen did not do it justice nor did the photos I tried to take of it. Gorgeous and comfortable room.

The hotel is not on the main plaza but we liked that it was about a 10 minute walk, allowing us the quiet of the neighborhood and the ability to see different sections of the city. We rarely stay on a main plaza anywhere we visit so if this is something you're into maybe Casa Lecanda isn't the place for you, but I would urge you to reconsider and stay in this quiet, near city center neighborhood.

We agreed this was one of our favorite hotel stays ever and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The patio rooms at the back of the hotel offer privacy and are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. We travel a lot and rarely come across a hotel experience that stands out. This little gem certainly did! The service is kind and attentive. We were pleasantly greeted at check in handed a delicious tamarind margarita. Through the rest of our stay the staff always welcomed us and smiled.

Our room was impeccable. Every convenience was thought of and nothing was out of place. Furniture and art was lovely and our bed was very comfy!

The courtyard, reception, bar, reading hammock area, all of it, had an essence of Yucatecan history that was beautifully designed for a modern experience. The breakfast was delicious and we were addicted to the house made spicy sauce.

Five stars all around. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levgershman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Did not know what was waiting behind the tall entry door, was met with courtesy from the onset. Cool marble and a variety of tile highlight and accentuate the water features and the pool in the long garden. Rooms are impeccably decorated with everything you would expect and more. Service was top notch, the room was checked when we would go out and freshened, turn down service in the evening with chocolate truffles on the pillows. Would come back here for any future visit to the city.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms, all decorated and fitted to the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in this lovely hotel for 2 nights. Check in was smooth and the room is as per displayed in web site. This small boutique hotel is very nicely decorated with character and all decorations are beautiful. Our room rate comes with complimentary continential breakfast. We had it very early and it was just us there, we were almost like enjoyed the gardens privately ourselves. Services was great. We joined the private tour offered by the hotel to visit Celestun and Campeche. The driverand the guide were both professional and helpful. Everything was good.

The only drawback that we want to highlight was that there were a lot of mostiqos there which were quite annoying. We found that in the gardens, outside the patio and even inside our room. Both my husband and I suffered that a lot and we were beaten with a lot of bites, which is really itching and bothering me for the whole week. I would suggest the team to look at how to reduce the mostiqo in order to let their guests enjoy the tranquil and great service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suet_Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle 47 #471 X 54 Y 56, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lecanda is a small luxury boutique hotel located within the historical center of Merida, Yucatán. Built in a completely restored traditional Yucatecan home, the hotel has been designed to retain the original Meridian style with points of European luxury so prevalent in the golden age of Merida’s Sisal barons. Painstaking attention to detail, architecture, and landscaping provides guests with a uniquely local experience and a sanctuary within the city; a refuge of serenity, privacy and relaxation. A place our guests can call home as they reach out and discover all the beauty and magnificence that the Yucatan Peninsula has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing