We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hacienda Xcanatun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Xcanatun
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is absolutely fabulous, from service, to rooms (45m2 for a standard double), to delicious food in a beautiful and well-maintained garden landscape away from the noisy streets of Merida.

The 2 pools are very calm and relaxing, with plenty of sun and shade. Staff at reception, room service and the restaurant were flexible (for example, we asked to have breakfast by the pool and it arrived 5 minutes later) and helpful with directions and tourist information.

Restaurant staff are friendlier during the day than in the evening, and the wine stock was patchy (they only had our third choice of wine from the wine list in stock). All in all a great place if you want to relax in luxury.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the old part, they have build a new part that looks nice but not quite as nice as the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are always pleased when guests appreciate our property. I am sorry about the non-available wines, as we pride ourselves on our wine list, and will have the maitre'd look into it inmediately. Thank you again for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    29
    15
    2
    8
See reviews for
33
96
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We recently returned to NYC from a 7 night stay, our 4th we believe.
This hotel never disappoints us. Oh, one can always quibble, as they often do on Trip Advisor, but we would be hard pressed to do so here.
We relax once we arrive at the calm and beautiful environment of this property, that was converted handsomely to a hotel and wonderful restaurant 15 or so years ago by the present owners from an old Hacienda that once produced sisal.
It's a mere 15-20 minutes from the airport, if one is flying in, and about the same from downtown Merida by car. Most of our time was spend enjoying the quiet, the beauty and charm of the place, the handsome and various buildings on the property, the wandering through large and lovely gardens, and, after long naps, dining in the evening in the astoundingly beautiful restaurant (either indoors or outdoors) to which people drive many miles as it is considered by many the best restaurant in the Yucatan. The cuisine is wonderful, the quality high, and the prices reasonable for what you are getting.
Our room was exceedingly comfortable, the bed firm for good back support, and the staff is very willing to fill your needs with a phone call or a stop at the desk. The ac works very well, and there are also ceiling fans, both inside and outside on the verandas.
This IS the Yucatan, so the hotel is not far from several important archeological sites, so it can be used as a base for exploring. Should you need a driver and guide, the hotel can find good ones.
The rooms have no tvs, which would be unfathomable to some, but ideal for us as we can watch tv at home, should we wish to do so. There is a tv available in the old chapel, but who needs it?? It's not what we go for, and from our observation of the sophisticated clientele, not what they are there for either. We read 3 or 4 books each on delightful verandas that accompany each room or suite. The pool is large and handsome (there are actually 2 of them)
and a spa for those that wish these services.
Please DON'T go here, if you require noise or are noisy yourself, as it will impact the tranquility of this very special place. Please don't go it you expect everyone to speak perfect English, as this is the Yucatan, and some English can be a bit halting, but speak slowly, repeat occasionally, get into the exquisite rhythm of the place, and you'll be transfixed, and very relaxed when you leave. Like us, you may dread the day when you must return home. Why did we not stay longer?? Would that we had done so.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a suite, if one is available. The rooms are quite good, but the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill2newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
It was wonderful having you both here again! It is always great to have guests appreciate Xcanatún and what it has to offer. Hopefully we will see you for your "R&R" again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Progreso, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have never stayed at the hotel as i live 15 min away but the restaurant is the best in Merida. It is not included In the restaurant list except incorrectly with Piedra de Agua. This should be corrected as it is very misleading.
When dining at another excellent venue in Mérida, Bruno's, we were told by the chef Bruno himself and his wife that Hacienda Xcanatun is their favourite spot when they have a rare night off. We plan to continue eating at this elegant spot on a regular basis.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pazzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are pleased you enjoy our restaurant, comments like yours make a big difference to our staff. And I will have to thank Bruno personally for his recommendation, too! Hope to meet you next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Can't speak highly enough of this lovely hotel. It is chic and elegant and extremely well run. We made a last minute booking here after leaving another hotel which had turned out to be disappointing. Hacienda xcanatun was the exact opposite. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and very peaceful. It is run in an extremely professional manner by staff who are courteous but friendly. I could have cried with happiness when we were shown to our room which was furnished and decorated simply and tastefully. The renovation of this hacienda has been expertly executed, so much so that you almost feel as if you've been taken back in time to the days when it was originally built. The added bonus is the excellent restaurant where we dined on both nights of our stay. Everything we had was delicious but I have to draw attention to the coffee ice cream which was the best I have ever had. Overall hacienda xcanatun was the best place we stayed during our 2 weeks in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j.fordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review! Made even more special because you found us on the "rebound". We so enjoy it when guests take the time to really "stay" at Xcanatún, finding all the special nooks and crannies, enjoying the Spa and the restaurant. Please, if you would like the recipe for our expresso ice cream, we would be happy to share! Hopefully you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Have been at this hacienda for lunch and dinner many times. It is a 15-minute of so taxi drive from the center of Merida, and well worth the few pesos it costs to get here. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner on their terrace, followed by a concert performed by the Yucatan Intrernational String Quartet in a beautiful little concert room. It was a wonderful evening.

Room Tip: Don't know about the room, just the restaurant and the concert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and to enjoy our property! It is always a pleasure when a client/guest leaves happy! We will continue the concerts through June, the next one is March 20, so please contact us if you would like to attend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is the place to rejuvinate after exploring the many Mayan ruins that the Yucatan has to offer. Simply put, Amazing. Beautiful rooms and lavish landscape. The restaurant lives up to all of the awards it has earned. Not a stretch to say I had my best meal ever here. The staff while accommodating are not intrusive but always there to attend to your every need.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! It is great when guests appreciate the work that goes into keeping things working the way they should. I hope you also enjoyed the yoga class, it is a recent addition to the services we offer, even if it is only once a week! Have a safe journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We returned to the restaurant at this hotel after enjoying a wonderful meal there last spring. We had very high expectations since our last visit was so enjoyable and we were not disappointed. The service and the food were both superb and the ambiance of this beautiful property is unbeatable.

We did not stay at this property this time but we were given a tour of some of the rooms and they are also spectaclular. We will definitely stay here on a future trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepeone111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. Maintaining excellence is always a challenge! We will pass your comments on to the staff, feedback is very important! We hope you visit us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#26 of 103 in Merida
183 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#43 of 103 in Merida
170 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
7.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#20 of 103 in Merida
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Xcanatun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Xcanatun

Property: Hacienda Xcanatun
Address: Calle 20 S/N por 19 y 19A | Km. 12 Carretera Merida Progreso, Merida 97302, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Merida
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#5 Spa Hotel in Merida
#14 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Xcanatun 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once one of the Yucatan’s largest sisal plantations, the restored 18th century Hacienda Xcanatun is today an elegantly, intimate hotel surrounded by acres of gardens, and gleaming with polished stone and marble floors; high beamed ceilings; and marble-wrapped bathrooms. Xcanatun offers all the comfort and luxury expected of a world-class boutique property with 18 air-conditioned and individually decorated suites/rooms; a gourmet restaurant, serving sophisticated, Fusion Yucatecan cuisine; two freshwater pools and an intimate Spa.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Xcanatun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Xcanatun Hotel Merida
Hacienda Hotel Xcanatun
Xcanatun Hacienda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing