We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful feel hotel, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel had a great feel about it from the moment one enters. The courtyard is beautiful and the room we stayed in Lucia, on the balcony level, was great. The room had very high ceilings and was cleverly designed as it was fairly small but did not feel small. The use of skylights in the room and bathroom were great. The shower was big. The bed was very comfortable. The wifi worked well. The breakfast included was coffee, juice and yoghurt and fruit which was fine for us as we were a but tired of big breakfasts. The hotel and the room smelt so good, they use the Coqui Coqui scents. We did not receive a free drink on arrival as others have noted but we ordered the tamarind margarita and not only was the size very generous it was the best cocktail I have had in Mexico to date. The room we stayed in was very quiet as it was not on the street. The place is really charming and beautiful and not too far from everything. Everything was perfect which is why we gave it a five, but I also stayed at Casa Azul in Merida, see separate review, and although it cost a bit more if I could only stay at one I would stay at Azul as that hotel has the most spectacular rooms where one feels like one is staying in a museum and treated like royalty, and impeccable service and food. Casa Lecanda is also a great place to stay, it's good to see so many good options in Merida.

Room Tip: Lucia balcony room was great, the ones downstairs looked a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Another gem discovered through Tripadvisor! With the colonial architecture in Merida you often really have no clue what type of building you're walking into or its size. Walking into Casa Lecanda you are surprised by a gorgeous and meticulously designed boutique hotel. It seemed like there are more staff than guests and though the staff made every effort to be hidden, they were always there if you needed anything. The bartender and chef/kitchen staff were a highlight and the included breakfast was delicious! Our room had every modern amenity but was designed as was the hotel, in a most lovely colonial fashion. The huge walk-in shower was a real treat. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and I hope to return. It is centrally located and after spending the days walking all over Merida, it was so nice to return for a swim, hammock and a drink before going out for dinnner.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms but we did love our balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLoverNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Central location within the old town and a few minutes walk to the centro. Tall, cozy rooms surround a central pool - true to the traditional style of the area and adding to an elegant home stay feel. Good breakfasts served poolside or in the well appointed dining room, and the mature gentleman tending the small bar made delicious tamarind chili margaritas that I'm still trying to recreate a year later. Felt very secure. Parking on the street wasn't a problem. Bathroom was dark, bird noise was loud at dawn without earplugs. The pool was freezing during our winter visit so don't plan on that as an activity out of season.

Visited Celestun for a day trip, interesting to see the town and for lunch though no flamingos in sight. We were fortunate to be in town during a festival and the Merida centre square was full of food vendors, music and dancing. Dining tip: La Chaya was very good for trying basic local cuisine and if you pass an old lady cooking fresh chicken for a crowd of customers on the roadside heading east, pull over and dig in. Visited February 2013.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orionblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Casa Lecanda for three nights last week (in early May). From the minute that we walked through the front door, we knew that we had made the correct choice of hotels in Merida. The hotel is truly stunning.

We stayed in "Lucia," which is one of the two balcony rooms. The rooms are accessed by ascending a set of stairs after walking through the common area and courtyard. The room was a nice size with a very comfortable bed. There are two ceiling fans in the main room and a fan on the balcony sitting area. The air conditioning works really well and kept the room cool. The bathroom contains a huge (and really nice) shower, but no bathtub. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The balcony sitting area contains two comfortable wooden chairs and, as stated above, also has a ceiling fan. We really enjoyed sitting up on our balcony, and the fan kept the mosquitoes at bay.

Breakfast is served in the common area starting at 7:00 each morning. The standard fare is fruit with yogurt and granola with assorted breads. You can also order chilaques and other breakfast dishes, but we stuck with fruit and yogurt each morning.

The hotel has a bar in one of the rooms off of the main entry way. Service starts at 3:00 if I remember correctly. The bar has a good selection of wine, beer and liquor.

The walk to the main square is not bad at all, maybe 10 minutes. Also, the hotel is extremely close (maybe two blocks) to Paseo de Montejo. We really enjoyed strolling down Montejo and people watching.

There are multiple good restaurants within an easy walk (try Oliva, which is right down the street). There are also some fun places to grab a snack or a drink on Montejo.

We used the hotel's sister company, Merida Tours, to take a city-tour of Merida and to take a tour to Chichen-Itza. Edwin was our guide for both. Both outings were very informative and well done. Edwin is a wealth of information, and we really enjoyed the tours.

All in all, we had a great time during our stay in Merida. I cannot speak highly enough of Casa Lecanda.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saunter1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is divine, absolute oasis and so luxurious. Great bed!! And beautiful white cotton sheets. The only criticism is the location itself, the area felt like a ghost town, a 10 minute walk from the plaza. But once behind the doors we loved it.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This place is not an hotel, it's your home. The first thing we noticed when we entered at Casa Locanda is the delicate orange blossom smell in the background. Everything here invites you to relax. After 3 hours of driving from Cancun, to Valladolid and finally Merida, we were exhausted. But all our senses were back in track after few seconds in the beautiful colonial house. The garden, patio, the pool and our room (Elia) are just exceptional. The staff is marvellous ! Monica gave us all the informations and tips we needed to go around, you'll notice her amazing mirror desk which reflect the degree of attention and care for design ! Every piece of furniture or decoration is selected with care, which made us feel like home thinking "... I completely see that in our living room..." The bed was amazing and we did enjoy the magnificent bath tub. Victor is the nicest bartender ever, ask for a strawberry margarita !!! He understand English but doesn't speak fluently, I don't speak a good Spanish but somehow we had easy conversations with him. Ivette made us the best granola and scramble eggs for breakfast.
I was surprised by the two negative comments, as our stay was probably one of the highlight of our traveller's memories.
Many thanks to all of them for the wonderful memories.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank williamDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What else can I say? I loved this hotel, with its old-world colonial charm, its beautiful courtyard with pool, hammocks, shady breakfast tables beneath columned arches ... It's just a little slice of heaven. The hotel has been lovingly designed, with charming furniture, lamps, little decorative touches, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We arrived at 3am due to a very late flight, and they were waiting up for us with a smile. All the front-of-house staff speak good English but were also patient victims when I wanted to practise my rusty Spanish ;)

With only 7 rooms, it's always peaceful and we never had a problem getting a table on the little terrace for breakfast or an evening cocktail. There's a lovely continental breakfast included in the room rate (toast with amazing melon jam, little cakes and a giant fruit & yoghurt sundae) or you can order extra hot dishes if you're feeling extra hungry. They also do light meals in the evening, although it's worth venturing out as there are so many nice places to eat out (I recommend Ku'uk's INCREDIBLE tasting menu, and Apoala on Santa Lucia square).

If I had to offer one criticism, our room was a touch on the small side and (because it's a traditional courtyard house) only had skylight windows - but it was super comfortable and when it's hot, sometimes it's a relief to escape from the sun! However, I think the bigger rooms do have more space and windows ... we were in Adrian. Anyway, it didn't matter to me - I could have sat outside in the shade by the little pool looking at the palm trees against the blue sky all day long...

Location-wise, it's a few minutes from the start of the Paseo de Montejo and about 15 minutes from the cathedral so easily walkable. If you're wavering between this place and Rosas y Xocolate (the other well-known boutique hotel) - we passed by the latter intending to stop for a drink, but decided our own hotel was much nicer and went back there instead!

Room Tip: Might be worth paying a bit more for a bigger room if that's important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuppa_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 105 in Merida
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#10 of 105 in Merida
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 47 #471 X 54 Y 56, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £180 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lecanda is a small luxury boutique hotel located within the historical center of Merida, Yucatán. Built in a completely restored traditional Yucatecan home, the hotel has been designed to retain the original Meridian style with points of European luxury so prevalent in the golden age of Merida’s Sisal barons. Painstaking attention to detail, architecture, and landscaping provides guests with a uniquely local experience and a sanctuary within the city; a refuge of serenity, privacy and relaxation. A place our guests can call home as they reach out and discover all the beauty and magnificence that the Yucatan Peninsula has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing