We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time in a beautiful hacienda”
Review of Hacienda Xcanatun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Xcanatun
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We loved this place so much we adjusted our second trip to include a couple of days here. The restaurant is world-class and my husband had been dreaming for two years about a tuna dish which fortunately was still on the menu. The buildings have been beautifully restored and the grounds are breathtaking. But the service is what makes this place special-lovely people who make every effort to help which makes this hotel a 5-star in our opinion. Go, spend a few days beside the pool, eat a lot and relax. Heaven.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranA987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you! We hope to see you back at Hacienda Xcanatún in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Xcanatun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

We were a group of 14 people coming on a tour from Egypt to Mexico; all of us are experienced travelers.
The Hacienda is a beautiful hotel love the grounds the greenery, the suites are amazing. I just wished I stayed longer and explored more of the Hotel. The food whether breakfast or dinner was amazing top notch.

The staff are very friendly and were patient with us

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabdelmessih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello, Karim! Thank you for your great review, we enjoyed having the group here! My husband and I spent 10 wonderful days in Egypt 5 years ago, and cannot wait to go back, what an amazing country! I hope you visit us again. Best regards to you and the others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

If you are lucky enough to go to Merida, in the state of Yucatan, Mexico, there is a place you have to see, Hacienda Xcanatún, a unique place in a paradisiac town some miles away from the city.
And don't forget to visit its exquisite restaurant. There are some many wonderful dishes that I would recommend to have the typical "yucateca" food.
I am really sure that this is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello, Miliena. Thank you very much for your kind words, and especially for your appreciation for our restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

on a recent trip to merida to visit family, my boyfriend surprised me with an overnight stay at hacienda xcanatun to celebrate valentine's day. to say that it was one of most exquisite places I have had the pleasure to stay would be a disservice. the grounds are breathtaking and serene, and the suite we stayed in was perfection. our bathroom was especially amazing, with our stone jacuzzi with tranquil fountains and perfectly placed skylights. I am a furniture/interiors buyer for a large retail company in the US, and was beyond impressed with the level of attention paid to even the smallest of design details and furniture/fixtures throughout the grounds. it was very clear that the owner put a lot of time and effort into finding unique pieces for each part of the resort to enhance and add to each guests experience. I fell in love with the antique benches and lanterns just outside our room!
my boyfriend and I had our valentine's dinner at the restaurant and the service was superb. I actually have celiac's disease and thus cannot have gluten, and was overwhelmed when our server brought gluten free bread to our table without my saying a word. turns out my boyfriend's mom had called ahead and mentioned my allergy, and the chef made it a point to go out and get all the special ingredients to make sure I could eat everything on the menu (which is not easy to do!). eating gluten free is difficult when dining out, and I honestly have never been so impressed - the effort that went into doing that for me was so touching. they totally went over and above!
overall our one night getaway was just so fantastic and I am so grateful for the experience --hopefully I will get the pleasure of going back again someday soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello, Beth! It was a pleasure to meet both of you, we are so glad your stay was perfect! Please visit us again when back in Mérida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife arrived a little jetlagged in Merida from London on the evening of 13 February. At 1.00 pm the next day I told her she had an hour to pack an overnight bag, and then at 2.00 pm we drove off to our unknown destination (well, I knew because I'd booked us in at Hacienda Xcanatun for the night of the 14th!). I'd never been there before, and what a treat it was! And how many brownie points I earned for my Valentine's Day surprise. The staff were all unfailingly courteous, helpful and polite from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, and the room we were booked into, one of their superior rooms called Lupita I think, was so huge and luxurious we could have just stayed there all the time. The bathroom was about the size of our living room back in London and beautifully appointed. Dinner on the terraza was nice if not outstanding, and I was a bit disappointed that they only had a set Valentine's Day dinner and you couldn't order a la carte as I had heard wonderful things about the food, and breakfast the next morning was very pleasant. And then there are the grounds, fabulous and so restful to wander around, and the lovely pool! We had a wonderful stay, and it was definitely our best ever Valentine's Day! I don't know how I'm going to top that next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, Mr. Bruton. We enjoyed hosting you! Next time, we will make sure that you can order from our regular menu. Best regards to you both from all of us at Hacienda Xcanatún!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Loved it!! Beautiful setting. Grand and charming. It is a hotel, too, but we just went for a late lunch on a Wednesday.

Food was great! We all tasted a bit of eachother's so I speak from firsthand experience of all of these dishes... I had the Tequila-Lime shrimp - it was very tasty jumbo shrimp and potatoes and asparagus. While it was a solid good, I gotta say it paled in comparison to the two dishes my friends had.

One friend had the pork tibil - big big meal probably good for two to share unless you're really hungry. Such tender and delicious pork - with a lovely delicate flavouring. You get rice with it and onions and little tortillas to warp it up in. Yum!

The other friend had the grouper with zucchini scales and pumpkin seeds. Awesome delish!!!!!

We topped the meal off with a few after dinner drinks - one had the local drink that starts with "X" which was nice - kind of a black licorice taste. I had the Tio Pepe which I kinda didn't like - but what do I know about after dinner drinks (not much!). The other had Ferreiro port - very nice.

Overall a really lovely meal in a beautiful setting!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are very happy you enjoyed your meal. Next time you visit, the Xtabentún after dinner drinks will be on the house. And I agree re. the Tio Pepe, it is a very dry sherry best suited as a before-dinner drink!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Sergio at the xcanatun hacienda was most accomadting.
A beautiful room equistite dining with flower petals on the table a special chocolate biirhday cake and personalized card with flower on the bed made this time there one of the memorable experiences of my wifes life.
A wonderful experience.

Geostactic

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geostatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review, this kind of details is what Hacienda Xcanatún is all about. I have passed your congratulations on to Sergio, positive feedback is so important for our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#26 of 106 in Merida
189 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
13.6 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#46 of 106 in Merida
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 106 in Merida
457 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#19 of 106 in Merida
179 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Xcanatun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Xcanatun

Address: Calle 20 S/N por 19 y 19A | Km. 12 Carretera Merida Progreso, Merida 97302, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Merida
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#8 Spa Hotel in Merida
#17 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £190 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Xcanatun 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once one of the Yucatan’s largest sisal plantations, the restored 18th century Hacienda Xcanatun is today an elegantly, intimate hotel surrounded by acres of gardens, and gleaming with polished stone and marble floors; high beamed ceilings; and marble-wrapped bathrooms. Xcanatun offers all the comfort and luxury expected of a world-class boutique property with 18 air-conditioned and individually decorated suites/rooms; a gourmet restaurant, serving sophisticated, Fusion Yucatecan cuisine; two freshwater pools and an intimate Spa.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Xcanatun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Xcanatun Hotel Merida
Hacienda Hotel Xcanatun
Xcanatun Hacienda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing